Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Bill 195, an act amending the Quebec Supplemental Pension Plans Act

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 8 N. 7, April 2005

The National Assembly adopted on April 21, 2005, Bill 195, an act amending the Supplemental Pension Plans Act ("SPPA"). Bill 195 came in into effect on April 28, 2005.

Amendments to the SPPA, resulting from Bill 195, enable the two following groups of members to express their concurrence in relation to an amendment made to a pension plan confirming the employer's right to appropriate surplus assets to the payment of its contributions:

  • The group formed of active members of the plan who are not represented by a certified association within the meaning of the Labour Code, or who are not bound by a contract governing the use of surplus assets of the plan; and
  • The group formed of non-active members and beneficiaries of the plan.

The current SPPA requires only the assent of the members represented by a certified association. Bill 195 provides that the assent of each of the above mentioned groups in relation to the proposed amendment to the plan should be expressed at the annual meeting or at a special meeting called by the pension committee.

Bill 195 does not have retroactive effect. Therefore, plans having already confirmed the employer's right to appropriate surplus assets to the payment of its contributions do not have to obtain the approval of the two groups of members mentioned above (confirmation process of employer's right completed). Only the plans that will be modified to confirm this employer's right will need to conform to the new SPPA provisions.

Few plans have already confirmed the employer's right to appropriate surplus assets to the payment of employer contributions under the terms of SPPA. Considering the new SPPA requirements, it is therefore expected that fewer plans will elect to confirm this employer’s right under the terms of SPPA.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La Loi 195, loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite du Québec

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 8 N. 7, avril 2005


L’Assemblée nationale a adopté le 21 avril 2005 le projet de loi n° 195, loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (« Loi RCR »). La loi n° 195 est en vigueur depuis la date de sa sanction, soit le 28 avril 2005.

Les modifications à la Loi RCR découlant de la loi n° 195 permettent aux deux groupes de participants suivants de donner leur assentiment à une modification du régime confirmant le droit de l'employeur d'affecter l'excédent d'actif du régime à l'acquittement de ses cotisations :

  • le groupe des participants actifs d'un régime de retraite qui ne sont pas représentés par une association accréditée au sens du Code du travail ou qui ne sont pas liés par un contrat régissant l'utilisation de l'excédent d'actif du régime; et
  • le groupe des participants non actifs et des bénéficiaires du régime.

La Loi RCR actuelle ne nécessitait que le consentement des participants représentés par une association accréditée. La loi n° 195 prévoit aussi que la modification proposée au régime doit recevoir l'assentiment de chacun de ces groupes lors de l'assemblée annuelle ou lors d'une assemblée spéciale convoquée par le comité de retraite.

La loi n° 195 n’a pas d’effet rétroactif. Ainsi, les régimes ayant déjà confirmé le droit de l’employeur aux congés de cotisation n’ont pas à obtenir l’assentiment des deux groupes de participants mentionnés ci-dessus (processus de confirmation du droit de l’employeur complété). Seuls les régimes qui seront modifiés pour confirmer ce droit à l’employeur sont sujets à ces nouvelles dispositions de la Loi RCR.

Peu de régimes ont déjà confirmé le droit de l’employeur d’affecter l’excédent d’actif du régime à l’acquittement de ses cotisations en vertu de la Loi RCR en vigueur. Il est donc à prévoir que, compte tenu de ces nouvelles exigences, encore moins de régimes tenteront de confirmer ce droit en vertu de la Loi RCR.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6