Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The 2003 social security programs parameters

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 4 N, 9, December 2002

We are pleased to inform you about the latest developments regarding the main parameters of the major social security programs to assist you in planning your 2003 budget.

The Quebec Pension Plan (QPP) and the Canada Pensions Plan (CPP)

The Yearly Maximum Pensionable Earnings (YMPE) for year 2003 will be $39¸900-an increase of 2.0% over the 2002 YMPE ($39¸100). The basic exemption is not modified and remains at the same level of $3¸500¸ applicable since January 1st¸ 1998. Employee and employer contribution rates will rise to 4.95% of contributory earnings in 2003 for an annual maximum contribution of $1¸801.80. The maximum retirement pension at age 65 is set at $9¸615 for 2003¸ based on the YMPE average over the last five years.

Employment Insurance (EI)

On November 28¸ 2002¸ the government of Canada announced a 10-cent Employment Insurance premium rate reduction effective January 1st¸ 2003.

The employee premium rate for the upcoming year will be reduced from $2.20 to $2.10 per $100 of insurable employee earnings. For employers¸ the premium rate will be reduced from $3.08 to $2.94¸ which is 1.4 times the employee rate outlined above. The maximum insurable earnings will remain at $39¸000 for 2003.

Employer contributions can be reduced further for employers offering a salary continuation program (SCP) registered with the Employment Insurance Commission. At this time¸ the reduced premium rates are not known. We will provide you with an update as soon as this information is available.

The parameters regarding the Régime d´assurance maladie du Québec¸ the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST) and the Commission des normes du travail (CNT) are not available at this time. An update will be provided as soon as the information is made available.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les nouveaux paramètres des programmes de sécurité sociale pour l'année 2003

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 5 N. 9, décembre 2003

Il nous fait plaisir de vous communiquer les récents développements relatifs aux paramètres utilisés par certains programmes de sécurité sociale afin de vous aider dans la planification de votre budget pour l´année 2003.

Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ) et Régime de pension du Canada (RPC)


Le maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) sera de 39 900 $ pour l´année 2003¸ soit une hausse de 2¸0 % par rapport au MGA de 39 100 $ pour l´année 2002. L´exemption de base est définitivement fixée à 3 500 $ depuis le 1er janvier 1998. De plus¸ le taux de cotisation pour les employés et l´employeur augmentera à 4¸95 % des gains cotisables en 2003¸ pour une cotisation annuelle maximale de 1 801¸80 $. Finalement¸ la rente annuelle maximale de retraite à 65 ans¸ calculée sur la base des MGA des cinq dernières années¸ s´établira à 9 615 $ pour l´année 2003.

Assurance-emploi (AE)

Le 28 novembre dernier¸ le gouvernement fédéral annonçait une réduction de 10 cents du taux de cotisation des employés à l´assurance-emploi à compter du 1er janvier 2003.

Le taux de cotisation des employés pour l´année 2003 sera ainsi réduit de 2¸20 $ à 2¸10 $ par tranche de 100 $ de gains assurables. Pour leur part¸ les employeurs verront leur taux de cotisation passer de 3¸08 $ à 2¸94 $ par tranche de 100 $ de gains assurables des employés¸ soit 1¸4 fois le taux des employés. Le maximum des gains assurables¸ quant à lui¸ demeurera à 39 000 $ pour l´année 2003.

Le taux de cotisation de l´employeur peut toutefois être plus bas pour les employeurs offrant un régime d´assurance salaire (RAS) enregistré auprès de la Commission de l´assurance-emploi. À ce jour¸ ces taux réduits ne sont pas connus. Un communiqué vous sera transmis une fois l´information disponible.

Les paramètres relatifs au Régime d´assurance maladie du Québec¸ à la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST) et à la Commission des normes du travail (CNT) ne sont pas disponibles à ce jour. Un communiqué ultérieur vous sera transmis dès que l´information sera publiée.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6