Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Pay equity: mandatory report on pay equity for employers behind in their work

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 6, April 2012

Employers behind in their work to ensure compliance with Quebec’s Pay Equity Act (“the Act”) are wondering how to tackle the report on pay equity (referred to as “DEMES” by Quebec government entities). Let’s examine this question.

Since March 1, 2011, employers with six or more employees are required to complete an annual report intended to provide to the Commission de l’équité salariale (“the Commission”) information on the application of the Act in their organization. The Commission is the sole possessor of this information, which it will also use to guide its audit efforts in relation to employers that failed to complete their pay equity work on time.

Increased risk of investigation for 2012

The Commission’s 2010-2011 management report indicates that its audit initiatives in 2012 will be guided by the information contained in the report on pay equity and on complaints submitted by employees. This will increase the risk of an audit at non-compliant employers. The Commission plans to conduct thorough audits beginning in the fall of 2012.

The content of the mandatory report clearly identifies to the Commission the filer’s compliance status on the basis of its obligations under the Act. Failure to file a report and the filing of a false report constitute infractions. What should an employer do when it finds itself in this type of situation?

First, note that the report on pay equity must be filed at least once a year. An employer also has the option of filing a second report during the same year, to submit the results of its pay equity work. For audit purposes, the Commission uses the most recent report filed by the employer.

The Commission sends personalized letters to employers reminding them of their deadline for filing the report on pay equity. This suggests that the Commission is able to identify employers that failed to file the report on pay equity on time.

It is better to file a report indicating that the employer is behind in its work than to not file a report

An employer should file its report on pay equity within the set time limit even if it is behind in its pay equity work. The information contained in the report on pay equity should reflect the facts concerning the actual status of the pay equity file.

When the employer finishes its pay equity work, including the mandatory posting(s) set out in the Act, it should file a new report on pay equity containing the updated information. It is better to file a report indicating that the employer is behind in its work than to not file a report on pay equity for fear of confirming said delay.

With respect to the filing of the report on pay equity only, the following situations represent a relatively higher to lower risk of an employer investigation conducted by the Commission that could result in a fine, as set out in the Act:

  • No report on pay equity filed within the set time limit;
  • A report on pay equity filed on time but indicating that the employer has not completed the required pay equity work; and
  • A report on pay equity filed on time but indicating that pay equity work was completed after set time limits had expired.

A complaint submitted to the Commission by an employee constitutes another event that could result in an intervention and be subject to the same fines as those applicable to the report on pay equity. This risk should also be carefully assessed.

For more information on the fines applicable to a contravention of the Act, please refer to paragraph 2 of section 115 of the Act.
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Équité salariale : La déclaration obligatoire pour les employeurs en retard

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol 15 N. 6, avril 2012

Les employeurs en retard dans leurs travaux de conformité à la Loi sur l’équité salariale du Québec (« la Loi ») se demandent comment aborder la Déclaration de l'employeur en matière d'équité salariale (« DEMES »). Faisons le point sur la question.

Depuis le 1er mars 2011, les employeurs comptant 6 employés et plus ont l’obligation de remplir annuellement une déclaration visant à informer la Commission de l’équité salariale (« la Commission ») sur la mise en application de la Loi dans leur organisation. Cette information, dont la Commission est l’unique détentrice, a également pour but d’aiguiller ses efforts de vérification chez les employeurs qui n’ont pas exécuté leurs travaux d’équité salariale à temps.

Des risques d’enquête accrus pour 2012

Le rapport de gestion 2010-2011 de la Commission indique que ses initiatives de vérification en 2012 seront orientées en fonction de l’information recueillie par la DEMES, ainsi que des plaintes déposées par les salariés. Ceci accroît le risque de vérification chez les employeurs non conformes. La Commission compte mener ses vérifications rigoureusement, et ce, dès l’automne 2012.

Or, le contenu de la déclaration obligatoire identifie clairement à la Commission l’état de conformité du déclarant, en vertu de ses obligations découlant de la Loi. L’omission de produire une déclaration ou faire une fausse déclaration constituent une infraction. Que doit faire un employeur qui se retrouve dans une telle situation?

D’abord, mentionnons que la DEMES doit être produite au moins une fois par année. Par ailleurs, un employeur a la possibilité de soumettre une seconde déclaration au cours d’une même année, pour indiquer l’aboutissement de ses travaux d’équité salariale. Pour faire ses vérifications, la Commission retient la déclaration la plus récente de l’employeur.

La Commission envoie des lettres personnalisées aux employeurs pour leur rappeler la date avant laquelle ils doivent produire leur DEMES. Cela laisse entendre que la Commission est en mesure d’identifier ceux qui n’ont pas produit la DEMES à temps.

Vaut mieux déclarer avoir réalisé ses travaux en retard que d’omettre de produire la DEMES

Un employeur, même en retard dans ses travaux d’équité salariale, devrait soumettre sa DEMES dans les délais qui lui sont accordés. Les informations contenues dans cette DEMES devront refléter les faits quant à l’état réel du dossier d’équité salariale.

Lorsque l’employeur conclut ses travaux d’équité salariale avec le ou les affichages obligatoires prévus à la Loi, il devrait soumettre à nouveau  une DEMES qui contient les informations les plus à jour. Vaut mieux déclarer avoir réalisé ses travaux en retard que d’omettre de produire la DEMES par crainte de confirmer ledit retard.

En considérant strictement la soumission de la DEMES, les situations suivantes représentent un risque, du plus au moins élevé, d’une enquête de la Commission auprès d’un employeur, qui pourrait se voir imposer une amende comme prévu par la Loi :

  • Aucune DEMES soumise à l’expiration des délais accordés pour le faire
  • Une DEMES soumise à temps, mais qui indique que les travaux d’équité salariale ne sont pas complétés malgré l’assujettissement de l’employeur
  • Une DEMES soumise à temps, mais qui indique que les travaux d’équité salariale ont été conclus après l’expiration des délais accordés pour les faire

Le dépôt d’une plainte d’un employé auprès de la Commission constitue un autre événement qui pourrait déclencher une intervention, avec les mêmes amendes que celles liées à la DEMES. Ce risque est également à évaluer attentivement.

Pour plus d’information sur les amendes prévues pour une infraction à la Loi, consultez l’alinéa 2 de l’article 115 du texte de loi.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6