Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Group insurance plans in Quebec: new cost transfers from public to private plans

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 17 N. 11, December 2014

Last week, the Quebec government tabled Bill 28 (An Act mainly to implement certain provisions of the Budget Speech of 4 June 2014 and return to a balanced budget in 2015-2016). Some provisions of this bill will directly impact the cost of group insurance plans in Quebec. 

1st transfer: new medical acts performed by pharmacists

The bill specifies the new medical acts that pharmacists will be entitled to perform, such as renewing a prescription for certain drugs and prescribing drugs for certain conditions. It is the end result of Bill 41, which was tabled in December 2011 and was still in the analysis phase. Insurers are in the process of evaluating the potential reimbursement of fees charged by pharmacists in relation to these medical acts in private group insurance plans because, unlike physicians' fees, the RAMQ would not be responsible for pharmacists' fees. Insurers evaluate the cost of these potential new expenses, as well as the manner in which they would adjust their administration systems, which are not currently designed to reimburse these types of fees. Since the bill was announced, these reimbursements have also been the subject of negotiations between insurers, pharmacists and the government to determine appropriate fee levels for each service and whether the RAMQ or private drug insurance plans are responsible for these fees.

2nd transfer: the pressure on prescription drug costs

This same bill also stipulates that the public plan will no longer pay fees charged by pharmacists for certain procedures for individuals insured by the public plan. The government expects to save more than 130 million dollars by applying these measures, which is more than 10% of the total fees paid to pharmacists by the government. Historically, when their revenues were reduced by the government for individuals insured by the public plan, pharmacists tended to increase drug costs for individuals insured by private plans to offset their losses. The strong reaction of pharmacists to the government's announcement in the media last week could be an indicator of its potential impacts on private group insurance plans in Quebec.

How to protect against these transfers

Like insurers, the Normandin Beaudry consultants will be keeping a close eye on the situation over the next few weeks to see if the government will remain firm in its position when it comes to fees charged by pharmacists in the public plan and the introduction of new medical acts performed by pharmacists for which private plans are responsible. It is important to understand that the existing mechanisms for protecting private plans against a potential cost transfer from the public plan could be better adapted. This is something that must be examined, along with potentially revising some parameters of your group insurance plans. Insurers will also continue to put pressure on the government to avoid such a transfer. The mobilization of a larger number of plan sponsors may be necessary this time to avert the transfer scenario and avoid once again standing idly by and watching group insurance plan costs increase. We will keep you informed.
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Régimes d’assurance collective au Québec : nouveaux transferts de coûts du public au privé

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB, Vol 17 N. 11, décembre 2014

La semaine dernière, le gouvernement du Québec a déposé le projet de loi 28 (Loi concernant principalement la mise en œuvre de certaines dispositions du discours sur le budget du 4 juin 2014 et visant le retour à l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015-2016). Dans ce projet de loi, des dispositions toucheront directement les coûts des régimes d’assurance collective au Québec.

1er transfert : les nouveaux actes médicaux prodigués par les pharmaciens

Le projet de loi précise quels seront les nouveaux actes médicaux que les pharmaciens pourront prodiguer, comme par exemple, renouveler une prescription pour certains médicaments et prescrire des médicaments pour certaines maladies. Il s’agit de l’aboutissement du projet de loi 41 déposé en décembre 2011 et qui était toujours dans la phase d’analyse. Les assureurs, pour leur part, sont toujours à évaluer la possibilité de rembourser les honoraires des pharmaciens relatifs à ces actes médicaux dans les régimes privés d’assurance collective, puisque ceux-ci ne seraient pas pris en charge par la RAMQ, contrairement aux honoraires des médecins. Ils évaluent les coûts de ces nouvelles dépenses potentielles, mais aussi la manière dont ils adapteraient leurs systèmes d’administration, qui ne sont pas conçus pour rembourser de tels frais actuellement. Ces remboursements font aussi l’objet de négociations entre les assureurs, les pharmaciens et le gouvernement depuis l’annonce du projet de loi pour déterminer les niveaux de frais adéquats par acte et la responsabilité de ces frais entre la RAMQ et les régimes privés d’assurance médicaments.

2e transfert : la pression exercée sur les coûts des médicaments

Le même projet de loi précise aussi que le régime public ne paiera plus dorénavant les honoraires des pharmaciens pour certaines procédures des assurés du régime public. Le gouvernement compte économiser plus de 130 millions de dollars par l’application de ces mesures, soit plus de 10 % des honoraires totaux versés par le gouvernement aux pharmaciens. Historiquement, lorsque les pharmaciens ont vu leurs revenus réduits par le gouvernement pour les assurés du régime public, ils ont eu tendance à augmenter les coûts des médicaments des assurés des régimes privés pour compenser leurs pertes. Les pharmaciens ayant réagi fortement à l’annonce du gouvernement dans les médias la semaine dernière, cette annonce pourrait donc avoir des conséquences sur les régimes privés d’assurance collective au Québec.

Quoi faire pour se prémunir de ces transferts?

À l’instar des assureurs, les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry demeureront très attentifs dans les prochaines semaines afin de voir si le gouvernement restera sur sa position quant à la réduction des honoraires des pharmaciens dans le régime public et la mise en place des nouveaux actes médicaux pris en charge par les régimes privés. On doit comprendre que les mécanismes existants pour protéger les régimes privés contre un éventuel transfert des coûts du régime public pourraient être mieux adaptés. Il faut donc y réfléchir et possiblement revoir certains paramètres de vos régimes d’assurance collective. En parallèle, les assureurs continuent d’exercer leurs pressions sur le gouvernement pour éviter un tel transfert. Toutefois, une mobilisation plus grande des preneurs de régimes sera peut-être nécessaire cette fois-ci pour éviter que le scénario de transfert se matérialise et pour ne pas subir de nouvelles hausses des coûts des régimes d’assurance collective sans broncher. Nous vous tiendrons informés. 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6