Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The new regulation amending the Quebec Regulation Respecting Supplemental Pension Plans

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 18

On October 20, 2004, a new regulation amending the Regulation Respecting Supplemental Pension Plans ("Amended Regulation") was published in the Gazette officielle du Québec. This amendment deals with two aspects: payment of additional pension benefit and reference to the new Standard of Practice approved by the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) for determining pension commuted values. The consultation period for the Amended Regulation ends on December 3, 2004.

Additional pension benefit

The additional pension benefit is determined when active membership ceases. It represents the positive difference between:

  • the value of the pension indexed by 50% of the Consumer Price Index (maximum: 2% per year) from the date active membership ceases to the date ten years before the normal retirement age; and
  • the value of the deferred pension as described in the particular pension plan, payable at the age that maximizes this value.

According to the present Regulation Respecting Supplemental Pension Plans ("SPP Regulation"), the additional pension benefit must be converted into a life annuity that does not exceed the maximum benefits stipulated in the Income Tax Act (ITA) or that limits the conversion to the maximum life annuity that can be set up without involving the establishment of a past service pension adjustment (PSPA). Any portion of the additional benefit that cannot be converted into an annuity must be refunded to the member in a single payment (see  vol. 5, no. 2 for further details).

According to the Amended Regulation, the entire additional pension benefit can be refunded to the member in a single payment, which makes the job of pension plan administrators easier. This amendment also solves the tax problem. The Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) had been reluctant to accept certain amendments to pension plans concerning additional benefits.

Pension plan administrators still have the option of converting the additional pension benefit into a life annuity but they must make sure that the conversion abides by the rules in the ITA. Thus the Amended Regulation does not necessarily require the wording of pension plan text to be further changed. If the plan has already been accepted by the CRA, no amendments are necessary.

It is important to note that the Amended Regulation will apply from the date it comes into force; it will not be applied retroactively. Therefore, plans must continue to comply with the present SPP Regulation for the period from January 1, 2001 until the date on which the Amended Regulation comes into effect.

CIA’s Standard of Practice for Determining Pension Commuted Values

Last June (Vol. 7, No. 10) we informed you that the CIA had approved a new standard of practice for determining the pension commuted values payable under a registered pension plan when active membership ceases and when plan solvency is valuated. This new standard of practice will take effect on February 1, 2005. According to the Amended Regulation, this new standard of practice must be used.

However, if the Amended Regulation does not come into effect on February 1, 2005, there will be a period during which the assumptions that must be used for termination of active membership calculations and solvency valuations will not comply with both the standard of practice in effect and the present SPP Regulation.

During this period, pension plan administrators must comply with the present SPP Regulation and use the standard prescribed therein. However, in the termination of active membership statement and the actuarial valuation report, they must indicate that the calculations were not done according to the CIA’s standards. Although acceptable to the CIA, this disclosure could give rise to questions from members about the value given, in an administrative calculation for example.

Pension plan sponsors also have the option of amending the text of their pension plan so they can start to use the new standard on February 1, 2005. Such an amendment is subject to the approval of the Régie des rentes du Québec and would only be valid for a few months, i.e., until the Amended Regulation comes into effect.

We will inform you when the Amended Regulation comes into force and of any differences between the draft and final version.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Le projet de règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite du Québec

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 18, novembre 2004

Le 20 octobre 2004, un projet de règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (« projet de règlement ») a été publié dans la Gazette officielle du Québec. Ce projet de règlement traite de deux sujets : le paiement de la prestation additionnelle et la référence à la nouvelle norme de pratique de l’Institut canadien des actuaires (ICA) concernant la détermination des valeurs actualisées des rentes. La période de consultation pour ce projet de règlement se termine le 3 décembre 2004.

Prestation additionnelle

La prestation additionnelle est déterminée lors d’une cessation de participation active et représente la différence positive entre :

  • la valeur de la rente différée à l’âge de retraite normale, indexée selon 50 % de l’indice des prix à la consommation (maximum de 2 % par année) à compter de la cessation de participation active jusqu’à dix ans avant la date de retraite normale; et
  • la valeur de la rente différée telle que décrite dans les dispositions du régime de retraite, payable à l’âge maximisant cette valeur.

Selon le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (« Règlement RCR ») actuel, la prestation additionnelle doit être convertie en rente viagère soit en respectant les prestations maximales de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (LIR), soit en limitant la conversion au montant maximal de rente viagère qui peut être fixé sans entraîner l’établissement d’un facteur d’équivalence pour services passés (FESP). La partie de la prestation additionnelle ne pouvant pas convertie en rente doit alors être remboursée en un seul versement au participant (voir vol. 5, no. 2 pour plus de détails).

Selon le projet de règlement, la totalité de la prestation additionnelle pourra maintenant être remboursée en un seul versement au participant, allégeant ainsi la tâche des administrateurs des régimes de retraite. Cette modification apporte aussi une solution au problème dû aux exigences fiscales. En effet, l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) avait montré des réticences pour certaines modifications aux textes de régimes de retraite concernant la prestation additionnelle.

L’option de conversion de la prestation additionnelle en rente viagère demeure disponible. Les administrateurs de régimes de retraite doivent cependant s’assurer que la conversion en rente viagère respecte les règles de la LIR. Le projet de règlement ne nécessite donc pas obligatoirement une modification au texte du régime de retraite. En effet, si ce dernier a déjà été accepté par l’ARC, aucune modification n’est requise.

Il est important de souligner que le projet de règlement s’appliquera à compter de sa date d’entrée en vigueur et n’aura aucune application rétroactive. Les régimes devront donc toujours se conformer au Règlement RCR actuel pour la période du 1er janvier 2001 jusqu’à la date d’entrée en vigueur du nouveau règlement.

Norme de pratique de l’ICA concernant la détermination des valeurs actualisées

Nous vous informions en juin dernier (vol. 7 no. 10) que l’ICA avait approuvé une nouvelle norme de pratique concernant la détermination des valeurs actualisées des rentes payables en vertu d’un régime de retraite agréé lors d’une cessation de participation active et lors d’une évaluation de solvabilité d’un régime de retraite. Cette nouvelle norme de pratique entrera en vigueur le 1er février 2005. Le projet de règlement prescrit l’utilisation de cette nouvelle norme de pratique.

Advenant le cas où le règlement n’entrerait pas en vigueur le 1er février 2005, il y aura une période pendant laquelle les hypothèses à utiliser pour les calculs de cessation de participation active et pour les évaluations de solvabilité ne pourront à la fois respecter la norme de pratique en vigueur et le Règlement RCR.

Pendant cette période, les administrateurs des régimes de retraite devront se conformer au Règlement RCR et utiliser la norme qui y est prescrite. Ils devront par contre divulguer dans le relevé de cessation de participation active ou dans le rapport d’évaluation actuarielle que les calculs n’ont pas été effectués selon les normes de l’ICA. Une telle divulgation, bien qu’acceptable du point de vue de l’ICA, pourrait toutefois entraîner des questionnements de la part des participants concernant la valeur présentée sur un calcul administratif par exemple.

Les promoteurs de régimes de retraite ont aussi la possibilité de modifier le texte de leur régime de retraite afin d’utiliser la nouvelle norme à compter du 1er février 2005. Cette modification est sujette à l’approbation de la Régie des rentes du Québec et ne serait valide que pour quelques mois, soit jusqu’à l’entrée en vigueur du règlement.

Nous vous informerons de l’entrée en vigueur du règlement et de tout élément qui pourrait différer entre le projet et la version finale du règlement, le cas échéant.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6