Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2014 Bulletins

NB Bulletin Vol. 17 N. 13, December 2014
Impact of tax measures announced by the Quebec government on group benefits plans

On December 2, 2014, in the Update on Québec's Economic and Financial Situation, the Quebec Government announced some tax measures that have an impact on group benefits plans and employers' contributions to the Health Services Fund.

NB Bulletin Vol. 17 N. 12, December 2014
Revenu Québec and its application of the Unclaimed Property Act

On April 1, 2006, the Curateur public transferred the administration of unclaimed financial property to Revenu Québec (RQ). Since then, RQ has been auditing pension plans to determine whether or not unclaimed property and penalties, if applicable, have been remitted. These audits target notably small amounts whose commuted value represents less than 20% of the Year's Maximum Pensionable Earnings (YMPE) for the year in which the member ceased to be an active member.

NB Bulletin Vol. 17 N. 11, December 2014
Group insurance plans in Quebec: new cost transfers from public to private plans

Last week, the Quebec government tabled Bill 28 (An Act mainly to implement certain provisions of the Budget Speech of 4 June 2014 and return to a balanced budget in 2015-2016). Some provisions of this bill will directly impact the cost of group insurance plans in Quebec. 

NB Bulletin Vol. 17 N. 10, October 2014
Rates for Health Care Professionals in 2014

During the summer of 2014, Normandin Beaudry conducted its 17th annual survey of fees charged by health care professionals in Quebec. Considering the fact that health care services provided by these specialists are typically covered by group benefits plans, we believe that the results presented below will be of interest to you.

NB Bulletin Vol 17 N. 9, September 2014
Longevity insurance: a potential option for Canadian pension funds?

Without question, 2013 was a record year in Canada for group annuity purchases and many agree that 2014 is bound to set this record. Normandin Beaudry was very active for its clients in this market with insured annuity purchases accounting for about 20% of the total value of annuities purchased in 2013. 

NB Bulletin Vol. 17 N. 8, September 2014
Quebec salaries expected to increase by 2.9% in 2015

Normandin Beaudry’s annual survey on salary increases reveals that Quebec salaries are expected to increase by 2.9% in 2015. Salary structure increases remain stable with an average increase of 2.0%.

NB Bulletin Vol 17 N. 7, July 2014
New Financial Parameters for the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan

On July 1 each year, the Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec adjusts the financial parameters applicable to the public prescription drug insurance plan to take into account the increase or decrease in plan costs.

NB bulletin Vol. 17 N. 6, June 2014
Investing in private debt and in mortgage debt

In spite of the 2013 rise in interest rates, the yield to maturity of Canadian bonds remains low. For instance, the Universe1 bond index’s annual yield to maturity as at April 30, 2014 was only at 2.5%.
 

NB bulletin Vol. 17 N. 5, May 2014
Residual benefits due to pension plan insolvency

On April 30, 2014, the Régie des rentes du Québec (the “Régie”) issued a Newsletter Express on the amounts payable following the settlement of benefits under a partially solvent defined benefit pension plan. This document confirms a change in the interpretation of rules that could have financial impacts for plan sponsors.

NB bulletin Vol. 17 N. 4, May 2014
Comply to make Ontario more accessible for persons with disabilities

In 2005, the Ontario government enacted the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, which aims to eliminate barriers that persons with physical or psychological limitations may face. This Act includes different standards that employers must comply with to create accessible workplaces that allow employees with disabilities to reach their full potential.

NB bulletin Vol. 17 N. 3, March 2014
Certain provisions relating to pay equity audits deemed unconstitutional

On January 22, 2014, the Quebec Superior Court handed down a ruling on a motion to repeal certain provisions of the Pay Equity Act.  The court rejected part of the motion, but declared sections 76.3 and 76.5 of the Pay Equity Act to be invalid and of no legal force or effect.     

NB Bulletin Vol. 17 N. 2, February 2014
2013 tax credit for medical expenses

For the 2013 tax year, a tax credit ranging from 4% to 20% of incurred medical expenses(1) could be granted to Canadian taxpayers. The credit is subject to certain conditions and depends on the province of residence.

NB Bulletin Vol. 17 N. 1, January 2014
2014 Social Security Programs Parameters

As in previous years, we inform you about the parameters that will be used by the major social security programs in 2014.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Communiqués 2014

Communiqué NB, Vol 17 N. 13, décembre 2014
Effet des mesures fiscales annoncées par le Gouvernement du Québec sur les régimes d’assurance collective

Le 2 décembre dernier, à l’occasion du Point sur la situation économique et financière du Québec, le Gouvernement du Québec a annoncé quelques mesures fiscales ayant un impact sur les régimes d’assurance collective et les cotisations des employeurs au Fonds des services de santé.

Communiqué NB, Vol 17 N. 12, décembre 2014
Revenu Québec et son application de la Loi sur les biens non réclamés

Le 1er avril 2006, le Curateur public a transféré l’administration des biens financiers non réclamés (« BNR ») à Revenu Québec (« RQ »). Ce dernier effectue depuis cette date des vérifications auprès des régimes de retraite afin d’examiner si les biens non réclamés et les pénalités, le cas échéant, lui sont versés. Ces vérifications visent notamment les montants peu élevés dont la valeur représente moins de 20 % du maximum des gains ouvrant droit à pension (« MGAP ») lors d’une cessation de participation.

Communiqué NB, Vol 17 N. 11, décembre 2014
Régimes d’assurance collective au Québec : nouveaux transferts de coûts du public au privé

La semaine dernière, le gouvernement du Québec a déposé le projet de loi 28 (Loi concernant principalement la mise en œuvre de certaines dispositions du discours sur le budget du 4 juin 2014 et visant le retour à l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015-2016). Dans ce projet de loi, des dispositions toucheront directement les coûts des régimes d’assurance collective au Québec.

Communiqué NB, Vol 17 N. 10, octobre 2014
Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé en 2014

Au cours de l’été 2014, Normandin Beaudry a mené sa 17enquête annuelle sur les tarifs exigés par les spécialistes de la santé au Québec. Ces coûts étant généralement couverts par les régimes d’assurance collective, les constats qui suivent sauront sûrement vous intéresser.

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 9, septembre 2014
L’assurance longévité : une option potentielle pour les caisses de retraite canadiennes?

Sans contredit, 2013 aura été une année record pour les achats de rentes collectives au Canada et plusieurs s’entendent pour dire que 2014 devrait battre ce record. Normandin Beaudry a été très actif pour ses clients sur ce marché avec des achats de rentes assurées qui ont totalisé près de 20 % de la valeur totale des rentes achetées en 2013.

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 8, septembre 2014
Le salaire des Québécois devrait augmenter en moyenne de 2,9 % en 2015

L’enquête annuelle de Normandin Beaudry sur les prévisions salariales révèle que les salaires québécois devraient augmenter en moyenne de 2,9 % en 2015. Les augmentations de structures salariales, quant à elles, demeurent stables avec en moyenne 2,0 % d’augmentation.

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 7, juillet 2014
Nouveaux paramètres financiers du régime d’assurance médicaments du Québec

Au 1er juillet de chaque année, la Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec ajuste les paramètres financiers applicables au régime public d’assurance médicaments afin de tenir compte de l’accroissement ou de la diminution des coûts du régime.

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 6, juin 2014
Investir en dette privée et en dette hypothécaire

En dépit de la hausse des taux d’intérêt de 2013, le rendement annuel à échéance des obligations canadiennes demeure faible, comme en témoigne celui de l’indice obligataire Univers1 qui se situait à 2,5 % au 30 avril 2014.

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 5, mai 2014
Droits résiduels en raison de l’insolvabilité des régimes de retraite

Le 30 avril dernier, la Régie des rentes du Québec (la « Régie ») a émis une Lettre express traitant des sommes à payer lors de l’acquittement des droits dans un régime à prestations déterminées partiellement solvable. Ce document confirme un changement d’interprétation des règles qui pourrait avoir des conséquences financières pour les promoteurs de régime.

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 4, mai 2014
Se conformer pour rendre l’Ontario plus accessible aux personnes handicapées

En 2005, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a adopté la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario visant à éliminer les obstacles auxquels les personnes avec des limitations physiques ou psychologiques peuvent faire face. Cette loi inclut différentes normes que les employeurs doivent respecter afin de créer des lieux de travail accessibles permettant aux employé(e)s handicapé(e)s d’atteindre leur plein potentiel.  

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 3, mars 2014
Certaines dispositions du maintien de l’équité salariale déclarées inconstitutionnelles

Le 22 janvier dernier, la Cour supérieure rendait un jugement concernant une requête visant à annuler certaines dispositions de la Loi sur l’équité salariale (LÉS). La cour a rejeté une partie des demandes, mais déclare invalides, inapplicables et inopérants les articles 76.3 et 76.5 de la LÉS.

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 2, février 2014
Crédit d'impôt 2013 pour frais médicaux

Pour l’année d’imposition 2013, un contribuable canadien pourrait se voir accorder un crédit d'impôt variant entre 4 % et 20 % de ses dépenses engagées pour des frais médicaux(1). Le crédit est accordé sous certaines réserves et varie en fonction de la province de résidence.

Communiqué NB Vol. 17 N. 1, janvier 2014
Les programmes de sécurité sociale : nouveaux paramètres pour 2014

Comme à chaque année, nous vous informons des paramètres qui seront utilisés par les principaux programmes de sécurité sociale en 2014.