Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: what Quebec-based companies do

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol 14. N. 11, November 2011

Several private sector companies will soon be finalizing their budgets for the upcoming fiscal year and preparing their financial statements for the current fiscal year. These must include the recognition of the costs for defined benefit pension plans (DB plans) and for group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-retirement benefits).

The assumptions required to determine the accrued benefit obligation and the annual expense must be established by the company’s management. To help companies select these assumptions, we have analyzed the annual reports of Quebec-based companies listed on the S&P/TSX Index whose fiscal year ended between September 30, 2010 and March 31, 2011. All of these companies sponsored at least one DB plan and the majority of them offered at least one group insurance plan for their retired employees

Our analysis is divided into three sections. The first section presents the assumptions used by the companies included in our analysis in percentile format. The tables present a comparison of the assumptions used for fiscal years ending in 2010 (between September 30, 2010 and March 31, 2011) and in 2009 (between September 30, 2009 and March 31, 2010). The second section summarizes the findings from these tables and from our data analysis. The third and final section presents our comments with respect to some measures that could potentially impact future results.

Please note that this is the seventh year that we have conducted this analysis. We therefore invite you to consult the “Publications” section of our website (www.normandin-beaudry.ca) to review the results, findings and comments for previous years. However, given that the composition of the S&P/TSX Index varies regularly based on predefined criteria, the group of companies analyzed this year may differ from that analyzed in prior years.

1. Selection of assumptions

  • The tables present, in percentile format, the key economic assumptions used by companies for DB plans and other post-retirement benefits. The assumptions are those that were in effect at the end of the fiscal year that has ended. However, the assumption used for the expected long-term rate of return on assets is the one that was in effect during the fiscal year that has ended.

2. Findings

  • For DB plans, the median annual discount rate used at the end of 2010 was 0.70% lower than the rate used at the end of 2009 (5.50% versus 6.20%). This decrease is the result of the continuity in the narrowing of long-term yield spreads between federal and corporate bonds. We can note that discount rates have returned to the level they were at before the credit crisis of 2008. The median rate used at the end of 2007 was 5.50%, the same rate used at the end of 2010.
  • The median annual expected long-term rate of return on DB plan assets for 2010 was identical to the rate for 2009, at 7.00%. Since the start of the 2000s, companies have gradually lowered their long-term return expectations; however, a more stable trend has been observed in the last three years.
  • Several of the companies analyzed sponsor DB plans and other post-retirement benefits that offer benefits based on salary at retirement. These companies must therefore establish an assumption related to the compensation growth rate. At the end of 2010, the median annual compensation growth rate was 3.50%, a rate identical to the median rate used since 2004. Outlooks for the compensation growth rate for accounting recognition purposes have therefore not changed in the last seven years.
  • For companies sponsoring both DB plans and other post-retirement benefits, the median discount rates used for all of the plans were similar. At the end of 2010, more than half of the companies analyzed were using a discount rate for other post-retirement benefits identical to that used for DB plans.
  • The trend rate for health care costs is the most important assumption for other post-retirement benefits. The initial rate, which is higher than the final rate, can vary significantly from company to company. The median final trend rate had been 5.00% since 2004. However, at the end of 2009 and 2010, the median final trend rate dropped 0.50% to 4.50%. This decline could be explained by the lower increases in prescription drug insurance costs than in the past, a coverage accounting for a large portion of other post-retirement benefits. We also observed stabilization in the upward trend in the decreasing rate period.


3. Comments

Determining the discount rate

  • Even though discount rates must be selected by the company’s management, management typically asks its actuary or actuaries for advice on the rates to use. Accounting standards and their related guides do not define in detail the meaning of certain terms used or the methodology that must be applied in determining the discount rate. Each actuarial firm had thus developed its own methodology. The recent large variations in discount rates, in line with the market data used to establish them, had accentuated the problem associated with determining discount rates.
  • To help the discount rates determination process, the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) assembled a task force mandated to provide guidance on the approach to use to determine discount rates in accordance with accounting standards. The results of the work completed by this task force were recently disclosed in the form of an educational note and a rate curve published monthly in partnership with Natcan Investment Management Inc. You can access the educational note and information on the curve published monthly using the links below:
  • Although the educational note is not the only recognized practice, we can expect most companies to use the published rate curve going forward, unless their situation justifies a different practice.

Amendments to accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits

  • In a recent there, in black and white bulletin, we informed you of the amendments to the international accounting standards (IAS 19) applicable for fiscal years beginning on or after January 1, 2013. The goal of the amendments to IAS 19 is to enhance the recognition, presentation and disclosure of costs associated with employee future benefits.
  • Amendments may also be made to the Canadian standards applicable to private enterprises and not-for-profit organizations in the private sector, for fiscal years beginning on or after January 1, 2014. The Canadian Accounting Standards Board is examining the possibility of eliminating the deferral of amortization approach to immediately recognize all gains and losses, as well as the possibility of eliminating the early measurement provision.
  • We invite you to consult the bulletin entitled Amendments to accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits for more information.
 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : que font les entreprises québécoises?

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol 14 N. 11, novembre 2011

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront bientôt leurs budgets pour la prochaine année fiscale et prépareront leurs états financiers pour l’année fiscale en cours. Ceux-ci doivent inclure la reconnaissance des coûts constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« régimes PD ») et pour les régimes d’assurance collective offerts aux retraités (« autres avantages après la retraite »). 

Les hypothèses requises pour déterminer l’obligation au titre des prestations constituées et le coût constaté doivent être établies par la direction de l’entreprise. Afin de vous aider à sélectionner ces hypothèses, nous avons analysé les rapports annuels des entreprises québécoises faisant partie de l’indice S&P/TSX et dont l’exercice financier se terminait entre le 30 septembre 2010 et le 31 mars 2011. Toutes ces entreprises parrainaient au moins un régime PD et la majorité d’entre elles offraient au moins un régime d’assurance collective à leurs retraités.

Notre analyse est divisée en trois parties. La première partie présente, en rang centile, les hypothèses utilisées par les entreprises incluses dans notre analyse. Les tableaux permettent de comparer les hypothèses utilisées pour les exercices se terminant à la fin de 2010 (entre le 30 septembre 2010 et le 31 mars 2011) et à la fin de 2009 (entre le 30 septembre 2009 et le 31 mars 2010). La deuxième partie résume les constats tirés de ces tableaux et de notre analyse des données. Finalement, la troisième partie de notre analyse présente nos commentaires sur certaines mesures qui pourraient affecter les résultats futurs.

Veuillez noter que cette analyse est effectuée pour une septième année. Nous vous invitons donc à consulter la section « Publications » de notre site internet (www.normandin-beaudry.ca) pour connaître les résultats, les constats et les commentaires des communiqués précédents. Cependant, comme la composition de l’indice S&P/TSX varie régulièrement selon des critères préétablis, le groupe d’entreprises de l’analyse de cette année pourrait être différent de celui des années précédentes.

1. La sélection des hypothèses 

  • Les tableaux présentent, en rang centile, les hypothèses économiques les plus importantes utilisées par les entreprises analysées pour leurs régimes PD et les autres avantages après la retraite. Les hypothèses sont celles qui étaient en vigueur à la fin de l’exercice financier s’étant terminé. Toutefois, pour le taux de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs, l’hypothèse est celle qui était en vigueur au cours de l’exercice financier s’étant terminé.

2. Les constats

  • Pour les régimes PD, le taux annuel d’actualisation médian utilisé à la fin de 2010 était inférieur de 0,70 % à celui utilisé à la fin de 2009, soit 5,50 % au lieu de 6,20 %. Cette baisse du niveau des taux d’actualisation est le résultat de la continuité de la réduction des écarts de taux à long terme entre les obligations fédérales et les obligations corporatives. On peut constater que les taux d’actualisation sont retournés au niveau où ils étaient avant la crise financière de l’année 2008. En effet, le taux médian utilisé à la fin de 2007 était de 5,50 %, soit le même que celui à la fin de 2010.
  • Le taux annuel médian de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs des régimes PD était le même au cours de l’année 2010 qu’au cours de l’année 2009, soit 7,00 %. Depuis le début des années 2000, les entreprises ont réajusté graduellement à la baisse leurs attentes de rendements à long terme. Toutefois, on note une tendance plus stable au cours des trois dernières années.
  • Plusieurs entreprises parmi celles analysées parrainent des régimes PD et d’autres avantages après la retraite offrant des prestations basées sur le salaire à la retraite. Ces entreprises doivent donc établir une hypothèse de taux de croissance de la rémunération. Le taux annuel médian de croissance de la rémunération était de 3,50 % à la fin de 2010, soit le même taux depuis 2004. Les perspectives concernant le taux de croissance de la rémunération aux fins de la reconnaissance comptable n’ont donc pas changé au cours des sept dernières années.
  • Pour les entreprises qui parrainent à la fois des régimes PD et d’autres avantages après la retraite, les taux d’actualisation médians utilisés pour l’ensemble des régimes étaient similaires. Plus de la moitié des entreprises analysées utilisaient, à la fin de 2010, un taux d’actualisation pour les autres avantages après la retraite identique à celui divulgué pour les régimes PD.
  • Le taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé est l’hypothèse la plus importante pour les autres avantages après la retraite. Le taux initial, plus élevé que le taux ultime, peut varier de façon importante d’une entreprise à l’autre. Pendant plusieurs années à compter de 2004, le taux ultime médian était le même, soit 5,00 %. Toutefois, depuis la fin de 2009, on a noté une baisse de 0,50 %, le taux ultime médian étant de 4,50 % à la fin de 2009 et 2010. Cette baisse pourrait s’expliquer par l’observation d’augmentations moins élevées qu’auparavant en assurance médicaments, la protection représentant une large portion des coûts des autres avantages après la retraite. Nous notons également que la tendance à la hausse pour la période à taux décroissants s’est stabilisée.

 

3. Les commentaires

La détermination du taux d’actualisation

  • Bien que les taux d’actualisation doivent être sélectionnés par la direction de l’entreprise, celle-ci demande généralement à son ou ses actuaires de la conseiller sur les taux à utiliser. De plus, les normes comptables et leur guide d’application ne définissent pas en détails la signification de certains termes qu’elles utilisent ni la méthodologie qui doit s’appliquer pour la détermination du taux d’actualisation. Par conséquent, chaque cabinet d’actuaires avait développé sa propre méthodologie. Les variations importantes des taux d’actualisation observées récemment, en lien avec les données de marché utilisées pour les déterminer, avaient accentué la problématique reliée à leur détermination.
  • Afin de faciliter la détermination des taux, l’Institut canadien des actuaires (« ICA ») a constitué un groupe de travail chargé d’émettre des conseils quant à l’approche à utiliser pour déterminer les taux d’actualisation conformément aux normes comptables. Le fruit des réflexions de ce groupe de travail a récemment été diffusé sous forme d’une note éducative et d’une courbe de taux publiée mensuellement en collaboration avec Gestion de portefeuille Natcan Inc. Vous pouvez consulter la note éducative ainsi que l’information concernant la courbe publiée mensuellement en utilisant les liens suivants :
  • Bien que la note éducative ne représente pas la seule pratique reconnue, on peut s’attendre à ce que la plupart des entreprises utilisent dorénavant la courbe de taux publiée, à moins que leur situation justifie une autre pratique.

Modifications aux normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs

  • Récemment, par voie du bulletin noir sur blanc, nous vous avons fait part des modifications aux normes comptables internationales (IAS 19) pour les exercices ouverts à compter du 1er janvier 2013. L’objectif des modifications à IAS 19 est d’améliorer la reconnaissance, la présentation et les divulgations des coûts reliés aux avantages sociaux futurs.
  • De plus, il est à noter que des modifications sont aussi envisagées aux normes canadiennes pour les organisations à capital fermé et aux organismes à but non lucratif du secteur privé pour les exercices ouverts à compter du 1er janvier 2014. Le conseil des normes comptables étudie la possibilité d’éliminer la méthode du report et de l’amortissement afin de reconnaître immédiatement tous gains et pertes ainsi que la possibilité de ne plus permettre la mesure hâtive.
  • Nous vous invitons à vous référer au bulletin intitulé Modifications aux normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs pour plus d’information.
 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6