Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Potential cost savings with the arrival of generic drugs

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 5, June 2010

Generic versions of many popular drugs will be hitting pharmacy shelves by 2013. The generic version of Lipitor (cholesterol pill), the best-selling drug in the world, was recently launched on the Canadian market. Apotex, a generic drug manufacturer, is the first to make the generic version available (Apo-Atorvastatin). Other generic drug manufacturers should follow suit. In fact, even Lipitor's manufacturer, Pfizer, announced that it will produce a generic equivalent of its best-selling drug.

Individuals covered under the public plan

In Quebec, drugs included on the public plan's formulary are subject to the 15-year rule. This rule stipulates that once a patented drug is listed on the public plan's formulary, it will be reimbursed for 15 years even if a less expensive generic version is included on the formulary. At the end of the 15-year period (for example July 2012 for Lipitor), the RAMQ will reimburse the drug, whether it is a brand-name version or a generic version, based on the cost of the least expensive drug.

Individuals covered under private plans

The arrival of new generic drugs could quickly have a positive impact on private plan costs.

First, it is important to know that in Canada, the price of generic drugs varies greatly from province to province. For example:

  • In Quebec, the cost of generic drugs for private plans is currently around half of that for brand-name drugs.
  • In Alberta, generic drugs have cost around half the price of brand-name drugs since April 2010, as compared to 75% prior to this date.
  • In Ontario, the cost of generic drugs is set at around 65% of the cost of that for brand-name drugs. An Ontario government reform will take effect on July 1, 2010 to set the price of generic drugs at 50% of the price of brand- name drugs. This percentage will be reduced to 25% in 2012.

Other provinces could follow Ontario's lead in the next few years.

Close to 12 %(1) of drug expenses in Canada are currently associated with brand-name drugs whose generic versions will hit the market in 2010. Lipitor itself accounts for 6 %(1) of total drug expenses. In Quebec, the arrival of generic versions of these drugs could reduce private medical insurance plan costs by around 2%. Potential savings for your plan will be influenced by several factors: the proportion of claims paid for brand-name drugs whose generic will become available, the generic drug reimbursement percentage, the geographic distribution of employees and the use of generics by employees.

Because drug expenses represent a significant portion of your group benefits plan costs, you could optimize cost savings for your plan by informing employees about the use of generic drugs. You could encourage them to ask their pharmacist for generics, and use this opportunity to make employees more aware of the fact that their consumption habits can generate savings for their group benefits plan. Given that employees often pay a portion of plan premiums or, in the case of Quebec employees, pay income tax on the premiums paid by their employer, everyone saves in the end.

 

(1) Source : ESI Canada

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Des économies de coûts potentielles grâce à l'arrivée de médicaments génériques

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 5, juin 2010

D'ici 2013, plusieurs médicaments populaires verront leur version générique arriver sur les tablettes des pharmacies. Le médicament Lipitor (anti-cholestérolémie), le médicament le plus populaire au monde, a tout récemment vu sa version générique être mise en marché au Canada. C'est Apotex, un fabricant de médicaments génériques, qui est le premier à le rendre disponible (Apo-Atorvastatin). D'autres fabricants de médicaments devraient également suivre cette voie. Même Pfizer, le fabricant de l'original, produira le générique de son médicament vedette.

Assurés du régime public

Au Québec, les médicaments inscrits à la liste des médicaments couverts par le régime public sont assujettis à la « règle des 15 ans ». Cette règle stipule qu'à partir du moment où un médicament breveté est inscrit sur la liste des médicaments remboursés par la RAMQ, celui-ci sera remboursé pendant 15 ans, et ce, même si une version générique à prix moindre est inscrite sur cette liste. Lorsque cette période de 15 ans prend fin (par exemple à compter de juillet 2012 dans le cas du Lipitor), la RAMQ rembourse le médicament, peu importe qu'il soit d'origine ou générique, en fonction du médicament dont le coût est le moins cher.

Assurés des régimes privés

L'arrivée sur le marché de nouveaux médicaments génériques pourrait rapidement avoir un effet bénéfique sur les coûts des régimes privés.

Il importe tout d'abord de savoir qu'au Canada, le prix des médicaments génériques varie grandement d'une province à l'autre. Par exemple :

  • Au Québec, le coût d'un médicament générique pour les régimes privés correspond actuellement à environ 50 % du prix du médicament d'origine.
  • Depuis avril 2010, l'Alberta a fixé le coût d'un médicament générique à environ 50 % du prix du médicament d'origine, comparativement à 75 % auparavant.
  • En Ontario, le coût d'une version générique est d'environ 65 % du coût du médicament original. Une réforme du gouvernement ontarien prendra cependant effet le 1er juillet 2010 et fixera le prix des médicaments génériques à 50 % du prix du médicament d'origine. Cette proportion sera diminuée à 25 % en 2012.

D'autres provinces pourraient également suivre la voie empruntée par l'Ontario dans les prochaines années.

Actuellement, près de 12 %(1) des dépenses de médicaments au Canada touchent des médicaments dont le générique sera mis sur le marché en 2010. Parmi ceux-ci, le Lipitor occupe une large place, avec 6 %(1) des dépenses totales. Dans un tel contexte, l'arrivée des versions génériques de ces médicaments pourrait signifier, au Québec, une baisse d'environ 2 % du coût des régimes d'assurance maladie privés. Les économies potentielles pour votre régime dépendront évidemment de plusieurs facteurs : le pourcentage d'utilisation des médicaments touchés par l'arrivée de versions génériques, le pourcentage de remboursement des génériques, la répartition géographique des employés et les habitudes d'utilisation des génériques.

Puisque les dépenses de médicaments représentent une importante portion des coûts de votre régime d'assurance collective, il pourrait être avisé de sensibiliser vos employés à l'utilisation des génériques afin d'optimiser les économies de coûts de votre régime. Une communication aux employés les encourageant à demander le générique au pharmacien est une occasion de plus de les sensibiliser au fait que leurs habitudes de consommation peuvent engendrer des économies de coûts pour leur régime d'assurance collective. Puisque les employés paient souvent une partie des primes de leur régime ou, dans le cas des employés au Québec, des impôts sur les primes payées par leur employeur, au final, tous économiseront!

(1) Source : ESI Canada

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6