Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Draft Regulation respecting the funding of pension plans of the municipal and university sectors

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 13 N. 1, January 2010

Municipal edition

New permanent financing rules came into effect in Quebec on January 1, 2010, for all pension plans ("Bill 30"). However, for municipal and university sector pension plans, a highly anticipated Draft Regulation was recently published in order to detail the application of Bill 30 as well as certain rules specific to these sectors.

From the outset, we note that the Draft Regulation carries forward the provisions in the Agreement on a new fiscal and financial partnership with the municipalities the ("Fiscal partnership") that, namely, excludes municipalities as well as universities from the obligation to fund any solvency deficiency since January 1, 2007, and forbids the use of smoothed value methods to assess the plan's assets.

Permanent financing rules

The financing process was extensively reviewed for the municipal and university pension plans. The funding valuation will continue to guide these plans' financing. However, it has undergone significant changes including the creation of a reserve within plan assets. This new financing process can be illustrated as follows:

The new going concern funding process is summarized as follows:

  • For funding purposes, plan assets would be valued at fair market value and separated between:
    • A reserve that would be constituted from amounts equivalent to actuarial gains up to a certain limit, namely an amount equal to the provision for adverse deviation ("PAD") and would accrue at the rate of return of the pension fund. The reserve would be used to finance up to 50% of the amortization payment related to a technical deficiency (i.e. a deficiency that is not related to a plan improvement). Accordingly, an amount equal to the released amortization payment would then be transferred from the reserve to the general accoun
    • A general account that would correspond to the plan's assets, less the reserve.
  • The funding deficiency would correspond to the excess of the funding liability over the value of the general account. When a funding deficiency would exist, amortization payments would be required to the pension fund. Subject to the transitional provisions, any technical deficiency would be consolidated at each actuarial valuation made as from 2012 (i. e. the unamortized portions of existing deficiencies are combined with the new deficiency) and this consolidated deficiency would be re-amortized over a 15-year period. Moreover, the plan improvement deficiency would be amortized over a maximum of five years (introduced by the Fiscal partnership).
  • Under the current rules, actuarial gains must be used to reduce amortization payments. According to the Draft Regulation, actuarial gains would first be used to constitute the reserve. When the reserve would be fully constituted up to the PAD, the actuarial gains would reduce any existing amortization payments by first eliminating the latest scheduled payments.
  • Just like plans in the private sector, a PAD would be calculated and would depend on the risks inherent in the investment policy. However, for the municipal and university sectors, the PAD would serve as a limit for the reserve as well as a constraint in using an ongoing plan surplus to improve the plan or to grant an employer contribution holiday.
  • A solvency valuation would still be required but a solvency deficiency would not be financed, as opposed to the private sector.
  • A complete actuarial valuation would still be required every three years. However, a partial valuation would be required annually to confirm an employer contribution holiday (introduced by the Fiscal partnership). Changes were also made to the date at which a partial valuation related to a plan improvement would be required.


OBSERVATIONS
 

  • Through the reserve mechanism and the PAD, the proposed measures would increase plans' financial security by delaying the use of surplus for plan improvements or contribution holidays.
  • The reserve and the consolidation of deficiencies at each valuation date would stabilize the required amortization payments. However, the amount of these amortization payments would depend on realized actuarial gains.
  • Actuarial deficiencies would occur earlier than they would under current rules since the financial position of the plan would be established without the portion of assets dedicated to the reserve.
  • Plans with negotiated agreements on the allocation of ongoing plan surpluses must analyze the effects of the Draft regulation on these agreements. Discussions may be required.
  • For plans having issued redeemable bonds (issued pursuant to the adoption of Bill 54), the government's intention is that any actuarial gains revealed in an actuarial valuation would be allocated as follows: 25% allocated to the bonds' capital redemption and 75% allocated to the reserve or the reduction of amortization payments.
  • The PAD level would be tightly dependent on how plan assets are invested in relation to its liabilities. Thus, for plans with an investment policy that is not matched with the plan's characteristics, the PAD level would be higher and vice-versa. Considering the PAD's interactions with financing issues will require specific training for plan committee members.
  • The significant challenges that face all pension plan stakeholders reinforce the need for plan committees to closely supervise their plan's financial position. Complementary analyses to triennial actuarial valuations, including more frequent financial forecasts, may be necessary.


Short-term relief measure

The municipal and university sectors will also benefit from a relief measure following the impacts of 2008's financial crisis, similar to the private sector.

The only relief measure proposed would be a reduction in the amortization payments normally required for years 2009 to 2011 by 66 2/3% for the municipal sector and by 80% for the university sector. This reduction would be intended solely for amortization payments related to any new technical deficiency determined by a complete actuarial valuation made between December 30, 2008 and December 31, 2011. The employer would be required to provide written instructions to the plan committee of its intention or not to apply the relief measure.


OBSERVATIONS

 

  • To take advantage of the relief measure in 2009, an actuarial valuation would have to be prepared on December 31, 2008.
  • Since the relief measure would only be applicable to new deficiencies, an employer would need to accept an increased contribution to benefit from the measure. In this context, it is not necessarily advantageous for all plans to anticipate the valuation date for the sole purpose of taking advantage of the relief measure sooner.


Transitional provisions

The following provisions are proposed to allow for transition from the current applicable rules to the new rules proposed by the Draft Regulation:

  • Deferral of the consolidation of deficiencies to the first actuarial valuation after December 30, 2011.
  • Specific restrictions and rules for the consolidation of certain deficiencies created before December 31, 2008 for municipal sector plans only.
  • Redeemable bonds issued by certain municipalities and invested in the pension fund before December 31, 2009 could be replaced at maturity by similar bonds. Thus, maturity of these bonds would be extended 10 more years.
  • The deadline to file an actuarial valuation to the Régie des rentes du Québec between December 30, 2008 and September 29, 2009 would be extended to April 30, 2010. The government may, however, decide to further extend this deadline.
 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Projet de Règlement concernant le financement des régimes de retraite des secteurs municipal et universitaire

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 13 N. 1, janvier 2010

Édition municipale

De nouvelles règles permanentes de financement s'appliquent au Québec depuis le 1er janvier 2010 pour l'ensemble des régimes de retraite (la « Loi 30 »). Par contre, pour les régimes de retraite des secteurs municipal et universitaire, un Projet de règlement fort attendu vient d'être publié afin de préciser l'application de la Loi 30 ainsi que certaines règles spécifiques à ces secteurs. 

D'entrée de jeu, mentionnons que le Projet de règlement reconduit les dispositions de l'Entente sur un nouveau partenariat fiscal et financier avec les municipalités (le « Partenariat fiscal ») qui, notamment, soustrayait celles-ci ainsi que les universités à financer tout déficit de solvabilité depuis le 1er janvier 2007 et éliminait l'utilisation d'une valeur lissée pour évaluer l'actif du régime. 


Mesures permanentes de financement 

Le processus de financement des régimes de retraite des secteurs municipal et universitaire a été révisé en profondeur. L'évaluation sur base de capitalisation continuerait à guider le financement de ces régimes. Cependant, elle a fait l'objet d'importantes modifications dont l'ajout d'une réserve à même l'actif du régime. Ce nouveau processus sur base de capitalisation peut être représenté de la façon suivante :
 

 

Le nouveau processus de financement se résume comme suit : 

  • L'actif du régime, aux fins de l'évaluation de capitalisation, devrait être évalué à sa juste valeur marchande et serait séparé entre :
    • Une réserve qui serait constituée avec les gains actuariels générés par le régime, et s'accumulerait au taux de rendement de la caisse de retraite, et ce, jusqu'à une certaine limite, soit un montant égal à la provision pour écarts défavorables (la « PED »). La réserve servirait à financer jusqu'à 50 % de la cotisation d'équilibre d'un déficit technique (soit tout déficit qui n'est pas lié à une modification du régime). Le cas échéant, un montant équivalent à la cotisation d'équilibre ainsi libérée serait transféré de la réserve au compte général.
    • Un compte général qui correspondrait à l'actif du régime diminué de la réserve.
  • Le déficit de capitalisation correspondrait au passif de capitalisation en excédent de la valeur du compte général. Lorsqu'un régime de retraite présenterait un déficit de capitalisation, des cotisations d'équilibre devraient être versées à la caisse de retraite. Sous réserve des mesures transitoires, les déficits techniques créés à compter de 2012 seraient consolidés à chaque évaluation actuarielle (i.e. que les soldes non amortis des déficits existants seraient combinés avec le nouveau déficit) et ce déficit consolidé serait amorti à nouveau sur une période de 15 ans. Par ailleurs, les déficits de modification, quant à eux, devraient être amortis sur une période maximale de 5 ans (mesure introduite dans le Partenariat fiscal).
  • Auparavant, tout gain actuariel servait à réduire les cotisations d'équilibre. Avec le Projet de règlement, les gains actuariels serviraient en premier lieu à la constitution de la réserve. Lorsque la réserve serait pleinement constituée au niveau de la PED, les gains actuariels résiduels pourraient servir à réduire les cotisations d'équilibre existantes et ce, en éliminant dans un premier temps, les derniers paiements prévus au régime.
  • Comme pour les régimes du secteur privé, une PED devrait être calculée; elle serait établie en fonction notamment des risques liés à la politique de placement. La PED servirait de limite à la réserve ainsi que de contraintes à l'utilisation de surplus pour améliorer le régime ou pour octroyer un congé de cotisation patronale.
  • Une évaluation de solvabilité serait toujours requise mais les déficits de solvabilité, contrairement au secteur privé, n'auraient pas à être financés.
  • Une évaluation actuarielle complète serait toujours requise sur une base triennale. Par contre, une évaluation partielle serait requise annuellement pour justifier un congé de cotisation patronale (mesure introduite dans le Partenariat fiscal). Des modifications ont également été apportées à la détermination de la date d'une évaluation partielle lors de modifications au régime.

Constats

  • Par le mécanisme de la réserve et de la PED, les mesures proposées augmenteraient la sécurité des régimes en retardant l'utilisation des surplus à des fins d'améliorations ou de congés de cotisation.
  • L'ajout de la réserve et la consolidation des déficits à chaque évaluation stabiliseraient les cotisations d'équilibre requises. Toutefois, le niveau de ces cotisations d'équilibre dépendrait des gains actuariels réellement générés.
  • Puisque la situation financière du régime serait établie en faisant abstraction d'une portion de l'actif dédiée à la réserve, les déficits actuariels seraient constatés plus tôt qu'ils ne le seraient en vertu des règles actuelles.
  • Les régimes ayant des ententes négociées sur l'allocation des surplus en cours d'existence devront analyser les effets des nouvelles règles proposées sur ces ententes. Des discussions sur l'intégration de ces règles pourraient être requises.
  • Pour les régimes ayant émis des obligations rachetables (émises en vertu de l'adoption du Projet de loi 54), l'intention du gouvernement est que les gains actuariels révélés dans une évaluation actuarielle seraient alloués à 25 % pour le rachat de ces obligations et à 75 % pour la constitution de la réserve ou la réduction des cotisations d'équilibre.
  • Le niveau de la PED serait étroitement lié à la façon dont l'actif du régime sera apparié à son passif. Ainsi, pour les régimes dont l'actif ne serait pas investi en considérant les caractéristiques du passif, le niveau de la PED serait plus élevé et vice-versa. L'intégration du concept de la PED dans les réflexions sur le financement des régimes nécessitera une formation spécifique des membres des comités de retraite.
  • L'importance des enjeux auxquels certains régimes ont à faire face milite en faveur d'un suivi étroit des comités de retraite face à l'évolution de la situation financière de leur régime. Des analyses complémentaires aux évaluations actuarielles triennales incluant des projections financières plus fréquentes pourraient être nécessaires.

Mesure d'allègement à court terme 

Les secteurs municipal et universitaire profiteraient également d'une mesure d'allègement suite aux impacts de la crise financière de l'année 2008, au même titre que pour le secteur privé. 

L'unique mesure d'allègement proposée serait une réduction de la cotisation d'équilibre normalement requise pour les années 2009 à 2011 de 66 2/3 % pour le secteur municipal et de 80 % pour le secteur universitaire. Cette réduction viserait uniquement les cotisations d'équilibre relatives à un nouveau déficit technique déterminé lors d'une évaluation complète comprise entre le 30 décembre 2008 et le 31 décembre 2011. L'employeur devrait donner instruction par écrit au Comité de retraite de son intention ou non d'appliquer la mesure d'allègement.


Constats

  • Pour bénéficier de la mesure d'allègement dès 2009, une évaluation actuarielle devrait être préparée au 31 décembre 2008.
  • Puisque la mesure d'allègement ne viserait que les nouveaux déficits, l'employeur devrait ainsi accepter une hausse de cotisation pour bénéficier de la mesure. Dans ce contexte, il n'est pas nécessairement avantageux pour tous les régimes de devancer la date d'évaluation uniquement pour bénéficier de cette mesure d'allègement plus rapidement.

Mesures transitoires 

Les mesures suivantes sont proposées pour permettre une transition entre les dispositions actuellement applicables et les nouvelles dispositions du Projet de règlement : 

  • Report de la consolidation des déficits à la première évaluation après le 30 décembre 2011;
  • Restrictions et règles particulières pour la consolidation de certains déficits créés avant le 31 décembre 2008 pour les régimes du secteur municipal seulement;
  • Les obligations rachetables émises par certaines municipalités et remises à la caisse de retraite avant le 31 décembre 2009 pourront être remplacées à leur échéance par des obligations similaires. Ainsi, l'échéance de ces obligations est repoussée de dix années de plus;
  • Le délai pour transmettre à la Régie des rentes du Québec une évaluation actuarielle entre le 30 décembre 2008 et le 29 septembre 2009 est prolongé au 30 avril 2010. Il est toutefois possible que ce délai soit prolongé par le gouvernement.

Normandin Beaudry innove en se rapprochant encore plus de vous!
Vous désirez être bien informé? Sauver du temps de déplacement?
Dans le confort de votre bureau, participez à l'une de nos deux 
web conférences
11 février 2010 de 9h30 à 11h00
ou
16 février 2010 de 14h00 à 15h30
Pour vous inscrire, envoyez-nous un courriel à l'adresse 
webconference@normandin-beaudry.ca
Les web conférences de Normandin Beaudry, 
une solution simple, facile... et gratuite.
Profitez-en!

 
 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6