Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Leaves owing to a criminal offence

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 2, February 2008

Quebec's Act respecting labour standards, specifically the section dealing with leaves owing to a criminal offence, has recently been amended. In this information bulletin, Normandin Beaudry presents the highlights of these amendments, which took effect on December 18, 2007.

This bulletin will be of particular interest to benefits administrators because some revisions to employee benefits or internal policies may be required.

An employee may now be absent from work, without pay, for a period not exceeding 104 weeks if the employee suffers serious bodily injury during or resulting directly from a criminal offence that renders the employee unable to hold his regular position1. Criminal offence refers to a criminal offence within the meaning of the Criminal Code and recognized under the Crime Victims Compensation Act2. Bodily injury corresponds to a serious physical or psychological injury, including a pregnancy resulting from the commission of a sexual offence or assault.

The employee is also entitled to the same period of leave if his/her minor child suffers a serious bodily injury following a criminal offence or if the employee's child or spouse dies as a result of such an offence. The employee has the right to be absent from work for up to 52 weeks if the employee's child or spouse commits suicide or if the employee's minor child disappears.

Return to work

The period of leave begins not earlier than the day on which the criminal offence is committed and ends no later than 52 or 104 weeks (as applicable) from this date. The employee may return to work on a part-time basis or intermittently during leave with his employer's consent.

Eligibility

To be entitled to these leaves, the employee must have a minimum of three months of continuous service. In addition, at the employer's request, the employee must be able to demonstrate that the serious bodily injury or death is the direct result of a criminal offence or that the individual who has disappeared is in danger. The victim is not required to wait for the person who committed the offence to be convicted if it may be inferred from the circumstances that the situation is probably the result of a criminal offence.

However, the employee is not entitled to these leaves if the circumstances demonstrate that the employee or the deceased individual (spouse or adult child) was a party to the criminal offence or contributed to the injury by a gross fault.3

Plans Participation during the period of leave

In the event of a leave of absence in accordance with the provisions of the Act, the employee's participation in the group insurance and pension plans recognized in the employee's place of employment will not be affected, subject to regular payment of contributions payable under these plans. The employer will continue to pay its usual portion.

  1. Consult the interpretation document in French provided by the labour standards website.
  2. Consult the CVC act.
  3. Which denotes his lack of concern about the dangers he/she has created.


 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les absences pour cause d'acte criminel

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N.2, février 2008

La Loi sur les normes du travail du Québec, plus spécifiquement la section traitant des absences pour cause d'acte criminel, a récemment été modifiée. Normandin Beaudry présente ici les faits saillants de ces modifications, entrées en vigueur le 18 décembre 2007.

Ce communiqué intéressera particulièrement les administrateurs d'avantages sociaux. Certaines révisions aux avantages sociaux ou aux politiques internes pourraient devoir être faites.

Un salarié peut désormais s'absenter du travail pendant une période d'au plus 104 semaines, sans salaire, s'il subit un préjudice corporel grave à l'occasion ou résultant directement d'un acte criminel le rendant incapable d'occuper son poste habituel1. L'acte criminel auquel la Loi fait référence est celui défini au Code criminel et reconnu par la Loi sur l'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels2. Le préjudice corporel correspond quant à lui à une blessure grave, tant physique que psychique, et inclut également une grossesse résultant de la commission d'une infraction ou agression d'ordre sexuel.

En outre, le salarié peut bénéficier de la même période d'absence advenant que son enfant mineur ait été blessé gravement à la suite d'un acte criminel ou encore lors du décès de son enfant ou de son conjoint à la suite d'un acte criminel. Lors du décès de son enfant ou conjoint à la suite d'un suicide, la période d'absence sans salaire accordée au salarié sera plutôt de 52 semaines. Cette même période sera accordée si l'enfant mineur du salarié est porté disparu.

Retour au travail

La période d'absence débute au plus tôt à la date à laquelle l'acte criminel a été commis et se termine au plus tard, selon le cas, 52 ou 104 semaines plus tard. Si l'employeur y consent, le salarié peut reprendre le travail à temps partiel ou de manière intermittente pendant la période d'absence accordée.

Admissibilité

Pour être admissible à ces congés, le salarié doit être à l'emploi continu depuis au moins trois mois. De plus, à la demande de l'employeur, il doit pouvoir démontrer que la blessure corporelle grave ou le décès est le résultat direct d'un acte criminel ou que la personne disparue est en danger. Il n'est pas nécessaire que la victime attende que l'auteur de l'acte criminel ait été condamné, la loi s'appliquant si les circonstances permettent de tenir pour probable que la situation en cause est le résultat d'un acte criminel.

Par ailleurs, si les mêmes circonstances démontrent que le salarié lui-même ou la personne décédée (conjoint ou enfant majeur) a participé à l'acte criminel, ou a contribué au préjudice par sa faute lourde3, il n'a alors pas droit aux absences prévues.

Participation aux régimes durant l'absence

Advenant une absence prévue à la loi, la participation du salarié aux régimes d'assurance collective et de retraite reconnus à son lieu de travail sera maintenue, sous réserve du paiement régulier, par le salarié, des cotisations exigibles, l'employeur assumant quant à lui sa part habituelle.

  1. Consulter le document d'information disponible sur le site des normes du travail.
  2. Consulter la loi sur l'IVAC
  3. Qui dénote son insouciance à l'égard des dangers qu'il a créés.



 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6