Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Taxable benefits to surviving spouses and dependents of deceased employees

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 16, October 2004

Taxable benefits arising from contributions paid by an employer for a group insurance plan have existed for several years. Today, plan sponsors generally understand the tax consequences of providing group insurance. However, insurance coverage for a surviving spouse or dependents that continues after the death of an employee or retiree are not always as integrated.

The purpose of this bulletin is to inform you about the tax status of these contributions and on certain aspects of the law that are not well known.

In this context, note that there were no recent changes in the laws or regulations governing taxable benefits and death benefits.

Taxable benefits

In Quebec, for provincial income tax purposes, an employer’s contribution to a group insurance plan are considered to be a taxable benefit to employees and retirees for the following types of coverage: basic life insurance, dependents’ life insurance, accidental death and dismemberment insurance, health insurance and dental insurance.

For federal income tax purposes, only basic and dependent’s life insurance coverage is considered a taxable benefit to active employees or retirees.

Following the death of an active employee or a retiree, the employer may extend certain types of coverage to the deceased’s surviving spouse or dependents. However, according to an interpretation letter from Revenue Québec and an interpretation bulletin from the federal Department of Finance, employers are not required to declare taxable benefits to a surviving spouse or dependents who receive insurance coverage following the death of an employee or retiree.

Why? Because there is a taxable benefit when the value of a benefit arises from an office or employment. The insurance benefit is granted by way of a surviving spouse or dependent, neither of whom has an employment relationship with the payer. Therefore, this exemption is given since the surviving spouse is not employed by the company paying the insurance contributions.

Moreover, the value of the insurance benefit to the surviving spouse or dependents cannot be taxable as a death benefit, since the deceased employee or retiree is not receiving any monies or benefit.

Implications for the employer

Although the employer’s contributions to the insurance coverage of a deceased’s surviving spouse or dependents do not have to be declared, they are still considered admissible expenses for the company.

Technical interpretation

Every employer’s situation is different. In certain circumstances, the fiscal authorities could consider that the employer is giving a benefit to a taxpayer. For example, the employer’s contributions to a group insurance plan could constitute a taxable benefit if these contributions replace a payment to the surviving spouse or dependents.

In such a case, we recommend that you obtain a tax expert for a technical interpretation.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les avantages imposables au conjoint survivant et aux personnes à charge d'un employé décédé

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 16, octobre 2004

Les avantages imposables provenant des contributions payées par un employeur pour un régime d’assurance collective existent depuis plusieurs années déjà. Aujourd’hui, les conséquences fiscales de ce type d’assurances collectives sont généralement bien comprises par les promoteurs de régimes. Toutefois, les protections qui couvrent un conjoint survivant et les personnes à charge suite au décès d’un employé ou d’un retraité ne sont pas toujours aussi bien intégrées.

Le présent communiqué vise à vous informer sur le statut fiscal de ces contributions et sur certains aspects méconnus de la loi. Dans ce contexte, nous tenons à préciser qu’aucun changement législatif n’a été récemment apporté aux lois et règlements régissant les avantages imposables ou les prestations au décès.

Les avantages imposables

Au Québec, les contributions d’un employeur à un régime d’assurance collective constituent un avantage imposable pour l’impôt provincial des employés et des retraités pour les protections suivantes : assurance vie de base, assurance vie des personnes à charge, assurance en cas de déces ou mutilations accidentelles, assurance maladie et assurance dentaire.

Au niveau fédéral, seule la protection d’assurance vie de base et des personnes à charge constitue un avantage imposable aux employés actifs et aux retraités.

Suite au décès de l’employé actif ou du retraité, l’employeur peut maintenir certaines protections au conjoint survivant et aux personnes à charge. Toutefois, selon une lettre d’interprétation du ministère du Revenu du Québec et un bulletin d’interprétation du ministère des Finances du Canada, les employeurs ne sont pas tenus de déclarer des avantages imposables au conjoint survivant et aux personnes à charge qui bénéficient de protections d’assurance suite au décès d’un employé ou d’un retraité.

Pourquoi? Parce qu’un avantage imposable existe lorsque la valeur d’un bénéfice découle d’une charge ou d’un emploi. Or, le bénéfice d’assurance est accordé à titre de conjoint survivant ou de personne à charge, qui n’ont pas de lien d’emploi avec le payeur. Le fait que le conjoint survivant ou les personnes à charge n’entretiennent pas de lien d’emploi avec l’entreprise payant les contributions d’assurance est la raison invoquée pour cette exemption.

Par ailleurs, la valeur du bénéfice d’assurance accordé au conjoint survivant ou aux personnes à charge ne peut être imposable en vertu d’une prestation de décès. La raison étant que l’employé ou le retraité décédé ne reçoit aucun montant ou avantage.

Impact pour l’employeur

Bien que les contributions de l’employeur à la protection d’assurance du conjoint survivant et des personnes à charge d’un employé ou d’un retraité décédé ne doivent pas être déclarées, elles sont toujours considérées comme dépenses admissibles pour les entreprises.

Demande d’interprétation technique

Chaque employeur a cependant ses particularités. Dans certaines circonstances, les autorités fiscales pourraient considérer que l’employeur accorde un avantage à un contribuable. En effet, la contribution de l’employeur à un régime d’assurance collective pourrait constituer un avantage imposable si celle-ci remplace un paiement au conjoint survivant ou aux personnes à charge. Dans un tel cas, nous vous recommandons d’obtenir une interprétation technique auprès d’un fiscaliste.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6