Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Changes to employment insurance: impacts on group benefits plans and some programs offered by employers

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 18, November 2016

In our April 2016 bulletin on the last federal budget, we informed you that, following the introduction of the Budget Implementation Act 2016, No. 1 (S.C. 2016, c. 7), the waiting period for Employment Insurance benefits could be reduced from two weeks to one week effective January 1, 2017. This change has since been endorsed.

The government recently published the Regulations specifying the changes that will be made to the EI Premium Reduction Program (PRP) and to Supplemental Unemployment Benefit (SUB) plans. A transitional period of four years will be provided to employers.

The purpose of this bulletin is to inform you about the impacts of these changes.

EI Premium Reduction Program

Currently, if your organization offers a short-term disability (STD) plan that meets certain requirements, you may be entitled to a reduced EI premium rate. Among the requirements, Section 63 of the Employment Insurance Regulations provides for a maximum elimination period of 14 days for a short-term disability plan to qualify for the PRP.

Effective January 1, 2017, Section 63 will be amended to provide for a maximum elimination period of 7 days. However, if the plan provided for an elimination period of no more than 14 days before January 1, 2017, a transitional provision will apply until January 2, 2021. The maximum elimination period can continue to be 14 days up to this date, and the organization can continue to benefit from the PRP.

As of January 3, 2021, Section 63 will be amended once again to provide for a maximum elimination period of 7 days for all STD plans to qualify for the PRP.

According to the government, close to 4700 plans will need to change their elimination period in the next four years to remain eligible for the PRP at the end of the transitional period. This four-year period will allow organizations to implement the necessary changes to their plans.

No changes will be made to the other basic requirements for PRP eligibility:

  • Provide at least 15 weeks of benefits for short-term disability (insured or uninsured plan)
  • Match or exceed the level of benefits provided under EI
  • Be accessible to employees within three months of hiring; and
  • Cover employees on a 24-hour-a-day basis

Supplemental Unemployment Benefit plans

Some organizations offer benefits in addition to EI sickness, maternity and compassionate care benefits. These benefits are called supplemental unemployment benefits (SUB).

SUB plans are permitted and do not affect EI benefits provided that certain rules are respected. One of these rules is that the combined weekly payment of employer (SUB plan) and EI benefits must not exceed 95% or 100% of the employee's normal weekly earnings (depending on plan category).

If no changes are made to the SUB plan, the reduction in the waiting period for Employment Insurance benefits could potentially result in benefits exceeding the maximum allowable amount in the second week of disability. During this week, insured individuals could now qualify for EI benefits and for the benefits provided under their Supplemental Unemployment Benefit plan. If the combined payments exceed the maximum allowable amount for this second week, i.e., 95% or 100% of the employee's normal weekly earnings (depending on plan category), EI benefits would not be reduced because of a transitional provision in place until January 2, 2021.

Special features of SUB plans for Sickness Benefits

Because insurers generally integrate EI benefits directly into the disability benefits they pay, this transitional provision should have a limited impact on insured plans. As regards self-administered plans or plans administered by a third party, we suggest that you validate the benefits integration methodology provided for in your plan.

Finally, depending on the provisions of your plan, you may need to adjust rates as of January 1, 2017 to take into account the fact that EI benefits payments will begin in the second week of disability. Because EI will continue to pay 15 weeks of benefits, the total period covered by this plan (waiting period and duration of benefits) will now be 16 weeks. Therefore, the provisions and rates of long-term disability plans may also be affected.

Outstanding Issues

The rate reduction level under the PRP could vary if the organization already meets its new requirements, or if the organization takes advantage of the transitional provision to remain eligible for the program. We are still waiting for additional information on this subject.

Next Steps

The Employment Insurance Regulations should be officially adopted in the coming weeks. The government will continue to communicate with organizations, following up on a first notice enclosed with the letter from the PRP dated November 1, 2016.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Modifications à l’assurance-emploi : Effets sur les régimes d’assurance collective et certains programmes offerts par les employeurs

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 18, novembre 2016

Dans notre communiqué d'avril 2016 portant sur le dernier budget fédéral, nous vous informions que, suite au dépôt de la Loi no 1 d'exécution du budget de 2016 (LC 2016, c 7), le délai de carence pour recevoir des prestations d’assurance-emploi, incluant les prestations de maladie, passerait potentiellement de deux semaines à une semaine au 1er janvier 2017.

Cette modification désormais entérinée, le gouvernement a récemment publié le Règlement précisant les modifications qui seront apportées au Programme de réduction du taux de cotisation « PRTC » et aux Régimes de prestations supplémentaires de chômage « PSC ». Des mesures transitoires seront prévues sur une période de quatre ans

L’objectif de ce communiqué est de vous informer sur les effets de ces changements.

Programme de réduction du taux de cotisation

Actuellement, si votre organisation offre un régime d’invalidité de courte durée « ICD » et qu’il répond à certaines exigences, vous pouvez vous prévaloir d’un taux réduit de cotisation à l’assurance-emploi. Parmi les exigences requises, l’article 63 du Règlement sur l’assurance-emploi prévoit notamment un délai d’attente maximal de 14 jours pour qu’un régime ICD soit admissible au PRTC.

À compter du 1er janvier 2017, l’article 63 sera modifié pour prévoir un délai d’attente maximal de 7 jours. Toutefois, si le régime prévoyait un délai d’attente d’au plus 14 jours avant le 1er janvier 2017, une mesure transitoire s’appliquera jusqu’au 2 janvier 2021. Le délai d’attente pourra demeurer d’au plus 14 jours jusqu'à cette date, tout en permettant à l’organisation de bénéficier du PRTC. 

À compter du 3 janvier 2021, l’article 63 sera de nouveau modifié pour prévoir un délai d’attente maximal de 7 jours à l’égard de tous les régimes ICD se qualifiant au PRTC.

Selon le gouvernement, près de 4 700 régimes devront modifier leur délai d’attente au cours des quatre prochaines années pour demeurer admissibles au PRTC à la fin de la période transitoire. Ce délai permettra aux organisations de mettre en place les modifications requises à leur régime.

Les autres exigences principales pour l’accessibilité au PRTC ne seront pas modifiées :

  • Offrir au moins 15 semaines de prestations pour une invalidité de courte durée (régime assuré ou non)
  • Offrir des prestations équivalentes ou supérieures à celles qui sont disponibles en vertu du régime d’assurance-emploi
  • Être offert aux employés dans les trois mois suivant l’embauche
  • Protéger les employés 24 heures sur 24

Régimes de prestations supplémentaires de chômage 

Certaines organisations offrent des prestations en complément aux prestations de maladie, de maternité et de compassion de l’assurance-emploi. Ces prestations sont appelées Prestations supplémentaires de chômage « PSC ».

Les régimes PSC sont permis, sans que les prestations d’assurance-emploi soient affectées, en autant que certaines règles soient respectées. Parmi ces règles, la rémunération totale que l’employé reçoit de l’assurance-emploi du régime PSC ne doit pas être supérieure à 95 % ou 100 % de sa rémunération hebdomadaire normale (selon la catégorie de PSC).

Si aucune modification n’est apportée au régime PSC, la réduction du délai de carence de l’assurance-emploi entrainera potentiellement des prestations excédant le montant maximal autorisé lors de la 2semaine d’invalidité. Durant cette semaine, les assurés pourraient désormais être admissibles aux prestations d’assurance-emploi, de même qu’aux prestations prévues à leur Régime de PSC. Advenant que la combinaison des versements dépasse le montant maximal autorisé pour cette 2e semaine, soit 95 % ou 100 % de la rémunération hebdomadaire normale (selon la catégorie de PSC), et ce jusqu’au 2 janvier 2021, aucune réduction aux prestations d’assurance-emploi ne serait applicable.

Particularités PSC de maladie

Puisque les assureurs intègrent généralement les prestations d’assurance-emploi directement aux prestations d’invalidité qu’ils versent, cette mesure transitoire devrait avoir un impact limité sur les régimes assurés. Quant aux régimes autoadministrés ou administrés par un tiers, nous vous suggérons de valider la méthodologie d’intégration des prestations prévue à votre régime.

Finalement, selon les dispositions de votre régime, la tarification pourrait être à revoir, dès le 1er janvier 2017, pour refléter la prise en charge de la 2semaine d’invalidité par l’assurance-emploi. Comme l’assurance-emploi continuera à verser 15 semaines de prestations, la période totale couverte par ce régime (délai d’attente et durée des prestations) sera désormais de 16 semaines. Les dispositions et la tarification des régimes d’invalidité de longue durée pourraient donc aussi être affectées.

Questions en suspens

Le niveau de réduction du taux dans le cadre du PRTC pourrait varier si l’organisation répond déjà à ces nouvelles exigences, ou si l’organisation se prévaut de la mesure transitoire pour demeurer admissible au programme. Nous sommes toujours en attente de renseignements supplémentaires à ce sujet.

Prochaines étapes

Le Règlement sur l’assurance-emploi devrait être officiellement adopté au cours des prochaines semaines. Le gouvernement poursuivra ses communications aux organisations, faisant suite à l’envoi d’un premier communiqué joint à la lettre du PRTC datée du 1er novembre dernier.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6