Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Longevity insurance: a potential option for Canadian pension funds?

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol 17 N. 9, September 2014

Without question, 2013 was a record year in Canada for group annuity purchases and many agree that 2014 is bound to set this record. Normandin Beaudry was very active for its clients in this market with insured annuity purchases accounting for about 20% of the total value of annuities purchased in 2013. 

The purchase of annuities is a popular risk mitigation strategy employed by pension plan administrators. There are two options when it comes to annuity purchases:

  • Buy-out annuities purchase, or the traditional annuities purchase, which discharges the plan of its obligations to retirees. The insurer pays the monthly pensions directly to retirees in exchange for a one-time premium paid by the pension fund. In Quebec, buy-out annuities can be purchased only in the event of the full wind up of the plan.
  • Buy-in annuities purchase, which is rather considered to be a type of investment. The contractual obligation to retirees is not transferred to the insurer and the plan remains responsible for paying monthly pensions to retirees.

The risks hedged by these types of annuity purchases include financial risks such as interest rate risk, equity market risk and inflation risk, as well as a demographic risk, the longevity risk. Financial risks have generated a great deal of interest in recent years while demographic risk has slipped under the radar of pension plan administrators.

The publication of a new Canadian mortality table last February certainly made pension plan administrators aware of the improvement in life expectancy, and thus the increasing longevity risk that their pension plan will be facing.  Because the Canadian market may not be able to absorb the increasing demand for annuity purchase contracts from pension plan administrators, new longevity risk mitigation strategies can be expected to hit the Canadian market and to attract more and more interest.   

Longevity insurance1 is an example of this type of strategy. Currently popular in the United Kingdom, longevity insurance is making a late entry into the Canadian market. The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI), the agency responsible for supervising and regulating private pension plans subject to federal oversight, published a ”Policy advisory on longevity insurance and longevity swaps” on June 9, 2014. This was a first for a Canadian governmental authority.

How do these risk management vehicles work?

Longevity insurance provides a pension plan protection against a possible improvement in longevity and life expectancy. A contract is issued between the pension plan and a counterparty, typically a large insurer. This contract will determine the fixed payments to be made to the insurer from the pension fund. In return, the insurer provides the pension fund with regular floating payments based on either the pension plan's actual mortality experience or an agreed upon mortality index, such as the Canadian mortality experience.

 Advantages:

  • Protection against longevity risk
  • Preservation of pension plan assets: unlike annuity purchases where a one-time premium is paid when the contract is initiated, with longevity insurance, regular payments are made to the insurer allowing the use of remaining assets in an effort to grow the fund's assets in other investments   
  • Fixed and predictable payments made to the insurer

Considerations:

  • Contract size:  the value of the majority of contracts issued in the United Kingdom was several billion dollars. Even though their value seems to be declining, longevity insurance is currently reserved for very large pension funds
  • Costs:  the currently undetermined costs that will be incurred, and for which no comparatives are available, could vary based on contract size, the insurance company, competition in the market, the profit margin target, etc. 
  • Contract profitability:  if, for example, retirees were to die earlier than the mortality assumptions predicted, the pension fund could end-up losing at the end of the contract
  • Legal risk:  because no contract of this nature has yet been established in Canada, the various legal aspects remain undetermined
  • Counterparty risk:  the risk resulting from the possibility that the counterparty could be unable to fulfill its commitments to the pension plan and that the administrator will be required to make the actual payments to retirees (which could be higher or lower than the payment agreed upon with the insurer) 
     

The purchase of annuities continues to be the preferred solution for Canadian pension funds and, if the size of the longevity insurance contracts issued in the United Kingdom is any indication, the longevity insurance market may be gaining in popularity over the long term only.  Normandin Beaudry will continue to monitor the Canadian market and will keep you informed as to the interest in implementing a longevity insurance contract for your pension plans.   

 


1 It should be noted that longevity swaps are another example of a risk mitigation strategy. To date, no longevity swap contracts are available in Canada.    

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

L’assurance longévité : une option potentielle pour les caisses de retraite canadiennes?

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 9, septembre 2014

Sans contredit, 2013 aura été une année record pour les achats de rentes collectives au Canada et plusieurs s’entendent pour dire que 2014 devrait battre ce record. Normandin Beaudry a été très actif pour ses clients sur ce marché avec des achats de rentes assurées qui ont totalisé près de 20 % de la valeur totale des rentes achetées en 2013.

L’achat de rentes est fréquemment utilisé comme stratégie de réduction des risques dans un régime de retraite. Deux types d’achat de rentes sont disponibles : 

  • L’achat de rentes avec rachat des engagements (« buy-out annuity »), ou l’achat de rentes traditionnel, libère le régime de ses engagements envers les retraités. L’assureur versera les rentes mensuelles directement aux retraités en échange d’une prime unique payée par la caisse de retraite. Au Québec, le « buy-out » n’est accessible que dans le cas d’une terminaison totale de régime.
  • L’achat de rentes sans rachat des engagements (« buy-in annuity ») est plutôt considéré comme un type d’investissement. L’engagement contractuel envers les retraités n’est pas transféré à l’assureur et le régime demeure responsable du versement des rentes mensuelles aux retraités.


Les risques couverts par ces types d’achat de rentes incluent les risques financiers (taux d’intérêt, marché boursier et inflation), ainsi qu’un risque démographique (longévité). Tandis que les risques financiers ont suscité beaucoup d’intérêt au cours des dernières années, le risque démographique est quant à lui passé sous le radar des administrateurs de régimes de retraite.

La publication d’une nouvelle table de mortalité canadienne en février dernier aura très certainement sensibilisé les administrateurs de régimes de retraite à l’amélioration de l’espérance de vie, et donc, au risque grandissant de longévité auquel fera face leur régime de retraite. Puisque le marché canadien pourrait ne pas être en mesure d’absorber la demande grandissante des administrateurs des régimes de retraite pour les contrats d’achat de rentes, on peut s’attendre à ce que de nouvelles stratégies de réduction du risque de longévité fassent leur entrée et suscitent de plus en plus d’intérêt sur le marché canadien.

L’assurance longévité1 en est un exemple. Actuellement populaire au Royaume-Uni, celle-ci tarde à faire son entrée au Canada. Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (« BSIF »), l’organisme responsable de surveiller et de réglementer les régimes de retraite privés de compétence fédérale, publiait néanmoins son « Préavis sur l’assurance longévité et les swaps de longévité » le 9 juin dernier, une première pour une autorité gouvernementale canadienne.

Comment fonctionnent ces véhicules de gestion des risques?

L’assurance longévité assure au régime de retraite une protection contre une éventuelle amélioration de la longévité et de l’espérance de vie. Un contrat est émis entre le régime de retraite et une contrepartie, généralement un assureur d’envergure. Ce contrat déterminera le montant des paiements fixes qui seront payés par la caisse de retraite à l’assureur. En revanche, l’assureur versera des paiements à la caisse de retraite, paiements qui varieront en fonction de la mortalité effective des participants au régime ou qui seront basés sur un indice de mortalité convenu, tel que l’expérience de mortalité canadienne.

Avantages :

  • Protection contre le risque de longévité
  • Préservation de l’actif du régime de retraite : contrairement à l’achat de rentes où une prime unique est versée à l’initiation du contrat, un montant périodique est ici payé à l’assureur, permettant ainsi d’investir afin de tenter de faire fructifier la caisse dans d’autres catégories d’actifs
  • Paiements fixes et prévisibles payés à l’assureur
     

Considérations :

  • Taille des contrats : la valeur des contrats émis au Royaume-Uni était majoritairement de l’ordre de plusieurs milliards de dollars. Bien que leur valeur semble à la baisse, l’assurance longévité est actuellement réservée aux très grandes caisses de retraite
  • Frais : les frais actuellement inconnus qui seront engendrés, et pour lesquels aucun comparatif n’est disponible, pourraient varier selon la taille du contrat, la compagnie d’assurance, la compétition sur le marché, la marge de profit souhaitée, etc.
  • Profitabilité du contrat : si, par exemple, les retraités décédaient avant ce qui est prévu par l’hypothèse de mortalité, la caisse de retraite pourrait s’avérer perdante au terme du contrat
  • Risque juridique : puisqu’aucun contrat de ce genre n’a encore été établi au Canada, les différents aspects légaux demeurent indéfinis
  • Risque de contrepartie : ce risque résulte de la possibilité que la contrepartie ne puisse respecter ses engagements envers le régime de retraite et que l’administrateur doive effectuer les paiements réels aux retraités (pouvant être supérieurs ou inférieurs au paiement fixé avec l’assureur)
     

L’achat de rentes demeure la solution de prédilection pour les caisses de retraite canadiennes et, si on se fie à la taille des contrats d’assurance longévité émis au Royaume-Uni, il se peut que le marché d’assurance longévité gagne en popularité sur le long terme seulement. Normandin Beaudry continuera de suivre l’évolution du marché canadien et vous tiendra informé de l’intérêt à mettre en place un contrat d’assurance longévité pour vos régimes de retraite.


1 À noter que le « swap » de longévité en est également un exemple. Aucun contrat de ce type n’est disponible, à ce jour, au Canada. 
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6