Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Tax credit for medical expenses

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 14 N. 3, March 2011

Subject to certain eligibility criteria, a tax credit of between 4% and 20% of the incurred expenses can be granted to the taxpayer(1).

Eligible expenses

Below are a few examples of eligible medical expenses (maximums may apply). Please note that tax credits cannot be claimed for the portion of eligible expenses that is reimbursed through an insurance plan.

  • Deductible, co-insurance or other medical expenses not reimbursed by insurance plans
  • Payments made to a medical doctor, dentist, nurse or certain other medical professionals
  • Payments made to a public or licensed private hospital
  • Premiums paid by the taxpayer to a private health services plan for health and dental care insurance coverage. Furthermore, Quebec residents can include to their provincial income tax return, premiums paid by the employer (box J of the RL-1 slip or box B of the RL-22 slip)
  • Payments for eyeglasses, contact lenses or other devices prescribed by a physician or optometrist for the treatment or correction of a visual disorder
  • Amounts paid to purchase drugs prescribed by a physician or to obtain an artificial limb, a wheelchair, crutches or a hearing aid

For a complete list of eligible expenses, consult Interpretation Bulletin IT-519R2 "Medical Expense and Disability Tax Credits and Attendant Care Expense Deduction" issued by the Canada Revenue Agency. For residents of Quebec, consult the brochure "Medical Expenses (IN-130)" issued by the provincial government. These documents are available on the websites listed at the end of this bulletin.

Expenses incurred for purely cosmetic procedures

On March 4, 2010, the federal Minister of Finance announced that expenses for purely cosmetic procedures are no longer eligible for the medical expense tax credit. Expenses related to liposuction or teeth whitening, for example, are no longer eligible. However, expenses incurred before March 5 but paid on a later date and expenses for cosmetic procedures required for medical or reconstructive purposes will continue to qualify for the tax credit.

Eligibility criteria

Taxpayers can claim tax credits for eligible medical expenses for themselves and their dependents, i.e. individuals that they supported and that lived with them or were dependent on them because of an infirmity. A dependent can be the child, parent, or spouse of the taxpayer, or almost any other individual related to the taxpayer.

To qualify as eligible expenses, the medical expenses must have been paid during a period of 12 consecutive months ending in 2009. Therefore medical expenses paid in 2008 can qualify as long as the time between the payment date of the first expenses claimed and the payment date of the last expenses claimed does not exceed 12 months. Any expenses submitted for a tax credit must not have been used in calculating the 2008 tax return and must have been paid on or before December 31, 2009.

To qualify for a tax credit, the total eligible medical expenses must typically exceed the lesser of the following amounts:

(A) 3% of the taxpayer's net income for the tax year
or
(B) An amount that varies according to the government
authority and province of residence

It is important to note that credits in excess of the amount of income tax to be paid are not reimbursed (Non-refundable credits).

Please note that a maximum credit, which also varies according to the government authority and province of residence, normally applies for each dependent.

We invite you to read the next section to learn about aspects specific to each province, especially in regards to the Quebec tax return.

Aspects specific to the province

As mentioned above, some aspects pertaining to eligible expenses and the tax credit calculation are specific to the taxpayer's province of residence. Thus, it is important to always consult the appropriate income tax guide.

For example, the threshold to qualify for a tax credit in 2009 (see B in the previous section) is $2,011 federally and varies between $1,637 and $2,168 provincially. The maximum credit granted for each dependent is $10,000 federally and varies between $5,000 and $11,473 provincially.

Tax credit calculation in Quebec

Unlike elsewhere in Canada, a single tax credit calculation applies to the taxpayer and all eligible dependents in Quebec.

There is no maximum credit for each dependent and, to qualify for a tax credit, the total eligible medical expenses must exceed 3% of the family income. Thus, in Quebec, there is no tax benefit in claiming all of the medical expenses on the tax return of the spouse with the lower income.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Crédit d'impôt pour frais médicaux

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 14 N. 3, mars 2011

Sous réserve de certains critères d'admissibilité, un contribuable peut se voir accorder un crédit d'impôt variant de 4 % à 20 % des dépenses engagées pour des frais médicaux(1)

Frais admissibles 

Voici quelques exemples de frais médicaux admissibles (des maximums peuvent s'appliquer). Notez que la portion des frais médicaux qui est remboursée par un régime d'assurance n'est pas admissible. 

  • La franchise, la coassurance ou d'autres frais médicaux non remboursés par un régime d'assurance 
  • Les paiements versés à un médecin, à un dentiste, à une infirmière ou à certains autres professionnels de la santé 
  • Les paiements versés à un hôpital public ou à un hôpital privé agréé 
  • Les primes versées par le contribuable à un régime privé d'assurance maladie pour les protections d'assurance santé et d'assurance soins dentaires. De plus, les résidents du Québec peuvent inclure à leur déclaration provinciale les primes payées par leur employeur (case J du relevé 1 ou case B du relevé 22) 
  • Le paiement de lunettes, de lentilles cornéennes ou d'autres appareils de traitement ou de correction des troubles visuels prescrits par un médecin ou un optométriste 
  • Les frais payés pour obtenir des médicaments qui nécessitent une prescription ou pour obtenir un membre artificiel, un fauteuil roulant, des béquilles ou une prothèse auditive

Pour une liste exhaustive des frais admissibles, consultez le bulletin d'interprétation IT-519R2 « Crédit d'impôt pour frais médicaux et pour personnes handicapées et déduction pour frais de préposé aux soins » de l'Agence du revenu du Canada. Pour les résidents du Québec, consultez la brochure IN-130 « Les frais médicaux » publiée par le gouvernement provincial. Ces documents sont disponibles sur les sites Internet mentionnés à la fin de ce bulletin. 

Frais engagés à des fins purement esthétiques 

Le 4 mars 2010, le ministre fédéral des Finances a annoncé que les frais purement esthétiques ne sont dorénavant plus admissibles au crédit d'impôt pour frais médicaux. À titre d'exemple, les frais liés à une liposuccion ou au blanchiment des dents ne sont plus admissibles. Toutefois, les frais engagés avant le 5 mars et payés plus tard, ainsi que les soins esthétiques s'avérant nécessaires à des fins médicales ou restauratrices continueront à donner droit au crédit d'impôt pour frais médicaux. 

Critères d'admissibilité 

Le contribuable peut inclure ses dépenses ainsi que celles de ses personnes à charge (c'est-à-dire les personnes pour lesquelles il a subvenu aux besoins et qui habitaient avec lui ou qui ont été à sa charge en raison d'une infirmité), il peut s'agir des enfants, des parents, du conjoint ou de la plupart des personnes ayant un lien de parenté avec le contribuable. 

Pour être considérés admissibles, les frais médicaux doivent avoir été payés au cours d'une période de 12 mois consécutifs se terminant en 2010. Ainsi, il est possible de considérer des frais médicaux payés en 2009, à condition que la période séparant la date de paiement des premiers frais soumis et la date de paiement des derniers frais soumis n'excède pas 12 mois. Tous les frais faisant l'objet d'une demande de crédit ne doivent pas avoir été considérés aux fins de la déclaration de revenus 2009 et doivent avoir une date de paiement antérieure ou égale au 31 décembre 2010. 

Pour donner droit à un crédit d'impôt, le total des frais médicaux admissibles doit généralement dépasser le plus petit des montants suivants : 

(A) 3 % du revenu du contribuable pour l'année d'imposition 
ou 
(B) Un montant variant selon l'instance gouvernementale et la 
province de résidence 

Il est à noter que les crédits pour frais médicaux qui excèdent l'impôt à payer du contribuable ne lui sont pas versés (crédits non remboursables). 

Veuillez noter qu'un crédit maximal, variant également selon l'instance gouvernementale et la province de résidence, s'applique généralement pour chacune des personnes à charge. 

Nous vous invitons à consulter la section suivante pour connaître les particularités propres à chacune des provinces, dont celles spécifiques au Québec. 

Particularités par province 

Tel que mentionné aux sections précédentes, quelques particularités existent quant aux frais admissibles et au calcul du crédit d'impôt selon la province de résidence du contribuable. Il est donc important de toujours se référer au guide de déclaration de revenus propre à sa situation. 

Par exemple, le seuil donnant droit au crédit d'impôt en 2010 (voir (B) section précédente) est de 2 024 $ au fédéral et varie entre 1 637 $ et 2 174 $ au provincial. Le crédit maximal accordé pour chacune des personnes à charge est de 10 000 $ au fédéral alors qu'il varie entre 5 000 $ et 11 507 $ au provincial. 


Calcul du crédit d'impôt au Québec 

Contrairement au reste du Canada, le calcul du crédit d'impôt québécois se fait de façon globale pour le contribuable et l'ensemble des personnes à charge admissibles. 

Ainsi, il n'y a aucun crédit maximal par personne à charge et le total des frais médicaux admissibles doit toujours dépasser 3 % du revenu familial pour donner droit à un crédit d'impôt. Ainsi, au Québec, aucun avantage fiscal ne découle de l'attribution des frais médicaux au conjoint ayant le revenu le moins élevé. 

 

(1) Lignes 330 et 331 de la déclaration fédérale, 
381 de la déclaration provinciale au Québec, 
5868 et 5872 des autres déclarations provinciales.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6