Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Ontario to allow administrator discharge upon annuity purchase

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 9, May 2018

On April 3, the Ontario government filed a regulation amending the Pension Benefits Act, which will allow a complete discharge to the administrator of a single employer pension plan following an annuity purchase. The modifications will come into force on July 1, 2018.

Elimination of the boomerang risk

While buy-out annuity purchases are allowed under current Ontario legislation, they do not allow for the complete discharge of liabilities for plan sponsors, except if the plan is terminated. These annuity purchases do not constitute a final settlement of the rights of members affected, as the legislation does not provide for severing the link between the member and the plan. Therefore, should the insurer go bankrupt, the risk that the plan sponsor would be responsible for paying the portion of pensions not covered by Assuris, the non-profit organization that protects Canadian policyholders, remains. This is commonly known as the boomerang risk.

With these latest changes, the Ontario government eliminates the boomerang risk. Ontario is following the lead of British Columbia and Quebec, two provinces that recently amended their legislation to remove this risk.

Requirements for an administrator discharge upon annuity purchase

Administrators who purchase annuities and that wish to obtain a discharge will have to comply with certain requirements, notably:

  • Former members and retired members must be provided with the same benefits following the annuity purchase.
  • Former members and retired members retain their rights to any surplus should the plan be terminated, if the plan text allowed for it at the time of the annuity purchase (whether or not a surplus exists at the time of the annuity purchase).
  • The administrator must notify members affected by the annuity purchase, in accordance with the prescribed requirements. A certificate confirming compliance with the prescribed requirements, prepared and signed by an actuary, must be filed with the Superintendent of Financial Services, as well as a copy of the annuity contract.
  • For a plan that was solvent prior to the annuity purchase, the solvency ratio after the annuity purchase must be at least equal to 100%.
  • For a plan that was insolvent prior to the annuity purchase, the solvency ratio after the annuity purchase must be at least equal to the highest between:
    • the plan’s solvency ratio prior to the annuity purchase
      or
    • 85%
  • If the solvency ratio does not meet the applicable threshold, the sponsor will have to pay a special contribution to the pension fund in the 90 days following the annuity purchase to maintain the solvency ratio at the required level.
 Special contribution examples

The following charts illustrate examples of this special contribution.

Comparing Ontario and Quebec requirements

Quebec has recently modified its legislation to allow a complete discharge to the sponsor of a pension plan following an annuity purchase, with some conditions. Modifications to Ontario’s legislation are different in some aspects. For instance, Ontario will permit a discharge for the rights of former plan members through the purchase of deferred annuities, which is not allowed in Quebec. Also, there is no possibility of a benefit reduction upon plan termination following the sponsor’s bankruptcy, and rights to surplus distributions upon plan termination are maintained for members affected by an annuity purchase in Ontario.

The following table compares some of Ontario’s and Quebec’s requirements for an administrator discharge upon annuity purchase.

 Next steps

As mentioned previously, modifications will come into force on July 1, 2018.  However, the regulation provides that a discharge can also apply to annuity purchases made prior to that date, subject to certain conditions. 

These changes are part of the Ontario pension plan funding reform. Normandin Beaudry’s consultants will continue to closely monitor the progress of legislative changes concerning pension plans and will keep you informed of future developments.

 

For more information on this topic, contact Normandin Beaudry’s consultants.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les achats de rentes avec acquittement final seront permis en Ontario

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 9, mai 2018

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a publié le 3 avril dernier des modifications aux règlements de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite. Ces modifications permettront aux administrateurs de régimes de retraite à employeur unique d’effectuer des achats de rentes avec acquittement final. Elles entreront en vigueur au 1er juillet 2018.

Élimination du risque «boomerang»

Selon la législation actuellement en vigueur en Ontario, bien que les achats de rentes avec rachat des engagements («buy-out annuity») soient permis, ils n’entraînent pas une décharge complète de responsabilités pour les promoteurs de régimes, sauf en cas de terminaison de régime. Ces achats de rentes ne constituent pas un acquittement final des droits des participants visés, puisque la loi ne prévoit pas la rupture du lien entre le participant et le régime. Ainsi, advenant la faillite de l’assureur, le risque que le promoteur du régime soit tenu de payer la portion des rentes assurées qui est non couverte par Assuris, la société à but non lucratif chargée de protéger les assurés canadiens en cas de faillite de leur compagnie d’assurance, demeure. Ce risque est souvent appelé le risque «boomerang».

Avec les modifications réglementaires apportées, le gouvernement de l’Ontario permet l’élimination du risque «boomerang». L’Ontario emboite donc le pas de la Colombie-Britannique et du Québec qui ont également modifié leur législation afin d’éliminer ce risque.

Exigences liées à un achat de rentes avec acquittement final

Les administrateurs qui voudront se prévaloir d’un achat de rentes avec acquittement final devront néanmoins se conformer à certaines exigences, notamment :

  • Les prestations des anciens participants et des participants retraités devront être les mêmes après l’achat de rentes.
  • Les anciens participants et les participants retraités conserveront leur droit au surplus advenant une terminaison du régime, si le règlement du régime le prévoyait au moment de l’achat de rentes (qu’il y ait un surplus ou non au moment de l’achat de rentes).
  • L’administrateur devra aviser les participants visés par l’achat de rentes conformément aux exigences prescrites. Une attestation confirmant le respect des exigences prescrites, préparée et signée par un actuaire, devra être déposée auprès du Surintendant des services financiers, de même qu’une copie du contrat de rente. 
  • Pour un régime solvable avant l’achat de rentes, le ratio de solvabilité après l’achat de rentes devra être au moins égal à 100 %.
  • Pour un régime non solvable avant l’achat de rentes, le ratio de solvabilité après l’achat de rentes devra être au moins égal au plus élevé entre :
    • le ratio de solvabilité du régime avant l’achat de rentes 
      ou
    • 85 %.
  • Si le ratio de solvabilité est inférieur, le promoteur devra, dans les 90 jours suivant l’achat de rentes, verser à la caisse du régime une cotisation spéciale afin que le ratio de solvabilité atteigne le niveau requis, selon le cas applicable. 
Exemples d’application de la cotisation spéciale

Les graphiques suivants illustrent des exemples d’application de cette cotisation spéciale.
 

Comparaison des exigences de l’Ontario et du Québec

Depuis peu, la législation du Québec permet également les achats de rentes avec acquittement final, sous certaines conditions. Les modifications apportées à la législation de l’Ontario divergent toutefois sur certains aspects. Parmi ces divergences, mentionnons qu’il sera possible en Ontario de procéder à un acquittement final des droits des anciens participants du régime par un achat de rentes différées, contrairement au Québec. Mentionnons également l’absence de possibilités d’une réduction de la rente à la terminaison du régime advenant une faillite du promoteur, de même que le maintien du droit au surplus à la terminaison du régime pour les participants visés par un achat de rentes en Ontario.

Le tableau suivant compare certaines exigences de l’Ontario et du Québec relativement à l’achat de rentes avec acquittement final.

Prochaines étapes

Comme mentionné d’entrée de jeu, les modifications entreront en vigueur au 1er juillet 2018. Le règlement prévoit toutefois la possibilité de procéder à un acquittement final pour les achats de rentes effectués avant cette date, sous certaines conditions.

Ces modifications s’inscrivent dans la réforme entreprise par le gouvernement de l’Ontario pour le financement des régimes de retraite. Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry continuent de suivre de près l’évolution des modifications législatives visant les régimes de retraite. Ils vous tiendront informés des développements.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6