Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Certain provisions relating to pay equity audits deemed unconstitutional

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB bulletin Vol. 17 N. 3, March 2014

On January 22, 2014, the Quebec Superior Court handed down a ruling on a motion to repeal certain provisions of the Pay Equity Act. The court rejected part of the motion, but declared sections 76.3 and 76.5 of the Pay Equity Act to be invalid and of no legal force or effect. This decision affects two elements that could result in additional obligations for employers: 

1- In postings, providing more information to employees so that they can evaluate whether or not the audit results are good or bad (article 76.3).

2- Paying compensation adjustments retroactive to the date on which the change creating the gap occurred (section 76.5). Adjustments are currently made every five years when the pay equity audit must be conducted. 

In the short-term, this decision does not impact employers’ obligations, especially since the government announced on February 21 that it would be appealing this decision. Therefore, the next ruling will not be handed down for quite some time.    

What to do in this situation

A good way to prepare for the changes that could be made to the Pay Equity Act is to be well structured, adopting and applying a compensation policy and practices that promote equity.  In addition to preventing gaps when the pay equity audit is conducted, a clear and structured compensation policy will allow for internal, external and individual equity to be established.     

Sound total compensation management benefits all organizations and goes beyond pay equity obligations. Good management practices will not only allow organizations to remain compliant with the Pay Equity Act, but will also help them attract and retain top talent.  

Summary of the motion

Following the amendments introduced to the Pay Equity Act in 2009, a coalition of unions submitted a motion to the Superior Court to have certain provisions repealed. The motion was to repeal sections1 that would not comply with the CanadianCharter of Rights and Freedoms and the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms.  

This coalition believes that the introduction of sections 76.1 to 76.9 in relation to pay equity audits creates conditions that significantly diminish the rights and advantages conferred to women by the Pay Equity Act in 1996.  It maintains that audits conducted every five years do not ensure the discipline required for protecting women’s rights, and that only continuous audits would do so. 

What are the potential consequences of the next ruling? 

If the Court of Appeal arrives at the same conclusions as the Superior Court, substantial changes to the Pay Equity Act could be expected.  

As regards the information communicated in postings, it is conceivable that the legislator would require further details concerning the pay equity audit method, including the nature of the changes that have occurred within the organization since the last audit and the date on which these changes took place.  

With respect to the date on which the adjustments apply, it is difficult to predict how the amendments to the Pay Equity Act could be structured.  A first assumption would be that a pay equity audit would be conducted each time that a change is made in the organization, and that corrective action would be taken immediately.  This would avoid having to pay interest on retroactive amounts owing, but would expose the employer to constant and upward salary fluctuations.  

A second assumption would be that the pay equity audit would continue to be conducted every five years, but that ensuing adjustments would be retroactive to the date of the change leading to the gap. This would require comprehensive and constant documentation of even the slightest changes related to jobs in the organization so as to be able to identify the event (and date) resulting in a pay gap.  

Keep in mind that several events can generate pay gaps in an organization (for example, the creation or abolition of a job category, an increase or reduction in job tasks, the re-evaluation of job categories, the negotiation of a collective agreement, a salary increase, a merger with or the acquisition of a company, etc.).  

If amendments are introduced to the Pay Equity Act, could they be applied to past work? 

For organizations that conducted pay equity audits and were not subject to any complaints, it is unlikely. However, for organizations that were subject to complaints of this nature, particularly those for which employees are represented by unions belonging to this coalition, it could be a possibility. 

You can consult the ruling here available in French only.


Contested sections of the Pay Equity Act:  14, 23, 28, 30, 32, 35, 36, 37, 40, 44, 49, 52, 53, 54 and 56
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Certaines dispositions du maintien de l’équité salariale déclarées inconstitutionnelles

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 3, mars 2014

Le 22 janvier dernier, la Cour supérieure rendait un jugement concernant une requête visant à annuler certaines dispositions de la Loi sur l’équité salariale (LÉS). La cour a rejeté une partie des demandes, mais déclare invalides, inapplicables et inopérants les articles 76.3 et 76.5 de la LÉS. Cette décision touche deux éléments qui pourraient ajouter des obligations aux employeurs :

1- Dans les affichages, fournir plus d’information aux salariés afin qu’ils puissent juger de la bonne ou de la mauvaise qualité de l’évaluation du maintien (article 76.3).

2- Verser des ajustements salariaux rétroactifs au moment où le changement créant l’écart est survenu (article 76.5). Actuellement, les ajustements sont dus tous les cinq ans, soit au moment où l’évaluation du maintien doit être faite.

À court terme, cette décision ne change rien aux obligations des employeurs d’autant plus que le gouvernement a annoncé le 21 février dernier qu’il ferait appel de cette décision. Il y aura donc un délai considérable avant le prochain jugement.

Dans ce contexte, que faire?

Une bonne façon de se préparer aux changements qui pourraient être apportés à la LÉS est d’être bien structuré, en adoptant et en appliquant une politique et des pratiques de rémunération favorisant l’équité. Une politique de rémunération claire et structurée permettra d’instaurer l’équité interne, externe et individuelle, en plus d’éviter des écarts lors de l’évaluation du maintien de l’équité salariale.

Par ailleurs, une saine gestion de la rémunération globale est bénéfique pour toute organisation et va bien au-delà des obligations en matière d’équité salariale. De bonnes pratiques de gestion permettront non seulement de demeurer conforme à la LÉS, mais contribueront aussi à attirer et fidéliser les meilleurs talents.

Les grandes lignes de la requête

À la suite des modifications apportées à la LÉS en 2009, une coalition de syndicats demandait à la Cour supérieure d’en annuler certaines dispositions. La demande visait l’annulation des articles1 qui ne respecteraient pas la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne.

Cette coalition est d’avis que l’introduction des 76.1 à 76.9 relativement au maintien de l’équité salariale crée des conditions qui diminuent sensiblement les droits et avantages conférés aux femmes par la LÉS de 1996. Elle soutient que le maintien aux cinq ans n’assure pas la rigueur requise pour protéger les droits des femmes, et que seul le maintien en continu le permet.

Quelles pourraient être les conséquences du prochain jugement?

Dans l’optique où le prochain jugement de la cour d’appel arrive aux mêmes conclusions que celui de la cour supérieure, on pourrait s’attendre à des changements substantiels à la LÉS.

En ce qui a trait à l’information communiquée dans les affichages, on peut imaginer que le législateur exigerait plus de détails quant à la méthode d’évaluation du maintien, incluant la nature des changements survenus dans l’organisation depuis la dernière évaluation du maintien, et le moment auquel ils sont survenus.

Pour ce qui est de la date à laquelle s’appliquent les ajustements, il est difficile de prévoir de quelle façon les modifications à la LÉS pourraient s’opérer. Une première hypothèse serait qu’une vérification du maintien de l’équité salariale se fasse chaque fois que survient un changement dans l’organisation, avec des correctifs apportés immédiatement. Cela éviterait d’avoir à verser des intérêts sur les sommes dues rétroactivement, mais exposerait l’employeur à une fluctuation des salaires constante et à la hausse.

Une seconde hypothèse serait que l’évaluation du maintien continue de se faire tous les cinq ans, mais que les ajustements en découlant soient rétroactifs au moment du changement qui a engendré l’écart. Ceci exigerait la documentation exhaustive et soutenue du moindre changement lié aux emplois dans l’organisation, et ce, pour être en mesure d’identifier l’élément (et le moment) qui génère un écart de rémunération.

Rappelons que plusieurs événements peuvent générer des écarts de rémunération dans une organisation (par exemple, la création ou l’abolition d’une catégorie d’emplois, la bonification ou la réduction des tâches d’un emploi, la réévaluation de catégorie d’emplois, une négociation de convention collective, une augmentation salariale, une fusion ou acquisition d’entreprise, etc.).

Si des changements sont apportés à la LÉS, pourraient-ils être applicables sur des travaux passés?

Pour les organisations ayant effectué le maintien et n’ayant fait l’objet d’aucune plainte, c’est peu probable. Cependant, dans le cas d’organisations ayant fait l’objet de plaintes de cette nature, notamment celles dont les salariés sont représentés par les syndicats faisant partie de la coalition, ce pourrait être une possibilité.

Vous pouvez consulter le jugement en cliquant ici.


1Articles de la LÉS contestés : 14, 23, 28, 30, 32, 35, 36, 37, 40, 44, 49, 52, 53, 54 et 56
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6