Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Bill C-27: An Act to amend the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 17, November 2016

Bill C-27 (An Act to amend the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985) was introduced in the House of Commons on October 19, 2016. This Bill comes in response to public consultations on target benefit pension plans ("TB plans") launched by the Department of Finance Canada on April 24, 2014, and applies to federally regulated private pension plans. 

Bill C-27 provides a framework for the establishment, administration and supervision of TB plans. It also provides for the elimination of the boomerang risk associated with the purchase of buy-out annuities. 

Target benefit pension plans

The provisions of a TB plan fall somewhere between the provisions of a defined contribution plan and those of a defined benefit plan. On the one hand, like a defined contribution plan, this type of plan typically provides for an agreement on the contribution rate, allowing for a specified level of benefits to be offered. On the other hand, although it aims to provide defined benefits, unlike the traditional defined benefit pension plan, the TB plan generally allows for a reduction in accrued benefits if the fixed contributions are not sufficient to fund the plan.

Under the provisions of Bill C-27, employers who currently offer a pension plan to their employees will be able to offer all members and former members (i.e. retirees, members entitled to a deferred pension and members whose benefits have not been paid) the option of transferring their benefits to the TB plan. Their consent will however be required.

In addition, each TB plan must implement the following policies:

  • A governance policy for which the items to be included will be prescribed by regulation
  • A funding policy that sets out the following:
    • the plan's target benefit formula on the day on which the plan is established 
    • the manner in which pension benefits provided under the plan are currently determined, if different from the target benefit formula 
    • the employer contributions and, if any, the member contributions to the plan 
    • the objectives of the plan with respect to pension benefit stability
    • a deficit recovery plan; and 
    • a surplus utilization plan

With this change, the Department of Finance Canada is following the lead of British Columbia, Alberta and New Brunswick, provinces that have already incorporated TB plans into their legislation. Some sections of Ontario and Nova Scotia's legislation also provide for the option of implementing TB plans; however, these sections are not yet in effect. In Quebec, at the moment, only pension plans of employers operating in the pulp and paper industry have access to this type of plan. It should be noted that many of the features and conditions of the TB plan can vary from one legislation to another. 

Elimination of the boomerang risk 

An increasing number of pension plans are considering the option of purchasing annuities from an insurer to control longevity risks, managing other risks, such as interest rate risk and financial market risks, at the same time. However, in most pension legislation, it is not possible to manage all risks with an annuity purchase, even if buy-out annuities are purchased, because the legislation does not provide for the severing of the link between the member and the plan following an annuity purchase, except in the case of the termination of the plan.

Should the insurer go bankrupt, the risk that the plan would be responsible for paying the portion of pensions not covered by Assuris, the non-profit agency responsible for protecting insured Canadians in the event of the bankruptcy of their insurance company, remains. This risk is often called the boomerang risk. 

Bill C-27 provides for the elimination of the boomerang risk. 

To date, only the provinces of British Columbia and Quebec have amended their legislation to eliminate this risk. Alberta examined this option, but ultimately decided not to include it in its recent legislative reform. Ontario also explored this option in its consultation paper published in July 2016. 

In Quebec, the boomerang risk is eliminated only after a period of three years following the annuity purchase. Pension plans may not, however, purchase annuities that will eliminate this risk before the accompanying regulation is published.

Next steps

Bill C-27 is currently in the first reading stage at the House of Commons. Several steps must be completed before its final adoption. The final version of Bill C-27 could thus differ from its current version.

The Normandin Beaudry consultants will continue to monitor developments relating to Bill C-27 and will keep you informed. Please feel free to send us your questions.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Projet de loi C-27 : Loi modifiant la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 17, novembre 2016

Le 19 octobre dernier, le Projet de loi C-27 (Loi modifiant la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension) a été déposé à la Chambre des communes. Ce projet de loi fait suite à une demande de consultation publique au sujet des régimes de retraite à prestations cibles (« régimes à PC ») réalisée par le Ministère des Finances du Canada le 24 avril 2014 et s’adresse aux régimes de retraite privés sous juridiction fédérale.

Le Projet de loi C-27 prévoit un cadre de mise en place, de gestion et de supervision des régimes à PC. Il vient également libérer les administrateurs de régimes de retraite du risque « boomerang » lors d’un achat de rentes avec rachat des engagements (« buy-out annuity »).

Régimes de retraite à prestations cibles

Les dispositions d’un régime à PC se situent entre celles d’un régime à cotisation déterminée et celles d’un régime à prestations déterminées. D’une part, ce type de régime prévoit habituellement une entente sur le taux de cotisation, à la manière d’un régime à cotisation déterminée, permettant d’offrir un certain niveau de prestations. D’autre part, bien qu’il vise à offrir des prestations déterminées, le régime à PC permet généralement, à l’inverse du régime à prestations déterminées traditionnel, la réduction des prestations acquises si les cotisations fixées ne s'avèrent pas suffisantes pour financer le régime.

Selon les dispositions du Projet de loi C-27, les employeurs offrant actuellement un régime de retraite à leurs employés pourront offrir à tous les participants et les anciens participants (c.-à-d. les retraités, les participants ayant droit à une rente différée et les participants dont les droits n’ont pas été acquittés) la possibilité de transférer leurs droits dans le régime à PC. Le consentement de ceux-ci sera toutefois requis.

De plus, chaque régime à PC devra s’assurer de mettre en place les politiques suivantes :

  • Une politique de gouvernance, dont les éléments à inclure seront prévus par règlement
  • Une politique de capitalisation, prévoyant notamment les éléments suivants :
    • La prestation cible du régime à l’institution de celui-ci
    • La façon dont les prestations prévues par le régime sont effectivement fixées,
      si elle diffère de la prestation cible du régime
    • Les cotisations patronales et, le cas échéant, les cotisations des participants au régime
    • Les objectifs du régime en matière de stabilité des prestations
    • Un plan d’élimination du déficit de capitalisation
    • Un plan d’utilisation de l’excédent de capitalisation
       

Avec cette modification, le ministre des Finances poursuit dans la même veine que les provinces de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Alberta et du Nouveau-Brunswick qui ont déjà intégré les régimes à PC à leur législation. Certains articles de la législation des provinces de l’Ontario et de la Nouvelle-Écosse prévoient également la possibilité de mettre en place des régimes à PC, mais ces articles ne sont toujours pas en vigueur. Au Québec, pour l’instant, seuls les régimes de retraite d’employeurs œuvrant dans le secteur des pâtes et papiers ont accès à ce type de régimes. À noter que plusieurs modalités du régime à PC peuvent varier d’une législation à l’autre.

Élimination du risque « boomerang »

De plus en plus, l’achat des rentes des retraités auprès d’un assureur est considéré par plusieurs régimes de retraite afin de contrôler les risques liés à la longévité, en gérant du même coup d’autres risques, tels que le risque de taux d’intérêt et les risques liés aux marchés financiers. Cependant, dans la plupart des législations en matière de retraite, il n’est pas possible de gérer tous les risques par un achat de rentes, même s’il s’agit d’un achat de rentes de type « buy-out », puisque ces législations ne prévoient pas la rupture du lien entre le participant et le régime suite à un achat de rentes, sauf en cas de terminaison du régime.

Ainsi, advenant la faillite de l’assureur, le risque que le régime soit responsable de payer la portion des rentes qui est non couverte par Assuris, la société à but non lucratif chargée de protéger les assurés canadiens en cas de faillite de leur compagnie d’assurance, demeure. Ce risque est souvent appelé le risque « boomerang ».

Le Projet de loi C-27 prévoit l’élimination du risque « boomerang ».

À ce jour, seules les provinces de la Colombie-Britannique et du Québec ont modifié leur législation pour éliminer ce risque. L’Alberta considérait cette option, mais ne l’a finalement pas incluse lors de la récente réforme de sa législation. L’Ontario envisage également cette possibilité dans son document de consultation publié en juillet 2016.

Au Québec, le risque « boomerang » est éliminé uniquement après une période de trois ans suivant l’achat de rentes. Il faudra toutefois attendre la publication du règlement accompagnant la loi avant de pouvoir procéder à des achats de rentes éliminant ce risque.

Prochaines étapes

Le Projet de loi C-27 est actuellement au stade de la première lecture à la Chambre des communes. Plusieurs étapes doivent être franchies avant son adoption finale. Sa version définitive pourrait donc différer de sa version actuelle. 

Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry continueront de suivre les développements pour ce projet de loi et vous tiendront informés de tout développement sur le sujet. N’hésitez pas à leur soumettre vos questions.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6