Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Impacts of the Quebec budget on group insurance plans

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 14, November 2012

During the unveiling of its budget on November 20, the Quebec Government announced several measures that could affect group insurance plans:

  • Elimination of the “15-year rule” for patented drugs
  • Increase in the compensation tax on insurance premiums and extension of its application
  • Adjustment of the health contribution based on income

Elimination of the “15-year rule” for patented drugs

Currently in Quebec, drugs included on the public plan’s formulary are subject to the “15-year rule” (applicable to members of the public plan). This rule states that patented drugs are reimbursed for a period of 15 years from the time they are listed on the formulary of the Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ), even if their cost is higher than that of a generic version also included on the list. When this 15 year period ends, the RAMQ reimburses the drug, whether it is a brand-name version or a generic version at the price of the least expensive drug.

This measure, which was implemented to encourage pharmaceutical companies to do business in Quebec, was becoming increasingly costly due to the increased use of drugs, the introduction of several key generic drugs, and falling prices of generic drugs.

Therefore, the Government announced the elimination of this rule, paving the way for the RAMQ to reimburse drugs at the price of the least expensive generic drug, if available. Since this rule applied only to members of the public plan, this decision will not have any major impact on private drug insurance plans.

Nonetheless, private plans covering employees or retirees age 65 and over could experience cost increases. Since private plans often offer supplementary coverage to the public plan for these insureds (with the RAMQ being the first payer), reimbursements by the private plans may increase because the RAMQ will reimburse a smaller portion of drugs that have a generic version. To reduce this impact, organizations may consider adding a “generic substitution” clause to their insurance plans stating that brand-name drugs will be reimbursed at the price of the generic version.

Increase in the compensation tax on insurance premiums and extension of its application

Financial institutions in Quebec must pay a compensation tax on insurance premiums, currently at a rate of 0.55%. This compensation tax is comprised of a basic tax of 0.35% and a temporary contribution of 0.2% initially planned for the period of April 1, 2010 to March 31, 2014.

The last budget announced an increase in the temporary compensation tax from 0.2% to 0.3%, and extended this measure until March 31, 2019, i.e., five years beyond the application period that was originally anticipated.

Notwithstanding the budget provision, we remind you that effective January 1, 2013, Quebec will eliminate the basic portion (0.35%) of the compensation tax, a measure consistent with the harmonization of the sales tax. It should be noted, however, that insurers could subsequently increase their administration fees by an amount in the vicinity of 0.35% to offset other tax adjustments related to the harmonization of the sales tax, specifically those related to input tax refunds (ITRs).

Note that the compensation tax is generally combined with the tax on capital (rate of 2%, which is not affected by the budget). The compensation tax and the tax on capital are payable by insurance companies, which include them in their administration fees and, consequently, in the premiums they charge. These taxes will thus be reduced from 2.55% to 2.3% as of January 1, 2013 and insurers may increase their administration fees by about 0.35%. As such, the various government measures will have only a minor impact on group insurance plans costs.

Adjustment to the health contribution

Starting January 1, 2013, the health contribution, which is currently $200 per adult, will vary from $0 to $1,000, depending on personal income. Very few employers reimburse the health contribution, but those that do will see their costs change depending on employees’ salaries. Note that the $200 contribution is maintained for individuals with an annual income between $42,000 and $130,000.

The health contribution will now also be subject to source deductions. Therefore, organizations will need to adjust accordingly.

For more information, visit the Quebec Government’s 2013-2014 provincial budget website.
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Effets du Budget du Québec sur les régimes d’assurance collective

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 15 N. 14, novembre 2012

Lors du dévoilement de son budget le 20 novembre dernier, le gouvernement du Québec a annoncé quelques mesures pouvant affecter les régimes d’assurance collective :

  • L’abolition de la « règle des 15 ans » pour les médicaments brevetés.
  • La hausse de la taxe compensatoire sur les primes d’assurance et la prolongation de son application.
  • La modulation de la contribution santé en fonction du revenu.

Abolition de la « règle des 15 ans » pour les médicaments brevetés

Actuellement au Québec, les médicaments inscrits à la liste des médicaments couverts par le régime public sont assujettis à la « règle des 15 ans », et ce, pour les assurés du régime public. Cette règle stipule qu'à partir du moment où un médicament breveté est inscrit sur la liste de la Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ), celui-ci est remboursé pendant 15 ans même si son prix est plus élevé que celui d’une version générique également inscrite sur cette liste. Lorsque cette période de 15 ans prend fin, la RAMQ rembourse le médicament, qu'il soit d'origine ou générique, selon le prix du médicament le moins cher.

Cette mesure, mise en place afin d’inciter les entreprises pharmaceutiques à œuvrer au Québec, devenait de plus en plus coûteuse avec l’utilisation accrue des médicaments, l’apparition de plusieurs médicaments génériques importants et la diminution du prix des médicaments génériques.

Le gouvernement a donc annoncé l’abolition de cette règle, permettant ainsi à la RAMQ de rembourser les médicaments au prix du médicament générique le moins cher lorsqu’il existe. Comme cette règle s’appliquait seulement aux assurés du régime public, cette décision n’aura pas d’effet majeur sur les régimes privés d’assurance médicaments.

Néanmoins, un impact à la hausse pourrait être observé pour les régimes privés couvrant des employés ou des retraités âgés de 65 ans et plus. En effet, comme les régimes privés offrent souvent une protection complémentaire au régime public pour ce type d’assurés (la RAMQ étant le premier payeur), le remboursement du régime privé pourrait être plus élevé puisque la RAMQ remboursera une portion moins élevée des médicaments d’origine pour lesquels un médicament générique existe. Afin d’amoindrir cet effet, une organisation pourrait ajouter une clause de substitution générique à son régime et ainsi rembourser les médicaments d’origine selon le prix du médicament générique.

Hausse de la taxe compensatoire sur les primes d’assurance et prolongation de son application

Depuis plusieurs années, le gouvernement du Québec impose aux institutions financières une taxe compensatoire sur les primes d’assurance dont le niveau s’établit actuellement à 0,55 %. Cette taxe compensatoire est composée d’un taux de base de 0,35 % et d’une contribution temporaire de 0,2 % initialement prévue pour la période du 1er avril 2010 au 31 mars 2014.

Le dernier budget annonce une augmentation de la taxe compensatoire temporaire de 0,2 % à 0,3 %. Il prolonge également la mesure temporaire jusqu’au 31 mars 2019, soit une prolongation de 5 ans par rapport à la période d’application initialement prévue.

Par ailleurs, même si cette mesure n’est pas en lien avec le présent budget, rappelons qu’à compter du 1er janvier prochain, le gouvernement du Québec éliminera la portion de base (0,35 %) de la taxe compensatoire. Cette mesure découle de l’harmonisation de la taxe de vente. Il est toutefois à noter que les assureurs pourraient vouloir augmenter leurs frais d’administration d’un pourcentage similaire à 0,35 % afin de pallier d’autres ajustements fiscaux liés à l’harmonisation de la taxe de vente, principalement ceux reliés au remboursement de la taxe sur les intrants (RTI).

Rappelons que la taxe compensatoire est généralement combinée à la taxe sur le capital (taux de 2 % qui n’est pas affecté par le budget). La taxe compensatoire et la taxe sur le capital sont payables par les compagnies d’assurance qui les incluent dans leurs frais d’administration et, par conséquent, dans les taux de primes. Ces taxes  passeront donc de 2,55 % à 2,3 % à compter du 1er janvier 2013 et les assureurs pourraient vouloir augmenter leurs frais d’administration d’environ 0,35 %. Les différentes mesures prises par le gouvernement auront donc un effet mineur sur les coûts des régimes d’assurance collective.

Nouvelle modulation de la contribution santé

À compter du 1er janvier prochain, la contribution santé, actuellement de 200 $ par adulte, variera de 0 $ à 1 000 $ en fonction du revenu des particuliers. Rares sont les organisations qui prévoyaient le remboursement de cette contribution santé, mais si tel est le cas, un effet sur le coût est à prévoir en fonction du salaire des employés. Notons que la contribution est maintenue à 200 $ pour les particuliers ayant un revenu annuel entre 42 000 $ et 130 000 $.

Aussi, cette contribution santé sera dorénavant assujettie à une retenue à la source. Les organisations devront donc ajuster leurs retenues à la source en conséquence.

Pour plus d’information, vous pouvez consulter le site du gouvernement du Québec sur le budget provincial 2013-2014.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6