Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Proposed amendments to the SPP Act

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20, N. 17, November 2017

On November 2, Minister of Finance Carlos Leitao presented Bill 149 – An Act to enhance the Québec Pension Plan and to amend various retirement-related legislative provisions. 

The bill deals with two distinct matters: 

  • Enhancing the public plan
     
  • Amending certain provisions of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act (SPP Act)


In the interest of sharing important news about Quebec pension plans with you, we will cover the changes resulting from the enhancement of the public plan during a breakfast seminar on Wednesday, November 15

Here is an overview of the proposed amendments to the SPP Act

  • Notice of annual meeting: Extension of the current period for sending the notice calling the annual meeting from six months to nine. New deadline: September 30 for plans with fiscal year ending December 31. 
     
  • Notice relating to the financial position of the plan: Extension of the current period for producing the annual notice of the financial position of the plan from four months to nine. New deadline: September 30 for plans with fiscal year ending December 31.
     
  • Payment of benefits: Application of the degree of solvency on the date of the valuation of the benefits, instead of the date of payment. The degree of solvency remains the one established in the last actuarial valuation report, or, if it is more recent, in the last annual notice of the financial position transmitted to Retraite Quebec prior to the date of the valuation of the benefits. 
     
  • Letters of credit: Recording of sums paid by the employer to reduce letters of credit as an employer banker’s clause. 
     
  • Appropriation of surplus assets: For private-sector plans, flexibility as for the allocation of surplus assets during the life of a pension plan according to rules different from those provided by default under the SPP Act. In certain circumstances, the provisions of the plan as at December 31, 2015, may continue to apply. The scope of these changes is variable, and implications may be significant depending on the context.


Normandin Beaudry consultants are currently analyzing the scope of the bill and would be pleased to discuss potential issues with you. 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les modifications annoncées à la Loi RCR

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 17, novembre 2017

Le ministre des Finances, M. Carlos Leitao, a présenté le 2 novembre dernier le projet de loi no 149 – Loi bonifiant le régime de rentes du Québec et modifiant diverses dispositions législatives en matière de retraite. 

Le projet de loi traite de deux sujets distincts :

  • La bonification du régime public 
     
  • La modification de certaines dispositions de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (« Loi RCR ») 
     

Ayant à cœur de vous transmettre les nouvelles d’importance relatives aux régimes de retraite au Québec, nous exposerons les changements découlant de la bonification du régime public au cours d’un déjeuner-causerie, le mercredi 15 novembre prochain. 

Quant à la Loi RCR, voici un aperçu des modifications proposées

  • Convocation à l’assemblée annuelle : Allongement du délai de six mois à neuf mois pour la convocation des participants à l’assemblée annuelle. Nouvelle date limite : 30 septembre pour les régimes dont l’exercice financier prend fin le 31 décembre.
     
  • Avis sur la situation financière du régime : Allongement du délai de quatre mois à neuf mois pour la production de l’avis annuel sur la situation financière du régime. Nouvelle date limite : 30 septembre pour les régimes dont l’exercice financier prend fin le 31 décembre.
     
  • Acquittement des droits : Application du degré de solvabilité à la date de détermination de la valeur des droits (au lieu de la date de paiement). Le degré de solvabilité demeure celui de la dernière évaluation actuarielle, ou du dernier avis annuel sur la situation financière du régime s’il est plus récent, transmis à Retraite Québec avant la date de détermination de la valeur des droits.
     
  • Lettres de crédit : Comptabilisation des remboursements des lettres de crédit par l’employeur à titre de clause banquier patronale. 
     
  • Utilisation de surplus : Pour les régimes du secteur privé, flexibilité d’action quant à l’affectation des surplus en cours d’existence du régime selon des règles différentes de celles prévues par défaut par la Loi RCR. Dans certaines circonstances, les dispositions prévues par le régime au 31 décembre 2015 peuvent continuer de s’appliquer. La portée de ces modifications est variable et les implications peuvent être notables selon le contexte.
     

Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry analysent actuellement la portée du projet de loi et seront heureux de discuter des enjeux potentiels avec vous. 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6