Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Comply to make Ontario more accessible for persons with disabilities

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB bulletin Vol. 17 N. 4, May 2014

In 2005, the Ontario government enacted the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, which aims to eliminate barriers that persons with physical or psychological limitations may face. This Act includes different standards that employers must comply with to create accessible workplaces that allow employees with disabilities to reach their full potential. 

Regardless of where their head office is located, all employers registered in Ontario must comply with this Act. Its phased implementation began in 2005 and will continue until 2021. The first accessibility standards, which were implemented in 2012, deal with customer service and emergency measures. 

Employment standard

The next standards that must be implemented by January 2017 include the employment standard form. However, some requirements of the employment standard must be applied as of 2014. This standard requires employers to ensure accessibility at all stages of the employment life cycle, including recruitment, appraisal and selection, performance management, reassignment and professional development. 

To comply with the standards, certain documents must be submitted to the Ontario government in due and proper from. To learn more about the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, and the employment standard in particular, please visit the website of the Ministry of Economic Development, Trade and Employment. 

Implementation

Do you have operations in Ontario? Normandin Beaudry’s professionals can help you comply with the requirements of this Act. They can support you in completing your initial analysis, determining the measures to implement, developing your accessibility plan or simply preparing your documents of intent.
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Se conformer pour rendre l’Ontario plus accessible aux personnes handicapées

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 4, mai 2014

En 2005, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a adopté la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario visant à éliminer les obstacles auxquels les personnes avec des limitations physiques ou psychologiques peuvent faire face. Cette loi inclut différentes normes que les employeurs doivent respecter afin de créer des lieux de travail accessibles permettant aux employé(e)s handicapé(e)s d’atteindre leur plein potentiel. 

Peu importe où se trouve leur siège social, tous les employeurs enregistrés en Ontario doivent se conformer à cette loi.
Sa mise en œuvre se fait progressivement depuis 2005 et se poursuivra jusqu’en 2021. Les premières normes exigées visaient le service à la clientèle et les mesures d’urgence. Elles devraient maintenant être implantées depuis 2012. 

Normes pour l’emploi

Les prochaines normes à respecter touchent entre autres l’emploi et doivent être implantées d’ici janvier 2017. Cependant, certaines des exigences de la norme liée à l’emploi doivent être appliquées dès 2014. Ces normes exigent des employeurs qu’ils assurent l'accessibilité à toutes les étapes du cycle de vie de l'emploi, incluant le recrutement, l’évaluation et la sélection, la gestion du rendement, la réaffectation ou encore le perfectionnement professionnel. 

Pour se conformer aux normes, certains documents doivent être soumis au gouvernement ontarien en bonne et due forme. Pour connaître les détails de la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario, et plus particulièrement sur les normes liées à l’emploi, consultez le site du ministère du Développement économique, du Commerce et de l’Emploi.

Mise en œuvre

Vous avez des opérations en Ontario? Les professionnels de Normandin Beaudry peuvent vous aider à vous conformer aux exigences de cette loi. Ils peuvent vous accompagner pour faire votre diagnostic de départ, déterminer les mesures à mettre en place, établir votre plan d’accessibilité ou simplement rédiger vos documents d’intention.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6