Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Rethinking the role of retirement savings

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB bulletin Vol. 16 N. 9, June 2013

Out of the 21 recommendations issued by the Expert Committee on the Future of the Quebec Retirement System (the “Committee”), chaired by Mr. Alban D’Amours, four are related to retirement savings plans other than defined benefit plans. The goal of these recommendations is to help workers save more for retirement and to make the Quebec retirement system more effective.

Many workers who do not have access to a defined benefit pension plan offered by their employer must rely more on retirement savings plans and their personal savings to ensure their financial security at retirement.

This information bulletin focuses on the recommendations related to retirement savings plans.

Voluntary retirement savings plans (VRSPs)

The first recommendation aims to make savings more effective for all workers and involves the swift implementation of VRSPs by the Quebec government. The Committee’s recommendation on VRSPs became reality with the tabling of Bill 39 on VRSPs on May 8, 2013. To learn more, click here to access our bulletin on VRSPs.

Greater flexibility in the withdrawal of retirement savings

The Committee’s other three recommendations involve making the withdrawal of retirement savings more flexible, particularly for defined contribution plans, locked-in retirement accounts (LIRAs), life income funds (LIFs) and registered retirement savings plans (RRSPs).

Benefits paid directly from a defined contribution plan

First, the Committee proposes amending the Supplemental Pension Plans Act to allow defined contribution plan members to receive pension benefits directly from their plan. Members could thus continue to benefit from the advantages offered by their group plans, such as lower management fees.

Because federal tax provisions already allow for the payment of benefits, provincial legislation would simply need to follow the lead of the other Canadian provinces 1 to make the payment of benefits from defined contribution plans more flexible.

Earlier withdrawal of retirement savings

The Committee also proposes allowing funds held in a LIRA or LIF to be withdrawn as early as age 60. The maximum withdrawal amount would be revised accordingly. This additional flexibility would allow workers to “rethink” the use of retirement savings.


The payment of QPP and OAS benefits
can be deferred up to age 70.
For each year that payment is deferred,
the QPP and OAS benefits are increased by 8.4% and 7.2% per year
respectively starting at age 65.
It should be noted that QPP benefits
are reduced when paid before age 65.
OAS benefits cannot be paid before age 65.


As an example, the tables below present the maximum QPP and OAS benefits with payment deferred to age 70. It should be noted that the total benefits payable from these plans could exceed $26,000 per year.

By combining the earlier withdrawal of retirement savings and the deferral of increased benefits payments from the Quebec Pension Plan (QPP) and the Old Age Security Pension (OAS), workers could:

  • Simplify retirement planning: alleviate the pressure on retirement savings by planning primarily for needs for the first few years of retirement.
  • Pool longevity risk: rely more, at older ages, on the strength of public plans that resides in the pooling of longevity risk while enjoying defined benefit payments.

The chart below illustrates the impact of a withdrawal strategy that combines the earlier withdrawal of retirement savings (starting at age 60) and the deferral of increased QPP and OAS benefits payments up to age 70. This example is based on a salary of $50,000 before retirement and a retirement income of $30,000 per year (left axis), or a salary replacement level equal to 60% of the pre-retirement salary (right axis).

Retirement savings withdrawal strategy

The implementation of this type of retirement savings withdrawal strategy is already possible for workers with savings from RRSPs or TFSAs. The longevity pension proposed by the Committee that would be paid starting at age 75 is not illustrated above. The longevity pension would further pool the longevity risk and alleviate the pressure on retirement savings. Click here to learn more about the longevity pension.


For most Quebec workers,
the required retirement savings amount should be equal
to the annual income targeted at retirement multiplied by the number of years
between the retirement age and age 70.


For example, the table below illustrates the estimated retirement savings amount required for a target annual income at retirement of $30,000, assuming a retirement at age 60 and age 65 and the deferral of increased QPP and OAS benefits payments.

This type of retirement savings withdrawal strategy could also be applied to workers having higher income objectives. However, at older ages, the retirement savings would still represent an important source of income.

Push back the RRSP conversion age

The Committee’s final recommendation is to push back from age 71 to age 75, the maximum age at which the RRSP must be converted to a registered retirement income fund (RRIF) or to an annuity purchased from an insurer. This change aims to achieve harmonization with the longevity pension that would be paid starting at age 75 and will not be possible without the support of the federal government.
 

 


1 Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and British Columbia already allow for the payment of benefits from defined contribution plans. Ontario, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia have also tabled bills that seek to do the same.
2 This example does not take into account planned changes to the OAS. The Canadian government has introduced measures to gradually increase the OAS eligibility age between 2023 and 2029. The age will be changed from 65 to 67, and individuals will still be able to defer the payment of OAS benefits for up to 5 years, or age 72 starting in 2029.
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Repenser le rôle de l’épargne-retraite

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 16 N. 9, juin 2013

Parmi les 21 recommandations du rapport du comité d’experts, présidé par M. Alban D’Amours, quatre portent sur les régimes d’épargne-retraite autres que les régimes à prestations déterminées. Elles visent à aider les travailleurs à épargner davantage pour leur retraite et à rendre le système de retraite québécois plus efficace.

Bon nombre de travailleurs n’ont pas accès à un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées offert par leur employeur. Ils doivent donc miser davantage sur les régimes d’épargne-retraite et leur épargne personnelle pour assurer leur sécurité financière à la retraite.

Le présent communiqué se concentre sur les recommandations portant sur les différents régimes d’épargne-retraite.

Régimes volontaires d’épargne-retraite (RVER)

La première recommandation vise l’efficacité de l’épargne de l’ensemble des travailleurs et porte sur la création rapide des RVER par le gouvernement québécois. La recommandation du comité d’experts portant sur les RVER a été concrétisée avec le récent projet de loi no 39 sur les RVER déposé le 8 mai dernier. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici pour consulter notre communiqué sur les RVER.

Plus de flexibilité dans le décaissement de l’épargne-retraite

Les trois autres recommandations du comité d’experts portent sur une plus grande flexibilité dans le décaissement de l’épargne-retraite, notamment pour les régimes à cotisations déterminées, les comptes de retraite immobilisés (CRI), les fonds de revenu viager (FRV) et les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite (REÉR).

Versement des prestations directement d’un régime à cotisations déterminées

Dans un premier temps, il est proposé que la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite soit modifiée afin de permettre aux participants de régimes à cotisations déterminées de recevoir des prestations de retraite directement de leurs régimes. Les participants pourraient ainsi continuer de profiter des avantages de leurs régimes collectifs, incluant des frais de gestion plus faibles.

Les dispositions fiscales fédérales permettant déjà le versement de prestations, la législation provinciale n’aurait qu’à emboîter le pas à celles de la plupart des autres provinces canadiennes1 , pour rendre davantage flexible le versement de prestations de régimes à cotisations déterminées.
 

Décaissement plus rapide de l’épargne-retraite  

De plus, il est proposé que le décaissement plus rapide des sommes détenues dans un CRI ou dans un FRV soit possible dès l’âge de 60 ans. Le montant maximum de décaissement serait donc revu en conséquence. Cette flexibilité additionnelle permettrait aux travailleurs de « repenser » l’utilisation de l’épargne-retraite.


Le report du versement des prestations RRQ et de la PSV
est possible jusqu’à un âge pouvant atteindre 70 ans.
Pour chaque année de report du versement, les prestations du RRQ et de la PSV
sont augmentées respectivement de 8,4 % et 7,2 %
par année à compter de 65 ans. À noter que les prestations du RRQ
sont diminuées lorsqu’elles sont versées avant 65 ans.
Les prestations de la PSV ne peuvent pas être versées avant 65 ans.


À titre d’exemple, les tableaux suivants présentent le montant maximum des prestations du RRQ et de la PSV avec un report du versement des prestations à 70 ans. À noter que le montant total des prestations de ces régimes pourrait représenter plus de 26 000 $ par année.

En combinant un décaissement plus rapide de l’épargne-retraite et le report du versement des prestations augmentées du Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ) et de la Pension de la sécurité de la vieillesse (PSV), les travailleurs pourraient ainsi :

  • Simplifier la planification de la retraite : diminuer la pression sur l’épargne-retraite en planifiant principalement les besoins pour les premières années de la retraite.
  • Mutualiser le risque de longévité : miser davantage, en âges avancés, sur la force des régimes publics qui réside dans la mutualisation du risque de longévité tout en profitant d’une prestation déterminée.

Le graphique suivant illustre l’effet d’une stratégie de décaissement combinant un décaissement plus rapide de l’épargne-retraite à compter de 60 ans et le report du versement des prestations augmentées du RRQ et de la PSV à un âge pouvant atteindre 70 ans. Cet exemple est basé sur un salaire de 50 000 $ avant la retraite et un revenu à la retraite de 30 000 $ par année (axe de gauche), soit un niveau de remplacement du salaire avant la retraite de 60 % (axe de droite).

Stratégie de décaissement de l’épargne-retraite

La mise en œuvre de ce genre de stratégie de décaissement de l’épargne-retraite est déjà possible pour les travailleurs ayant des épargnes provenant de REÉR ou de CELI. La rente longévité proposée par le comité d’experts, qui serait versée à partir de 75 ans, n’est pas reflétée dans cette illustration. La rente longévité s’inscrirait dans la même logique de mutualisation du risque de longévité et viendrait davantage diminuer la pression sur l’épargne-retraite. Cliquez ici pour consulter notre communiqué sur la rente longévité.


Ainsi, pour la majorité des travailleurs québécois,
le montant nécessaire en épargne-retraite
devrait correspondre au revenu annuel visé à la retraite
multiplié par le nombre d’années entre l’âge du début de la retraite et 70 ans.


À titre d’exemple, le tableau suivant illustre le montant estimé de l’épargne-retraite nécessaire pour un revenu annuel visé à la retraite de 30 000 $, en présumant une retraite à 60 ans et à 65 ans, ainsi que le report du versement des prestations augmentées du RRQ et de la PSV.

Ce genre de stratégie de décaissement de l’épargne-retraite peut également être appliquée aux travailleurs ayant des objectifs de revenus plus élevés, bien qu’en âges avancés l’épargne-retraite demeurera une source importante de revenu.

Repousser l’âge de conversion d’un REÉR 

Finalement, la dernière recommandation formulée par le comité d’experts vise le report de l’âge maximum pour convertir un REÉR en fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR) ou en rente auprès d’un assureur, de 71 ans à 75 ans. Ce changement vise une harmonisation avec la rente longévité qui serait versée à partir de 75 ans. Ce changement ne pourra être possible qu’avec l’appui du gouvernement fédéral.

 


1 L’Alberta, le Manitoba, la Saskatchewan et la Colombie-Britannique permettent déjà le versement de prestations à même un régime à cotisations déterminées. L’Ontario, le Nouveau-Brunswick et la Nouvelle-Écosse ont déposé des projets de Loi qui vont également dans ce sens. 
2 Cet exemple ne tient pas compte des modifications prévues à la PSV. Le gouvernement du Canada a introduit des mesures visant à hausser graduellement l'âge d'admissibilité à la PSV entre 2023 et 2029. Ainsi, l'âge passera de 65 à 67 ans. Il sera toujours possible de reporter jusqu’à 5 ans le versement des prestations de la PSV, soit jusqu’à 72 ans à compter de 2029. 

 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6