Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Québec's policy concerning drugs

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol 7 N. 23, December 2004

On December 16, 2004, Health and Social Services Minister Philippe Couillard tabled a white paper on Québec’s policy concerning drugs.

Although the main goal of the policy is to explain the principles that will guide future government decisions and actions with respect to drugs, it would appear that some of these principles will definitely have an impact on private group insurance plans.

The 34 ministerial proposals found in the white paper revolve around four main issues: access to drugs, fair and reasonable pricing, optimal use of drugs, and maintaining a thriving pharmaceutical industry in Québec.

One of these proposals is designed to put an end to the policy against increases in the price of prescription drugs. In fact, the government would rather set up a mechanism to supervise price hikes and allow agreements to be made with manufacturers so that compensatory measures can be established. The measures could take a variety of forms, including paying financial compensation to the government each year, obliging the manufacturer to cover the wholesaler’s margin, etc.

While these agreements will only reduce the cost paid by the government, the paper tabled by Minister Couillard states that the government would take the necessary measures to guarantee that private plan members receive the same fair treatment as those who are covered by the public plan.

Another proposal aims to regulate the price of generic drugs (copies of brand name drugs) by limiting the price of the first generic version to 60% of the price of the original, and the limiting price of other generics to 54%.

The various players in the prescription drug industry agree on the fact that the misuse of drugs leads to significant and unnecessary costs. In its effort to optimize medical treatment, the government would prefer to convey the treating physician’s therapeutic intention to the pharmacist, who could then use this information to adjust his intervention.

Other ministerial proposals are along the same lines, including adding an info-drug service to the Info-Santé / CLSC hotline; introducing a range of measures for raising awareness and informing Quebecers; integrating the concept of optimal use in University programs for the various professionals concerned; providing doctors with prescribers’ profiles, so that they can benchmark themselves against peer groups; installing computerized tools for clinicians, etc.

However, it is evident that any change in usage habits among the people targeted by these efforts will only impact the costs of private and public plans in the long term.

The paper will be subject to public consultation through a parliamentary committee, which will begin on March 1, 2005.

Rest assured that we will closely monitor this issue, and will keep you informed of developments.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La politique du médicament au Québec

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 23, décembre 2004

Le 16 décembre dernier, le ministre de la santé et des services sociaux, M. Philippe Couillard déposait un document de consultation sur la politique du médicament au Québec.

Bien que le but premier de cette politique soit de décrire les principes qui guideront les décisions et les actions du gouvernement face aux médicaments à l’avenir, il appert que quelques unes d’entre elles auront certainement un effet sur les régimes privés d’assurance collective.

Les 34 propositions ministérielles contenues dans le document de consultation tournent autour de quatre axes principaux, soient l’accessibilité aux médicaments, l’établissement d’un prix juste et raisonnable des médicaments, l’utilisation optimale des médicaments et le maintien d’une industrie pharmaceutique dynamique au Québec.

Une des propositions ministérielles incluse dans le document, vise à mettre fin à la politique de non-augmentation du prix des médicaments. En effet, le gouvernement souhaiterait plutôt instaurer un mécanisme pour encadrer l’augmentation des prix des médicaments et permettre la conclusion d’ententes avec les fabricants afin que des mesures compensatoires puissent être mises en place. Ces mesures prendraient diverses formes telles que le versement d’une compensation financière annuelle au gouvernement, la prise en charge de la marge du grossiste par le fabricant, etc.

Bien que ces ententes ne viennent diminuer que le coût pris en charge par le gouvernement, il est stipulé dans le document déposé par le ministre Couillard que le gouvernement prendrait les mesures qui s’imposent pour garantir le traitement équitable des assurés des régimes privés par rapport aux assurés du régime public.

Une autre proposition vise à réglementer le prix des médicaments génériques (copies des médicaments d’origine) en limitant le prix du premier médicament générique à 60 % du prix du médicament d’origine et à 54 % le prix des autres médicaments génériques.

Les différents intervenants dans le marché du médicament s’accordent sur le fait que la mauvaise utilisation des médicaments engendre des coûts inutiles et substantiels. Dans son effort de tendre vers cette optimisation du traitement médical, le gouvernement favoriserait la transmission de l’intention thérapeutique du médecin traitant au pharmacien qui pourra alors ajuster son intervention selon l’intention thérapeutique visée.

D’autres propositions ministérielles vont également dans ce sens; l’ajout à la ligne Info-Santé / CLSC un service info-médicament, l’instauration de différentes mesures de sensibilisation et d’information au public québécois, l’intégration du concept de l’utilisation optimale à la formation universitaire des différents professionnels concernés, la transmission aux médecins du profil de prescripteur leur permettant de se situer par rapport à des groupes de pairs, la mise en place d’outils informatisés pour les cliniciens, etc.

Il est cependant évident que le changement dans les habitudes de consommation des gens visé par ces actions ne se fera sentir qu’à long terme sur les coûts des régimes privés et public.

Le document sera soumis à la population via une commission parlementaire débutant le 1er mars 2005.

Soyez assurés que nous suivrons de près ce dossier et que nous vous tiendrons informés des développements dans cette affaire.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6