Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Responsible investment and carbon footprint: the future is now!

LinkedIn

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 3, February 2016


Normandin Beaudry believes in it and is taking action
 

Over the past few years, responsible investment has become very important to investors. According to a survey of European institutions (pension funds, foundations, investment managers, etc.) conducted by Ernst & Young in 2015, close to 80% of investors now take into account the non-financial performance, including their impacts on the planet, of businesses they are investing in. This percentage has risen from 65% in 2014. Throughout the world, a number of initiatives have been introduced to make investors and businesses aware of the effect of environmental, social and governance factors (ESG factors) on investments. In late 2015, the Paris Agreement sent a clear message calling for change in relation to environmental issues and our dependence on fossil energy.

Paris Agreement: Is change finally on the horizon?

The Paris Agreement was signed by 196 countries during the 2015 Climate Change Conference. Under this agreement, the countries involved are committed to limiting the global temperature increase to a maximum of 2˚C above pre-industrial levels and making every effort to hold the temperature increase to 1.5˚C above pre-industrial levels. They are also expected to reach the net zero greenhouse gas emissions target by 2050. To achieve these goals, the countries must develop plans to be implemented in 2020. The media attention given to the Paris Agreement raised the collective awareness around climate change. The event did a great deal to highlight one of the key elements of responsible investment, i.e., activating or reactivating the drive to take action in the face of these environmental issues that challenge all of us in one way or another. 

Investors are not waiting until 2020

Many investors are not waiting until 2020 to take action, and initiatives are already underway. These initiatives include:

  • United Nations Principles for Responsible Investment (UNPRI): Spearheaded by the United Nations (UN), the UNPRI is a UN initiative launched in 2006 that first included 20 organizations representing 12 countries. Today, 1400 organizations representing pension funds, foundations, institutional investment managers, consultants and other entities from the investment community are signatories to the UNPRI. The UNPRI sets out six principles1 that signatories undertake to respect in an effort to improve investment practices, including the carbon footprint. 
     
  • United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative (UNEP FI): More than 200 banks, investment managers and insurance companies are signatories to the UNEP FI, an initiative that was founded in 1992. Its goal is to make a structural change in the financial that will allow for the creation of a sustainable world for future generations. 
     
  • Portfolio Decarbonization CoalitionThis initiative was jointly launched by the UNEP FI and the UN's environment program and now has over 25 members and US$600 billion in assets. The objectives of this coalition are to encourage investors to disclose the carbon footprint of their investments and to improve practices related to measuring the carbon footprint of different portfolios.
     
  • Montreal Carbon PledgeThis initiative was launched in 2014 at the PRI in Person meeting in Montreal and now consists of more than 120 investors and over US$10 trillion in assets. It is supported by the UNPRI and the Portfolio Decarbonization Coalition. By signing the pledge, investors are making a commitment to measure and disclose the carbon footprint of their assets2 at least once a year. Several service providers such as Bloomberg, MSCI ESG and Sustainalytics are now offering carbon footprint measuring services. 

Some market regulators are already at work

Several market regulators are working to assess or implement significant changes concerning the carbon footprint. For example: 

  • France: Section 173 of France's energy transition law created in December 2015 stipulate that all institutional asset holders (insurance companies, portfolio managers, pension funds, etc.) must disclose the carbon footprint of their portfolios. 
     
  • Singapore: The Singapore Stock Exchange (over US$900 billion in market capitalization) wants to create regulations requiring companies listed on the stock exchange to disclose their greenhouse gas emissions (approximately 53% of companies have already disclosed their emissions). 

Closer to home, Ontario has taken an important step by requiring registered pension plans to indicate in their statement of investment policy and procedures, as of January 1, 2016, whether or not they consider ESG factors, and, if so, how they are addressed in the plan’s investment strategy. 

Normandin Beaudry believes in it and is taking action 

With the Paris Agreement and the various initiatives of many key players in the investment market, major changes can be expected in the coming years. Pension fund trustees and other institutional investors will be more and more inclined to review their investment structure and their practices with respect to ESG factors. 

Normandin Beaudry is committed to ensuring responsible investment, advancing investment practices in this regard and creating a greener world for future generations. To honour these commitments and achieve these goals, Normandin Beaudry is proud to have become a signatory to the Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI) on January 1, 2016. Among other things, Normandin Beaudry will be systematically including ESG factors in the reflection process when analyzing and monitoring investment managers. 

Enhanced reflection process for our 20thRevue annuelle des gestionnaires de placement

All of these changes are bound to have an impact on the portfolios of institutional investors, in particular for companies from the Energy, Materials and Utilities sectors. 

To continue this important reflection for investors, we invite you to take part in our 20th Revue annuelle des gestionnaires de placement (February 18, 2016). At this event, we will discuss, among various current topics, the impacts and challenges of the greenhouse gas reduction targets for institutional investors. 


1 Principles for Responsible Investment: www.unpri.org/about-pri/the-six-principles/
2 Measuring the carbon footprint: http://montrealpledge.org/how-to/the-five-steps/

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Investissement responsable et empreinte carbone : le futur, c'est maintenant !

LinkedIn

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 3, février 2016

Normandin Beaudry y croit et agit
 

Depuis quelques années, l’investissement responsable a nettement pris de l’importance auprès des investisseurs. Selon un sondage mené par Ernst & Young en 2015 auprès d’institutions européennes (caisses de retraite, fondations, gestionnaires de placement, etc.), près de 80 % des investisseurs considèrent dorénavant la performance non financière des entreprises dans lesquelles ils investissent et leurs impacts sur la planète, comparativement à 65 % en 2014. Partout dans le monde, plusieurs initiatives ont vu le jour afin de sensibiliser les investisseurs et les entreprises à l’effet des facteurs environnementaux, sociaux et de gouvernance (« facteurs ESG ») dans les investissements. De plus, à la fin 2015, l’accord de Paris a envoyé un message clair, invitant au changement, vis-à-vis les enjeux environnementaux et notre dépendance à l’énergie fossile.  

Accord de Paris : enfin du changement à l’horizon?

L’accord de Paris, intervenu lors de la Conférence sur les changements climatiques de 2015, représente un consensus établi par 196 pays. Cet accord a fixé un objectif de limiter l’augmentation de la température globale à un maximum de 2 ˚C par rapport au niveau préindustriel et à fournir les efforts nécessaires pour favoriser une moindre augmentation, à 1,5 ˚C. Cet accord prévoit également que les pays devront atteindre des émissions de gaz à effet de serre nettes nulles à partir de 2050. Les pays impliqués doivent maintenant établir des plans débutant en 2020 afin d’atteindre ces objectifs. L’attention médiatique envers l’accord de Paris a par ailleurs permis d'augmenter le niveau de sensibilisation collective face aux changements climatiques. L’événement aura certes hautement contribué à mettre en lumière une partie de ce qu’est l’investissement responsable, soit d’activer ou réactiver le désir d’agir face à ces enjeux environnementaux qui nous interpellent tous d’une façon ou d’une autre.

Les investisseurs n’attendront pas 2020

Plusieurs n’ont pas attendu 2020 pour agir. Des initiatives sont d’ailleurs déjà en cours, telles que :

  • United Nations Principles for Responsible Investment (« UNPRI »), chapeauté par l’Organisation des Nations Unies : les UNPRI sont une initiative de l’ONU lancée en 2006 avec, au départ, 20 organismes représentant 12 pays. À ce jour, 1 400 organismes représentant des caisses de retraite, des fondations, des gestionnaires de placement institutionnels, des consultants et d’autres entités du milieu de l’investissement sont signataires des UNPRI. Les UNPRI font état de six principes1 que les signataires s’engagent à respecter afin d’améliorer les pratiques en investissement, incluant l’empreinte carbone.
     
  • United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative (« UNEP FI ») : fondée en 1992, cette initiative regroupe plus de 200 banques, gestionnaires de placement et compagnies d’assurance. L’objectif est d’effectuer un changement structurel dans le monde financier permettant la création d’un monde soutenable pour les générations futures.
     
  • Portfolio Decarbonization Coalition : initiative conjointement lancée par UNEP FI et le programme d’environnement de l’ONU, comptant maintenant plus de 25 membres et 600 milliards $ US d’actifs. Cette coalition a pour objectif, d’une part, de favoriser la divulgation de l’empreinte carbone par les investisseurs et, d’autre part, d’améliorer les pratiques concernant le calcul de l’empreinte carbone de différents portefeuilles.
     
  • Montréal Carbon Pledge : initiative lancée en 2014 lors de la rencontre PRI in Person à Montréal, elle regroupe maintenant plus de 120 investisseurs et plus de 10 billions $ US en actifs. Elle est supportée par les UNPRI et la Portfolio Decarbonization Coalition. En devenant signataire, les investisseurs s’engagent à calculer et divulguer l’empreinte carbone de leurs actifs2, et ce, au moins une fois par année. Plusieurs fournisseurs offrent dorénavant des services de calcul d’empreinte carbone tel Bloomberg, MSCI ESG et Sustainalytics.

Certains régulateurs de marché sont déjà à l'œuvre

Plusieurs régulateurs de marché travaillent à évaluer ou procéder à des changements importants relativement à l’empreinte carbone, par exemple :

  • France : l’article 173 de la loi relative à la transition énergétique, établi en décembre 2015, vient mentionner que tout détenteur d’actifs institutionnels (compagnies d’assurance, gestionnaires de portefeuille, caisses de retraite, etc.) devront divulguer l’empreinte carbone de leurs portefeuilles.
     
  • Singapour : la Bourse de Singapour (plus de 900 milliards $ US en capitalisation boursière) désire créer une réglementation obligeant toutes les entreprises enregistrées en bourse à divulguer leurs émissions de gaz à effet de serre (présentement environ 53 % des entreprises ont déjà divulgué leurs émissions).

Plus près de chez nous, l’Ontario a fait un pas important en demandant aux régimes de retraite enregistrés d’indiquer dans leur politique de placement, à compter du 1er janvier 2016, s’ils considéraient ou non les facteurs ESG et, si c’est le cas, comment ceux-ci sont intégrés dans la stratégie d’investissement. 

Normandin Beaudry y croit et agit

Avec l’accord de Paris et les différentes initiatives de plusieurs joueurs importants dans le marché de l’investissement, des changements majeurs sont à prévoir dans les prochaines années. Les fiduciaires de caisses de retraite et autres investisseurs institutionnels seront de plus en plus portés à réfléchir à leur structure de placement et à leurs pratiques concernant les facteurs ESG.

Normandin Beaudry a à cœur l’investissement responsable, l’avancement des pratiques en investissement dans ce sens et la création d'un monde plus vert pour nos générations futures. Pour contribuer à cet objectif, Normandin Beaudry est fière de faire partie des signataires des Principes pour l’Investissement Responsable (« PRI ») depuis le 1er janvier 2016. Notamment, Normandin Beaudry inclura de façon systématique les facteurs ESG dans la réflexion lors de l’analyse et du suivi des gestionnaires.

Réflexion enrichie dans le cadre de notre 20e Revue annuelle des gestionnaires de placement

Enfin, tous ces changements auront nécessairement un effet sur les portefeuilles des investisseurs institutionnels, notamment pour les entreprises des secteurs de l’Énergie, des Matériaux et des Services publics.

Afin de poursuivre cette réflexion importante pour les investisseurs, nous vous invitons à assister à notre 20e  Revue annuelle des gestionnaires de placement (18 février 2016). Lors de cet événement, nous traiterons, entre autres, des effets et enjeux des cibles de réduction des gaz à effet de serre pour les investisseurs institutionnels.


1 Principes pour l’investissement responsable : www.unpri.org/about-pri/the-six-principles/
2 Calcul de l’empreinte carbone : http://montrealpledge.org/how-to/the-five-steps/