Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: what Quebec-based companies listed on the S&P/TSX Index do

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 12 N. 14, November 2009

Several private sector companies will soon be finalizing their budgets for the upcoming fiscal year and preparing their financial statements for the current fiscal year. Included among the accompanying notes that should be prepared for these financial statements are those pertaining to costs for defined benefit (DB) plans and for group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-retirement benefits).

The assumptions required to determine the accrued benefit obligation and the cost must be established by the company's management. To help companies select these assumptions, we have analyzed the annual reports of 22 Quebec-based companies listed on the S&P/TSX Index whose fiscal year ended between September 30, 2008 and March 31, 2009. All of these companies sponsored at least one DB pension plan and 15 of them offered at least one group insurance plan for their retired employees.

Our analysis is divided into three sections. The first section presents the assumptions used by the companies included in our analysis in percentile format. The tables present a comparison of the assumptions used for fiscal years ending in 2008 (betweenSeptember 30, 2008 and March 31, 2009) and in 2007 (betweenSeptember 30, 2007 and March 31, 2008). The second section summarizes the findings from these tables and additional results that could be obtained only through data analysis. The third and final section presents our comments with respect to some measures that could potentially impact future results.

Please note that this is the fifth year that we have conducted this analysis. We therefore invite you to consult the "Publications" section of our website (www.normandin-beaudry.ca) to review the results, findings and comments for previous years. However, given that the composition of the S&P/TSX Index varies regularly based on predefined criteria, the group of companies analyzed this year differs from that analyzed in prior years. The results presented on a comparable basis for 2007 may also differ from those presented in previous years.

 
1. Selection of assumptions

The following tables present the analysis results, in percentile format, for the key economic assumptions used for DB pension plans and other post-retirement benefits. The assumptions are those that were in effect at the end of the fiscal year and during the next fiscal year. However, for the assumption used for the expected long-term rate of return on assets, it is the assumption that was in effect during the fiscal year that has ended.

 

 End of 2007
(Sept. 30, 2007 to
March 31, 2008)
End of 2008
(Sept. 30, 2008 to
March 31, 2009)
DB Pension Plans

Discount Rate
  • 5th percentile
5.80% 7.50%
  • 25th percentile
5.75% 7.50%
  • 50th percentile
5.50% 7.33%
  • 75th percentile
5.50% 6.83%
  • 95th percentile
5.17% 6.04%
Expected Long-Term Rate of Return on Assets
  • 5th percentile
7.79% 7.84%
  • 25th percentile
7.45% 7.25%
  • 50th percentile
7.13% 7.01%
  • 75th percentile
7.00% 6.93%
  • 95th percentile
6.25% 6.26%
Compensation Growth Rate1
  • 5th percentile
4.96% 4.96%
  • 25th percentile
3.95% 3.94%
  • 50th percentile
3.50% 3.0%
  • 75th percentile
3.50% 3.50%
  • 95th percentile
2.72% 3.00%
   1Also applicable in some cases to other post-retirement benefits
Other Post-Retirement Benefits

Discount Rate
  • 5th percentile
6.15% 7.50%
  • 25th percentile
5.80% 7.45%
  • 50th percentile
5.60% 7.10%
  • 75th percentile
5.50% 6.76%
  • 95th percentile
5.40% 6.36%
Health Care Costs - Decreasing Rate Period
  • 5th percentile
11.0 years13.0 years
  • 25th percentile
8.5 years 10.0 years
  • 50th percentile
6.0 years 8.0 years
  • 75th percentile
5.0 years 4.0 years
  • 95th percentile
3.7 years 3.4 years
Trend Rate for Health Care Costs - Final Period
  • 5th percentile
6.00% 5.33%
  • 25th percentile
5.13% 5.00%
  • 50th percentile
5.00% 5.00%
  • 75th percentile
4.65% 4.50%
  • 95th percentile
4.35 % 4.35 %


2. Findings

  • For DB pension plans, the median annual discount rate used at the end of 2008 was 1.83% higher than the rate used at the end of 2007 (7.33% versus 5.50%). This increase is the result of widening long-term rate spreads between federal bonds and corporate bonds. This substantial widening was prompted by the "flight to quality" that ensued from the credit crisis.
     
  • The median annual expected long-term rate of return on DB pension plan assets was 7.01% for 2008, down 0.12% from 2007 and around 0.55% from 2004. Companies have thus gradually lowered their long-term returns expectations.
     
  • Several of the companies analyzed sponsor DB pension plans and other post-retirement benefits that offer benefits based on salary at retirement. These companies must therefore establish an assumption related to the compensation growth rate. At the end of 2008, the median annual compensation growth rate was 3.50%, a rate identical to the median rate used since 2004. Outlooks for the compensation growth rate have not changed in the last five years.
     
  • For companies sponsoring both DB pension plans and other post-retirement benefits, the median discount rates used for all of the plans were similar. At the end of 2008, more than half (60%) of the companies analyzed were using a discount rate for other post-retirement benefits identical to that used for DB pension plans.
     
  • The trend rate for health care costs is the most important assumption for other post-retirement benefits. The initial rate, which is higher than the final rate, can vary significantly from company to company. The final median trend rate has been 5.00%, since 2004. However, in the last year, we observed a two-year increase in the median decreasing rate period (from6.0 years to 8.0 years).

3. Comments

  • Discount rates for 2009

    The discount rates used at the end of 2009 will likely be lower than those used at the end of 2008 owing to the significant decrease (close to 1.50%) in yield spreads between federal and corporate bonds in the last six months. This decrease is the boomerang effect from the "flight to quality" experienced at the end of 2008. Keep in mind that gains created at the end of 2008 through the increase in discount rates allowed DB pension plans to lessen the impact of losses resulting from disappointing returns for 2008. Despite potentially attractive returns for 2009, companies results' should be hit hard by the boomerang effect expected for the end of 2009. Some companies could, however, use only long-term rates for corporate bonds rated AA and higher to determine their discount rates at the end of 2009. Please note that there are very few issuances of these types of bonds (creating a lack of credibility for this source), and that they post maturity yields higher than those for A rated corporate bonds (constituting an aberration)
  • Health care costs - decreasing rate period

    Health care costs have increased faster than general inflation for several years. The choice of health care cost trend assumption takes into account the projection that the level of growth will return to a lower level for the long term. Consequently, a select period at decreasing rates was used. However, because trend rates for health care costs have continued to remain high at each actuarial valuation, this assumption was typically revised upward, thereby creating successive actuarial losses. In partnership with the Society of Actuaries, in December 2007, Professor Thomas E. Getzen developed and published a model allowing for a more accurate projection of health care costs. Many companies are expected to revise their health care cost trend assumption in the next few years based on this model. And, going forward, it will not be unusual to see a longer select period of 15 to 25 years used.
     
  • Transition to international standards

    For fiscal years starting on or after January 1, 2011, public companies will be required to adhere to international standards when preparing and presenting their financial statements. Because the presentation of financial results must include results for the previous year for comparison purposes, the actual transition will begin a year earlier on January 1, 2010. Therefore, companies must immediately begin the work required to manage this transition.
 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : que font les entreprises québécoises inscrites à l'indice S&P/TSX?

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 12 N. 14, novembre 2009

Nous tenons à préciser que, malgré un effort de vulgarisation, le contenu du présent communiqué revêt un caractère technique étant donné la nature du sujet et l'utilisation de termes définis au chapitre 3461 du manuel de l'Institut canadien des comptables agréés (ICCA).

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront bientôt leurs budgets pour la prochaine année fiscale et prépareront leurs états financiers pour l'année fiscale en cours. Parmi les notes complémentaires devant être préparées pour ces états financiers, on retrouve celle relative aux coûts constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« régimes PD ») et pour les régimes d'assurance collective offerts aux retraités (« autres avantages post-retraite »).

Les hypothèses requises pour déterminer l'obligation au titre des prestations constituées et le coût constaté doivent être établies par la direction de l'entreprise. Ainsi, afin de vous aider à sélectionner ces hypothèses, nous avons analysé les rapports annuels de 22 entreprises québécoises faisant partie de l'indice S&P/TSX et dont l'exercice financier se terminait entre le 30 septembre 2008 et le 31 mars 2009. Toutes ces entreprises parrainaient au moins un régime PD et 15 d'entre elles offraient au moins un régime d'assurance collective à leurs retraités.

Notre analyse est divisée en trois parties. La première partie illustre, en rang centile, les hypothèses utilisées par les entreprises incluses dans notre analyse. Les tableaux permettent de comparer les hypothèses utilisées pour les exercices se terminant à la fin de 2008 (entre le 30 septembre 2008 et le 31 mars 2009) et à la fin de 2007 (entre le 30 septembre 2007 et le 31 mars 2008). La deuxième partie résume les constats tirés de ces tableaux et en ajoute certains qui ne peuvent être déduits que par l'analyse des données. Finalement, la troisième partie de notre analyse présente nos commentaires sur certaines mesures qui pourraient affecter les résultats futurs.

Veuillez noter que cette analyse est effectuée pour une cinquième année. Nous vous invitons donc à consulter la section « Publications » de notre site internet (www.normandin-beaudry.ca) pour connaître les résultats, les constats et les commentaires des communiqués précédents. Cependant, comme la composition de l'indice S&P/TSX varie régulièrement selon des critères préétablis, le groupe d'entreprises de l'analyse de cette année est différent de celui des années précédentes et, par conséquent, les résultats présentés sur base comparative pour l'année 2007 peuvent être différents de ceux présentés les années passées.

1. Sélection des hypothèses

Les tableaux suivants illustrent, en rang centile, les hypothèses économiques les plus importantes utilisées par les entreprises analysées pour leurs régimes PD et les autres avantages post-retraite. Les hypothèses sont celles qui étaient en vigueur à la fin de l'exercice financier et au cours de l'exercice subséquent. Toutefois, pour le taux de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs, l'hypothèse est celle qui était en vigueur au cours de l'exercice financier s'étant terminé.


 Fin 2007
(30 sept. 2007 au
31 mars 2008)
Fin 2008
(30 sept. 2008 au
31 mars 2009)
Régimes PD

Taux d'actualisation
  • 5e rang centile
5,80 % 7,50 %
  • 25e rang centile
5,75 % 7,50 %
  • 50e rang centile
5,50 % 7,33 %
  • 75e rang centile
5,50 % 6,83 %
  • 95e rang centile
5,17 % 6,04 %
Taux de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs
  • 5e rang centile
7,79 % 7,84 %
  • 25e rang centile
7,45 % 7,25 %
  • 50e rang centile
7,13 % 7,01 %
  • 75e rang centile
7,00 % 6,93 %
  • 95e rang centile
6,25 % 6,26 %
Taux de croissance de la rémunération1
  • 5e rang centile
4,96 % 4,96 %
  • 25e rang centile
3,95 % 3,94 %
  • 50e rang centile
3,50 % 3,50 %
  • 75e rang centile
3,50 % 3,50 %
  • 95e rang centile
2,72 % 3,00 %
   1Également applicable, dans certains cas, aux autres avantages post-retraite
Autres avantages post-retraite

Taux d'actualisation
  • 5e rang centile
6,15 % 7,50 %
  • 25e rang centile
5,80 % 7,45 %
  • 50e rang centile
5,60 % 7,10 %
  • 75e rang centile
5,50 % 6,76 %
  • 95e rang centile
5,40 % 6,36 %
Coûts des soins de santé - Période à taux décroissants
  • 5e rang centile
11,0 ans13,0 ans
  • 25e rang centile
8,5 ans 10,0 ans
  • 50e rang centile
6,0 ans 8,0 ans
  • 75e rang centile
5,0 ans 4,0 ans
  • 95e rang centile
3,7 ans 3,4 ans
Taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé - Période ultime
  • 5e rang centile
6,00 % 5,33 %
  • 25e rang centile
5,13 % 5,00 %
  • 50e rang centile
5,00 % 5,00 %
  • 75e rang centile
4,65 % 4,50 %
  • 95e rang centile
4,35 % 4,35 %

2. Constats

  • Pour les régimes PD, le taux annuel d'actualisation médian utilisé à la fin de 2008 était supérieur de 1,83 % à celui utilisé à la fin de 2007, soit 7,33 % au lieu de 5,50 %. Cette hausse du niveau des taux d'actualisation est le résultat de l'augmentation des écarts de taux à long terme entre les obligations fédérales et les obligations corporatives. Cette augmentation substantielle a été provoquée par la « fuite vers la qualité » survenue en raison de la crise du crédit.
  • Le taux annuel médian de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs des régimes PD était de 7,01 % au cours de l'année 2008, soit 0,12 % moins élevé qu'en 2007 et environ 0,55 % moins élevé qu'en 2004. Les entreprises ont donc réajusté graduellement à la baisse leurs attentes de rendements à long terme.
  • Plusieurs entreprises parmi celles analysées parrainent des régimes PD et d'autres avantages post-retraite offrant des prestations basées sur le salaire à la retraite. Ces entreprises doivent donc établir une hypothèse de taux de croissance de la rémunération. Le taux annuel médian de croissance de la rémunération était de 3,50 % à la fin de 2008, soit le même taux depuis 2004. Les perspectives concernant le taux de croissance de la rémunération n'ont donc pas changé au cours des cinq dernières années.
  • Pour les entreprises qui parrainent à la fois des régimes PD et d'autres avantages post-retraite, les taux d'actualisation médians utilisés pour l'ensemble des régimes étaient similaires. Plus de la moitié (60 %) des entreprises analysées utilisaient, à la fin de 2008, un taux d'actualisation pour les autres avantages post-retraite identique à celui divulgué pour les régimes PD.
  • Le taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé est l'hypothèse la plus importante pour les autres avantages post-retraite. Le taux initial, plus élevé que le taux ultime, peut varier de façon importante d'une entreprise à l'autre. Toutefois, depuis 2004, le taux ultime médian est le même, soit 5,00 %. Cependant, nous avons noté, au cours de la dernière année, une augmentation de deux ans de la médiane de la période à taux décroissants, soit de 6,0 à 8,0 ans.

3. Commentaires

  • Taux d'actualisation de 2009

Les taux d'actualisation utilisés à la fin de l'année 2009 seront vraisemblablement inférieurs à ceux utilisés à la fin de 2008 en raison notamment de la diminution importante (environ 1,50 %) des écarts de taux à long terme entre les obligations fédérales et les obligations corporatives au cours des six derniers mois. Cette diminution est l'effet « boomerang » de la « fuite vers la qualité » survenue à la fin de l'année 2008. Nous vous rappelons que les gains engendrés à la fin de 2008 par la hausse des taux d'actualisation avaient permis pour les régimes PD de réduire l'impact des pertes résultant des rendements décevants de 2008. Malgré des rendements possiblement intéressants pour 2009, l'effet « boomerang » envisagé pour la fin de 2009 devrait néanmoins frapper durement les résultats des entreprises. Certaines entreprises pourraient toutefois se baser uniquement sur les taux à long terme des obligations corporatives cotées AA et plus pour déterminer le taux d'actualisation. Nous vous rappelons qu'il existe très peu d'émissions de telles obligations (créant ainsi un manque de crédibilité de cette source) et qu'elles affichent des taux de rendement à échéance supérieurs à ceux des obligations corporatives cotées A (constituant ainsi une aberration).

  • Coûts des soins de santé - Période à taux décroissants

Les coûts des soins de santé ont augmenté plus rapidement que l'inflation générale depuis de nombreuses années. Le choix de l'hypothèse de croissance des coûts des soins de santé tient compte de la prévision que le niveau de croissance revienne à un niveau moins élevé à long terme, d'où l'utilisation d'une période sélecte à taux décroissants. Cependant, comme la croissance des coûts des soins de santé persistait à rester à un niveau élevé à chaque nouvelle évaluation actuarielle, cette hypothèse a généralement été révisée à la hausse, créant ainsi des pertes actuarielles successives. En association avec la Society of Actuaries, le Professeur Thomas E. Getzen a développé et publié, en décembre 2007, un modèle permettant de mieux projeter les coûts des soins de santé. Sur la base de ce modèle, il est à prévoir que plusieurs entreprises réviseront au cours des prochaines années leur hypothèse de croissance des coûts des soins de santé. Il ne sera pas rare qu'une période sélecte plus longue de 15 à 25 ans soit dorénavant utilisée en vertu de ce modèle.

  • Passage aux normes internationales

Pour les années fiscales ouvrant à compter du 1er janvier 2011, les entreprises publiques devront présenter leurs états financiers en vertu des normes internationales. Comme les résultats financiers doivent présenter l'année précédente aux fins de comparaison, la réelle transition débutera un an plus tôt, soit au 1er janvier 2010. Les entreprises doivent donc commencer dès maintenant les travaux pour gérer cette transition.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6