Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Rates for Health Care Professionals in 2012

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 15 N. 12, September 2012

During the summer, Normandin Beaudry conducted its 15th annual survey of fees charged by health care professionals in Quebec. Since health care services provided by these specialists are generally covered by group insurance plans, we believe that the results of our survey will be of great interest to you. 

The average fees per visit could be useful in establishing the maximum amounts payable under your group insurance plan. Moreover, the average fee per visit increase compared to that of 2011 allows you to validate the inflation assumption used by your insurer in renewing your health premium rates. 

Methodology

We surveyed a sample of private clinics in the Montreal, Quebec City and Outaouais areas. Our results are presented on an average fee per visit basis rather than an hourly rate basis since group insurance plans usually establish their maximum reimbursements on a per visit basis. Also, note that a number of specialists charge additional fees for the initial assessment. These additional fees are not included in our survey results. 

We also consulted professional associations for each specialty. These associations recommend price levels but do not set mandatory fee schedules. Some of them compile data using their members’ fee schedules. Professional associations’ recommendations and private clinics statistics are presented in the table below.

Highlights

  • Overall, since the summer of 2011, we observed an average fee increase of approximately 4% in the Montreal area, 2% in the Quebec City area and 4% in the Outaouais area, which represent a $2 to $3 increase per visit.
  • Overall, since 2005 (the year we started surveying the three areas) we observed an average yearly fee increase of 3% in the Montreal area and 4% in the Quebec City and Outaouais areas.
  • The results show that average fees for acupuncturists, audiologists and speech therapists, chiropractors, occupational therapists and physiotherapists are higher in the Montreal area.
  • The average fees per visit charged by dieticians in the Quebec City area are higher than the fees charged in the Montreal and Outaouais areas. However, we observed that the average fees charged by other professionals in the Quebec city area are, in general, lower than in the other areas. This is particularly observed with regards to homeopaths and naturopaths.
  • Again this year, with regards to psychologists and naturopaths, we observed a significantly higher fee per visit in the Outaouais area than in the other areas surveyed.

 


(1) The results are not disclosed by professional associations.
(2) Half-hour visit rate for Montreal area and 45 minutes visit rate for other areas.
(3) The survey sample size is too small to be reliable.

For your information, the schedules of reasonable and customary fees used by insurers for claims adjudication in Quebec are generally slightly higher than the average fees per visit observed for most of surveyed specialists.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé en 2012

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 15 N. 12, septembre 2012

Au cours de l’été 2012, Normandin Beaudry a mené sa 15e enquête annuelle sur les tarifs exigés par les spécialistes de la santé au Québec. Ces coûts étant généralement couverts par les régimes d’assurance collective, les résultats de notre sondage sauront sûrement vous intéresser.

L’information sur les frais moyens par visite peut être utile dans l’établissement des plafonds de remboursement des soins paramédicaux de vos régimes d’assurance collective. Par exemple, l’augmentation moyenne des frais par visite comparativement à ceux de 2011 peut vous permettre de valider les hypothèses d’inflation utilisées par votre assureur pour le renouvellement de vos taux de prime d’assurance maladie. Les données qui suivent vous aideront à y voir plus clair.

Méthodologie

Nous avons mené notre enquête auprès d’un échantillon de cliniques privées des régions de Montréal, de Québec et de l’Outaouais. Nous présentons dans le prochain tableau les tarifs moyens par visite, plutôt que les tarifs horaires, afin de refléter les dispositions généralement applicables dans les régimes d’assurance collective. Fait à noter, plusieurs spécialistes exigent des frais supplémentaires pour l’ouverture du dossier et l’évaluation lors de la première visite. Ces coûts ne sont pas inclus dans les résultats de notre enquête.

Pour fins de comparaison, nous avons également consulté les associations professionnelles de chacune des spécialités. Ces associations suggèrent des tarifs à appliquer à leurs membres, sans toutefois les imposer. Certaines associations compilent aussi des statistiques à partir de la grille de tarifs de leurs membres. Le tableau présente également cette information.

Faits saillants

  • Comparativement aux tarifs en vigueur à l’été 2011, nous observons une augmentation moyenne des tarifs de 4 % à Montréal, de 2 % à Québec et de 4 % en Outaouais, ce qui représente une hausse moyenne de 2 $ à 3 $ par visite.
  • Depuis 2005, année depuis laquelle nous avons débuté la compilation des données des trois régions, nous observons une augmentation annuelle moyenne des tarifs de tous les spécialistes d’environ 3 % à Montréal et 4 % à Québec et en Outaouais.
  • Les résultats obtenus révèlent que le tarif des acupuncteurs, des audiologistes et orthophonistes, des chiropraticiens, des ergothérapeutes et des physiothérapeutes est plus élevé dans la région de Montréal que dans les autres régions.
  • Dans la région de Québec, le tarif par visite pour les diététistes est plus élevé que dans les autres régions. Toutefois, le tarif pour les autres spécialistes de la santé est en général moins élevé que dans les autres régions. Ceci est principalement observé chez les homéopathes et les naturopathes.
  • Comme observé en 2011, le tarif par visite pour les psychologues de la région de l’Outaouais est plus élevé que dans les autres régions, et de façon marquée. Il en est de même pour les naturopathes.

 


(1) Non divulgués par les associations professionnelles.
(2) Tarif pour une visite d’une demi-heure dans la région de Montréal et tarif pour une visite de 45 minutes dans les autres régions.
(3) Les résultats proviennent d’un échantillon trop petit pour être crédible.

Pour la majorité des spécialistes que nous avons sondés, les barèmes des frais raisonnables et d’ordre courant utilisés par les assureurs pour le traitement des demandes de remboursement au Québec sont généralement légèrement supérieurs aux frais moyens par visite.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6