Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Health Care Professional's rates

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 5 N. 6, July 2002

Health Care Professionals: June 2002 rates

It is our pleasure to present the results of our annual survey on current rates for consultations or treatments offered by the majority of "Health Care Professionals". This inquiry was conducted in June 2002.

Firstly¸ professional associations for each specialty were consulted. Please note that these associations do not set mandatory price brackets¸ they only suggest prices to their members. However¸ some associations compile statistics on the basis of their members´ price schedules. These statistics¸ or suggested prices¸ are only valid for the province of Quebec.

We then continued our survey among private clinics from the Montreal and Quebec regions. For the Montreal region¸ three clinics per specialty were consulted for three specific geographical areas¸ namely¸ the South Shore¸ Downtown and remainder of the Montreal Island. An average hourly rate was calculated based on this sample.

For the Quebec region¸ a sample of two clinics per specialty was utilized. The results obtained reveal hourly rates per specialty that are lower than those obtained for the Montreal region. The difference between rates varies substantially depending on the speciality¸ but a reduction of approximately $10 to $15 per speciality compared to the results obtained for the area of Montreal is generally observed.

Overall¸ an average increase in the hourly rates of approximately 2% per specialty is noted compared to the rates effective in July 2001. Take note that although the average increase in rates since July 2001 is low¸ the variation of rates recorded in some specialities are significant.

Since the care provided by these specialists¸ is in most part¸ covered by group insurance plans¸ we believe that the results of our survey will be of great interest to you. It will enable you to compare the results with the maximum amounts eligible for reimbursement under your own plans and make adjustments¸ if you feel they are necessary.

Comparative table of Health Care Professionals´ rates
Survey conducted in June 2002


       Professional Associations (1)  Private clinics (2)
   Specialist1st sessionFollow-ups1st sessionFollow-ups
    Acupuncturist $35 to $55 $35 to $55 $50 $56
    Audiologist and Speech Therapist n/a n/a $103 $82
    Chiropractor $35 $35 $29 (3) $37 (3)
    - X-rays $15 to $35 n/a $60 n/a
    Dietician $70 $70 $63 $68
    Occupational Therapist $35 $35 $47 $40
    Homeopath $60 $60 $60 $57
    Masseur and Massage Therapist $45 to $65 $45 to $65 $53 $53
    Naturopath $40 to $80 $40 to $80 $50 $55
    Osteopath $70 $70 $63 $63
    Physiotherapist $35 to $70 $35 to $70 $50 $50
    Podiatrist $40 to $70 $40 to $70 $60 $58
    Psychologist $60 to $100 $60 to $100 $83 $83


(1) Suggested rate per visit or statistics.

(2) Average hourly rates are based on a sample of 3 clinics consulted in the Montreal region¸ which were¸ whenever possible¸ the same ones used for the July 2001 survey.

(3) Rate per visit. 

 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 5 N. 6, juillet 2002

Spécialistes de la santé : tarifs en vigueur en juin 2002

Il nous fait plaisir de vous présenter les résultats de notre enquête annuelle relative aux tarifs courants exigés pour des consultations ou des traitements donnés par la majorité des « spécialistes de la santé ». Celle-ci a été menée au cours du mois de juin 2002.

Les associations professionnelles de chaque spécialité ont d´abord été consultées. Ces associations ne fixent pas de fourchettes de tarifs obligatoires pour les cliniques privées¸ elles ne font que suggérer des prix à leurs membres. Certaines compilent toutefois des statistiques à partir de la grille de tarifs de leurs membres. Ces statistiques¸ ou tarifs suggérés¸ ne sont valables que pour la province de Québec.

Nous avons par la suite poursuivi notre enquête auprès des cliniques privées des régions de Montréal et de Québec. Pour la région de Montréal¸ trois cliniques par spécialité ont été consultées selon trois secteurs géographiques précis¸ soit la Rive-Sud de Montréal¸ le centre-ville et le reste de l´île de Montréal. Un tarif horaire moyen a été calculé selon cet échantillon.

Pour la région de Québec¸ un échantillon de deux cliniques par spécialité a été utilisé. Les résultats obtenus révèlent des tarifs horaires inférieurs à la région de Montréal. L´écart entre les tarifs varie substantiellement dépendamment des spécialités¸ mais une diminution d´environ 10 $ à 15 $ par spécialité comparativement aux résultats obtenus pour la région de Montréal est généralement observée.

Dans l´ensemble¸ une augmentation moyenne de 2 % des taux horaires a été observée comparativement aux tarifs en vigueur en juillet 2001. Il est cependant important de noter que bien que l´augmentation moyenne des tarifs depuis juillet 2001 soit faible¸ des variations plus ou moins importantes des honoraires par visite ont été enregistrées dans certaines spécialités.

Puisque les soins donnés par ces spécialistes sont¸ pour la plupart¸ couverts par les régimes d´assurance collective¸ nous croyons que les résultats de notre enquête seront d´un grand intérêt pour vous. Vous pourrez ainsi comparer les résultats aux maximums de remboursement de votre propre régime et effectuer les ajustements que vous jugerez opportuns.

Tableau comparatif des tarifs horaires des spécialistes de la santé
Enquête effectuée en juin 2002


       Associations professionnelles(1)  Cliniques privées(2)
   Spécialiste1ère séancesuivis1ère séancesuivis
    Acupuncteur 35 $ à 55 $ 35 $ à 55 $ 50 $ 56 $
    Audiologiste et orthophoniste n. d. n. d. 103 $ 82 $
    Chiropraticien 35 $ 35 $ 29 $ (3) 37 $ (3)
    - radiographies 15 $ à 35 $ s/o 60 $ s/o
    Diététiste 70 $ 70 $ 63 $ 68 $
    Ergothérapeute 35 $ 35 $ 47 $ 40 $
    Homéopathe 60 $ 60 $ 60 $ 57 $
    Masseur et massothérapeute 45 $ à 65 $ 45 $ à 65 $ 53 $ 53 $
    Naturopathe 40 $ à 80 $ 40 $ à 80 $ 50 $ 55 $
    Ostéopathe 70 $ 70 $ 63 $ 63 $
    Physiothérapeute 35 $ à 70 $ 35 $ à 70 $ 50 $ 50 $
    Podiatre 40 $ à 70 $ 40 $ à 70 $ 60 $ 58 $
    Psychologue 60 $ à 100 $ 60 $ à 100 $ 83 $ 83 $

(1) Tarifs suggérés par visite ou statistiques.

(2) Tarifs horaires moyens selon un échantillon de 3 cliniques consultées dans la région de Montréal¸ celles-ci étant en grande majorité les mêmes que celles utilisées lors de notre enquête de juillet 2001.

(3) Frais par visite.  

 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6