Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The difficult financial position of pension plans

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 5 N. 8, July 2002

It is no longer a secret to anyone that the last quarters have been particularly difficult on pension fund investment returns. While the outlook for 2002 was slightly more positive due to the better performance of the first few months of the year¸ financial scandals at Enron¸ Tyco¸ WorldCom and Xerox¸ have negatively impacted various stock markets worldwide. Therefore¸ the value of the S&P 500 index has practically returned to the same level of the bottom plateau reached on September 21¸ 2001.

Returns for the main market indexes (since 2000) are shown in the following table:


 

Asset CategoryBenchmark Index20002001On June 30 2002

Short-term Securities 91-day Treasury Bills 5.5% 4.7% 1.0%
Canadian Bonds SCM - Universe Index 10.2% 8.1% 2.0%
Canadian Equities S&P/TSX Composite Index(1) 19.0% -8.4% -6.3%
U.S. Equities S&P 500 Index (in CAN $) -5.5% -6.5% -17.2%
International Equities EAFE Index (in CAN $) -10.6% -16.4% -6.0%
Balanced pension fund(2)   8.0% -1.9% -3.9%

(1) The TSE 300 Capped Index before March 22¸ 2002.

(2) Average funds with a reference portfolio consisting of: 5% in Short-Term Securities¸ 40% in Canadian Bonds¸ 30% in Canadian Equities¸ 12.5% in U.S. Equities and 12.5% in International Equities.

General Comments

The year 2002 is lining up to be a second difficult year for pension funds. More specifically¸ the U.S. and international markets are experiencing a third difficult year in a row.

In the last ten quarters¸ the combined return of various market indexes for a balanced pension fund was 0.7% on an annual basis¸ which is significantly lower than the return anticipated in actuarial valuations. Moreover¸ the actuarial value of assets (spreading gains and losses over a period of several years¸ and used for the funding valuation) can be higher than the market value of the assets (which is used for the solvency evaluation). Depending on the date of the next actuarial valuation (required at least every three years)¸ the financial position of certain pension plans could result in deceiving surprises for some employers and pension committees.

In pension funds where the liabilities of retired members constitute a significant part of the actuarial liabilities¸ a strategy of matching the liabilities with assets for this group of members minimizes fluctuation risks regarding the financial position. Pension funds that have implemented this practice over the last few years generally have managed to limit damages¸ without eliminating them completely.

Questions Regarding Current Assumptions and Investment Policies

Given the level of risk premium associated with equities and the current level of expected bond performance¸ it may be time to re-evaluate long-term return assumptions used for funding actuarial valuations (as well as other related assumptions¸ such as the inflation rate). Although assumptions regarding funding must reflect the financial position expected in the long term¸ recent developments in the financial markets are forcing pension committees and their actuaries to review the assumptions to be used in the short term and the current investment policy.

Accounting Expense

Finally¸ we must consider the accounting expense¸ which is significant for some organizations¸ especially if experience gains are presently being amortized. Depending on the method chosen for the use of the "10% corridor"¸ the accounting expense could increase significantly because of the amortization of gains that are lower than in the past¸ or even the amortization of losses¸ on top of lower than expected investment returns caused by low interest rates. The status of income and expenses could also be significantly affected. Even if the organization sponsoring the plan is not subject to these accounting rules¸ pension funds may have invested in stocks that need to comply with these accounting rules.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La situation financière difficile des régimes de retraite

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 5 N. 8, juillet 2008

Ce n´est plus un secret pour personne¸ les derniers trimestres ont été particulièrement difficiles au point de vue des rendements des caisses de retraite. Alors que 2002 s´annonçait comme une année un peu plus positive suite aux bons rendements des premiers mois de l´année¸ des scandales financiers tels Enron¸ Tyco¸ WorldCom et Xerox ont ébranlé les différents marchés boursiers de la planète. À titre d´exemple¸ la valeur de l´indice S&P 500 est pratiquement revenu à son niveau plancher du 21 septembre 2001.

Les rendements des principaux indices de marchés (depuis 2000) sont présentés au tableau suivant :


 

Catégorie à court termeIndice de référence20002001Au 30 juin 2002

Titres à court terme Bons du Trésor 91 jours 5,5 % 4,7 % 1,0 %
Obligations canadiennes Indice MCS-Univers 10,2 % 8,1 % 2,0 %
Actions canadiennes Indice composé S&P/TSX(1) 19,0 % -8,4 % -6,3 %
Actions américaines Indice S&P 500 (en $ can) -5,5 % -6,5 % -17,2 %
Actions internationales Indice EAEO (en $ can) -10,6 % -16,4 % -6,0 %
Caisse de retraite équilibrée(2)   8,0 % -1,9 % -3,9 %

(1) Indice TSE 300 plafonné avant le 22 mars 2002.

(2) Caisse moyenne ayant comme portefeuille de référence : 5 % en titres à court terme¸ 40 % en obligations canadiennes¸ 30 % en actions canadiennes¸ 12¸5 % en actions américaines et 12¸5 % en actions internationales. 

Quelques constats généraux

L´année 2002 s´annonce comme une deuxième année difficile de suite pour les caisses de retraite. Plus spécifiquement¸ les marchés américain et international sont en voie de connaître une troisième année difficile consécutive.

Au cours des dix derniers trimestres¸ le rendement combiné des différents indices de marché pour une caisse de retraite équilibrée a été de 0¸7 % sur une base annualisée¸ soit nettement en deçà du rendement prévu par les évaluations actuarielles. Par ailleurs¸ la valeur actuarielle de l´actif (qui répartit les gains et les pertes de rendement sur quelques années et qui est utilisée pour l´évaluation sur base de provisionnement) pourrait être supérieure à la valeur marchande de l´actif (qui est utilisée pour l´évaluation sur base de solvabilité). Dépendamment de la date de la prochaine évaluation actuarielle (requise au minimum à tous les trois ans)¸ la situation financière de certains régimes de retraite pourrait alors causer des surprises fort désagréables à certains comités de retraite.

Pour les caisses de retraite où le passif des participants retraités constitue une proportion importante du passif actuariel¸ une stratégie d´appariement du passif et de l´actif pour ce groupe de participants minimise les risques de fluctuation de la situation financière. Les caisses de retraite où une telle pratique était en place au cours des dernières années ont généralement réussi à réduire les dégâts¸ sans toutefois les éliminer entièrement.

Questionnement concernant les hypothèses en vigueur et les politiques de placement

Étant donné le niveau de la prime de risque associée aux actions et le niveau actuel de rendement attendu des obligations¸ il y a peut-être lieu de se questionner sur les hypothèses de rendement à long terme utilisées pour les fins d´évaluations actuarielles de provisionnement (et ainsi se questionner sur les autres hypothèses connexes¸ comme le taux d´inflation). Bien que les hypothèses sur base de provisionnement doivent refléter la situation financière attendue à long terme¸ les développements récents des marchés financiers forcent les comités de retraite et leurs actuaires à se questionner sur les hypothèses à utiliser à court terme et sur la politique de placement en vigueur.

Charge comptable

Finalement¸ la gestion de la charge comptable¸ importante pour certaines organisations¸ doit être prise en considération¸ particulièrement si des gains d´expérience sont présentement amortis. Dépendamment de la méthode choisie relativement à l´utilisation du « corridor de 10 % »¸ la charge comptable pourrait augmenter significativement à cause de l´amortissement de gains plus faibles que par le passé¸ ou même de l´amortissement de pertes¸ et ce en plus de revenus d´investissements attendus moins importants à cause du faible niveau des taux d´intérêt. L´état des revenus et dépenses pourrait ainsi être affecté de façon importante. Même si l´organisation qui parraine le régime n´est pas soumise à ces règles comptables¸ les caisses de retraite peuvent investir dans les actions de compagnies qui sont soumises à ces règles comptables.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6