Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Parliamentary committee sessions on Bill 57 for pension plans

LinkedIn

NB Bulletin Vol. 18 N. 14, October 2015

Parliamentary committee sessions on Bill 57 took place on October 27 and 28, 2015.


Bill 57, An act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act mainly with respect to the funding of defined benefit pension plans, was introduced in the National Assembly on June 11, 2015. This bill deals primarily with the funding of private sector pension plans.

For information on the content of Bill 57, please refer to our June 2015 bulletin.



From the outset, the Minister of Labour, Employment and Social Solidarity, Mr. Sam Hamad, emphasized the labour-management consensus at the core of Bill 57. This consensus came up in the work completed by the Comité consultatif du travail et de la main-d’œuvre (CCTM).

The Minister also pointed out that several measures provided for in Bill 57 resulted from the recommendations contained in the report prepared by the Expert Committee on the Future of the Quebec Retirement System (the D'Amours Committee). Most of the recommendations aimed at fostering the sustainability of private sector pension plans have been integrated in the bill.

Below is a summary of the parliamentary committee’s work:

The employer representatives, while recognizing the consensus in part, proposed several ways to improve the bill. They presented ideas discussed as part of the CCTM's work for which an agreement had not been reached. The main irritants identified by employers are related to:

  • the level of the stabilization provision;
  • the simplicity of the scale used to determine the level of the stabilization provision according to the investment policy (the stabilization scale), that does not recognize the risk management specific to each plan;
  • the level of protection linked to the banker's clause;
  • restrictions on using letters of credit; and
  • constraints regarding the use of surplus assets.

The labour representatives unanimously welcomed Bill 57, indicating that it reflected the consensus. Several representatives stressed the importance of the elimination of solvency funding. The key demands of these representatives are to:

  • keep to this consensus that reflects compromises on the initial positions;
  • reinstate the temporary provisions of Bill 1 that would allow some members to request the payment of a pension by the Régie des rentes du Québec if their pension plan was terminated in the event of a bankruptcy; and
  • provide for a different treatment of existing banker's clauses.

The other stakeholders proposed different possible solutions concerning several aspects of Bill 57, including:

  • approaches for establishing the stabilization scale;
  • ways of using surplus assets; and
  • suggestions regarding the use of letters of credit.

During the parliamentary committee sessions, the Minister talked about the upcoming public hearings on the Quebec Pension Plan and pointed out that this is where the real issue lies. He wants to hear about all potential solutions, including the longevity pension that was central to the recommendations outlined in the D'Amours Committee report.

Several stakeholders brought up Quebec's historical leadership role and asked the Minister to be the driver of these social changes instead of following the lead of the federal and Ontario governments.

Next steps

Regulations will soon be published to clarify the technical details concerning the application of Bill 57, including the long awaited stabilization scale and the content of funding and annuity purchase policies. The new bill and its regulations should take effect January 1st, 2016.

The Minister announced that the CCTM has already been mandated to continue to study the stabilization scale, annuity purchase policies, clauses on the use of surplus assets and transfer values.

Also, the government should soon be introducing another bill that applies specifically to the funding of university sector pension plans.

The Normandin Beaudry consultants will continue to monitor the developments related to this bill and will keep you informed. Please feel free to send us your questions.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Commission parlementaire sur le projet de loi 57 pour les régimes de retraite

LinkedIn

Communiqué NB Vol. 18 N. 14, octobre 2015


La commission parlementaire sur le projet de loi 57 (« PL57 ») s’est tenue les 27 et 28 octobre derniers.


Le PL57 intitulé « Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite principalement quant au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées »
a été présenté le 11 juin dernier à l’Assemblée nationale.
Ce projet de loi vise principalement le financement des régimes de retraite du secteur privé.

Pour connaître le contenu du PL57, consultez notre  Communiqué de juin 2015.


D’entrée de jeu, le Ministre du Travail, de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale, Monsieur Sam Hamad, a mis l’accent sur le consensus syndical et patronal à la base du PL57. Ce consensus est intervenu lors des travaux du Comité consultatif du travail et de la main-d’œuvre (« CCTM »).

Le Ministre a également souligné que plusieurs mesures prévues dans le PL57 ont découlé des recommandations contenues dans le rapport du comité d’experts sur l’avenir du système de retraite québécois (« Comité D’Amours »). La majorité des recommandations qui visaient à favoriser la pérennité des régimes de retraite du secteur privé se retrouvent ainsi dans le projet de loi.

Voici un sommaire des travaux de la commission parlementaire :

Les représentants patronaux, tout en reconnaissant en partie le consensus, ont proposé plusieurs pistes pour améliorer le projet de loi. Ils ont notamment présenté des idées discutées dans le cadre des travaux du CCTM sur lesquelles il n’y avait pas eu entente. Les principaux irritants des employeurs concernent :

  • le niveau de la provision de stabilisation
  • la simplicité de la grille définissant le niveau de la provision de stabilisation en fonction de la politique de placement (la « grille de stabilisation »), qui ne reconnait pas la gestion des risques propre à chaque régime
  • le niveau de protection de la clause banquier
  • les limites d’utilisation des lettres de crédit
  • les contraintes liées à l’utilisation de surplus

Les représentants syndicaux ont unanimement salué le PL57, indiquant qu’il était le reflet du consensus. Plusieurs ont insisté sur l’importance de l’élimination du financement de la solvabilité. Ceux-ci demandent principalement :

  • de s’en tenir au consensus qui reflète des compromis sur les positions initiales
  • de réintégrer les dispositions temporaires de la Loi 1 qui permettaient à certains participants, lors d’une terminaison de régime dans un contexte de faillite, de demander le paiement d’une rente par la Régie des rentes du Québec
  • de prévoir un traitement différent des clauses banquiers existantes

Les autres intervenants ont proposé des pistes de solutions différentes sur plusieurs aspects du PL57, par exemple :

  • des approches pour établir la grille de stabilisation
  • des méthodes d’utilisation des surplus
  • des propositions liées à l’utilisation de lettres de crédit

Lors de la commission parlementaire, le Ministre a parlé de la consultation publique à venir sur le Régime de rentes du Québec et a précisé que le véritable enjeu se trouve à ce niveau. Il souhaite ainsi entendre parler de toutes les pistes de solutions à cet égard, dont la Rente longévité qui était au cœur des recommandations contenues dans le rapport du Comité D’Amours.

Plusieurs intervenants ont souligné le leadership historique du Québec et invité le Ministre à jouer le rôle de « locomotive » de ces changements sociaux au lieu de suivre le train des gouvernements fédéral et de l’Ontario.

Prochaines étapes

Un règlement sera publié prochainement afin de préciser les détails techniques d’application du PL57, notamment la grille de stabilisation tant attendue et le contenu des politiques de financement et d’achat de rentes. La nouvelle loi et son règlement devraient entrer en vigueur au 1er janvier 2016.

Le Ministre a annoncé que des mandats ont déjà été donnés au CCTM pour poursuivre l’étude de la grille de stabilisation, les politiques d’achat de rentes, les clauses d’utilisation des surplus et les valeurs de transfert.

Le gouvernement devrait également présenter prochainement un autre projet de loi concernant spécifiquement le financement des régimes de retraite du secteur universitaire.

Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry continueront de suivre les développements relatifs à ce projet de loi et vous en tiendront informés. N’hésitez pas à nous soumettre vos questions.