Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2018 Bulletins

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 13, July 2018
New financial parameters for Quebec's prescription drug insurance plan

Every July 1, the Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec adjusts the public prescription drug insurance plan’s financial parameters to take into account the increase or decrease in plan costs.

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 12, July 2018
Ontario's universal drug program: back to square one

Last year, we informed you that Ontario would offer a free universal drug program, OHIP+, to children and youth under the age of 25. This plan came into effect on January 1, 2018.

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 11, June 2018
Quebec pay equity maintenance audit—Supreme Court judgment

On May 10, the Supreme Court of Canada upheld judgments by the Superior Court of Québec (2014) and the Québec Court of Appeal (2016), namely that sections 76.3, 76.5 and section 103.1 paragraph 2 of the Pay Equity Act (hereinafter the “Act”) are unconstitutional.

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 10, June 2018
Accounting standards applicable to future group benefits: Assumptions used by Canadian organizations

Several private sector organizations must include the recognition of their obligations toward defined benefit pension plans (DB plans) and group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-retirement benefits) in their financial statements.

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 9, May 2018
Ontario to allow administrator discharge upon annuity purchase

On April 3, the Ontario government filed a regulation amending the Pension Benefits Act, which will allow a complete discharge to the administrator of a single employer pension plan following an annuity purchase. The modifications will come into force on July 1, 2018.

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 8, May 2018
Adoption of new funding rules for Ontario's Defined Benefit Pension Plans

The regulation under the Ontario Pension Benefits Act was filed on April 20, 2018, comes into force on May 1, 2018. This means the new funding rules for defined benefit pension plans are now official.

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 7, April 2018
Towards a national pharmacare program?

Last month, as part of the annual budget, the federal government announced the creation of an advisory council that will study the possibility of a national pharmacare program in Canada. This council will be chaired by former Ontario health minister Eric Hoskins. One of Hoskins’ major accomplishments was the implementation of OHIP+, a free universal drug coverage for all Ontarians under the age of 25.

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 6, April 2018
Substance use in the workplace: Are you ready?

With the impending legalization of marijuana for recreational use, it is in the best interest of organizations to reflect on the position they wish to adopt as regards employee health and safety.

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 5, March 2018
Ban on differences in treatment clauses in pension plans and other employee benefits

On March 20, the Quebec government introduced Bill 176, An Act to amend the Act respecting labour standards and other legislative provisions mainly to facilitate family-work balance, which includes the prohibition of “any distinction made solely on the basis of a hiring date, in relation to pension plans or other employee benefits, that affects employees performing the same tasks in the same establishment.”
 

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 4, February 2018
2017 tax credit for medical expenses

For the 2017 tax year, Canadian taxpayers could be entitled to a tax credit ranging from 4% to 20% of medical expenses(1) incurred for themselves or their dependants. The credit is subject to certain conditions and depends on the province or territory of residence.

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 3, January 2018
Proposed changes to Ontario’s PBGF contribution formula

The Ontario government’s proposed new funding framework includes unproclaimed amendments to the Pension Benefits Act that would increase the guarantee provided by the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund (PBGF) by 50%—from $1,000 to $1,500 per month—in the event a defined benefit pension plan would wind up with insufficient funds.

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 2, January 2018
The ten most important developments in drug insurance in 2017

For private plan sponsors seeking to contain costs, any new development in the world of drug insurance may represent an opportunity to save money, or a risk to be avoided.

NB Bulletin Vol. 21 No. 1, January 2018
2018 Social Security Programs Parameters

As is our custom, we wish to inform you of the parameters that will be used by the major social security programs this year.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Communiqués 2018

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 13, juillet 2018
Nouveaux paramètres financiers du régime d’assurance médicaments du Québec

Au 1er juillet de chaque année, la Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec ajuste les paramètres financiers applicables au régime public d’assurance médicaments afin de tenir compte de l’accroissement ou de la diminution des coûts du régime.

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 12, juillet 2018
Régime universel d'assurance médicaments en Ontario : retour à la case départ

L’année dernière, nous vous informions que l’Ontario offrirait gratuitement un régime universel d’assurance médicaments, l’Assurance-santé Plus, aux personnes de moins de 25 ans. Ce régime est officiellement en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2018.

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 11, juin 2018
Évaluation du maintien de l’équité salariale — Décision de la Cour suprême

Le 10 mai dernier, la Cour suprême du Canada confirmait les conclusions de la Cour Supérieure du Québec en 2014 et de la Cour d’appel du Québec en 2016, à savoir l’inconstitutionnalité des articles 76.3 et 76.5 ainsi que du second alinéa de l’article 103.1 de la Loi sur l’équité salariale.

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 10, juin 2018
Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : hypothèses utilisées par les organisations canadiennes

Plusieurs organisations du secteur privé doivent inclure dans leurs états financiers la reconnaissance des engagements pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« régimes PD ») et pour les régimes d’assurance collective offerts aux retraités (« autres avantages après la retraite »).

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 9, mai 2018
Les achats de rentes avec acquittement final seront permis en Ontario

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a publié le 3 avril dernier des modifications aux règlements de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite. Ces modifications permettront aux administrateurs de régimes de retraite à employeur unique d’effectuer des achats de rentes avec acquittement final. Elles entreront en vigueur au 1er juillet 2018.

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 8, mai 2018
Adoption des nouvelles règles de financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées en Ontario

Le règlement de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite de l’Ontario a été déposé le 20 avril 2018 et entrera en vigueur le 1er mai 2018. L’application des nouvelles mesures de financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées est ainsi officialisée.

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 7, avril 2018
En route vers un programme national d'assurance-médicaments?

Le mois dernier, dans le cadre de son budget annuel, le gouvernement fédéral annonçait la création d’une commission chargée d’évaluer la possibilité d’un programme national d’assurance-médicaments au Canada. Ce comité sera présidé par Eric Hoskins qui était, jusqu’à l’annonce, le ministre de la Santé de l’Ontario. Une de ses réalisations majeures est d’avoir mis en œuvre l’Assurance-santé Plus, soit une couverture de médicaments gratuite pour tous les Ontariens de moins de 25 ans.

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 6, avril 2018
Employés « gelés » au travail : êtes-vous prêt?

À l’approche de la légalisation de la marijuana à des fins récréatives, les organisations ont tout intérêt à se questionner dès maintenant sur le positionnement qu’elle souhaite adopter en matière de santé et sécurité des employés.

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 5, mars 2018
Interdiction des clauses de disparités de traitement dans les régimes de retraite et d’avantages sociaux

Le 20 mars dernier, le gouvernement du Québec a déposé le projet de loi 176 intitulé Loi modifiant la Loi sur les normes du travail et d'autres dispositions législatives afin principalement de faciliter la conciliation famille-travail, lequel prévoit notamment l’interdiction de toute « distinction fondée uniquement sur une date d’embauche, relativement à des régimes de retraite ou à d’autres avantages sociaux, qui affecte des salariés effectuant les mêmes tâches dans le même établissement ».

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 4, février 2018
Crédit d’impôt 2017 pour frais médicaux

Pour l’année d’imposition 2017, un contribuable canadien pourrait se voir accorder un crédit d’impôt variant entre 4 % et 20 % de ses dépenses engagées pour des frais médicaux(1), pour lui-même ou pour certaines personnes à sa charge. Le crédit est accordé sous certaines réserves et varie en fonction de la province ou du territoire de résidence.

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 3, janvier 2018
Changements proposés à la formule de cotisation au FGPR

Le nouveau cadre de capitalisation proposé par le gouvernement de l’Ontario inclut des modifications non proclamées à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite.

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 2, janvier 2018
Les 10 événements marquants de 2017 en assurance médicaments

Pour les promoteurs de régime privé intéressés à réduire leurs coûts, chaque nouveauté sur la scène de l’assurance médicaments peut représenter une occasion d’économie à saisir, ou un risque à éviter.

Communiqué NB Vol. 21 N. 1, janvier 2018
Les programmes de sécurité sociale : nouveaux paramètres pour 2018

Fidèles à notre habitude, nous vous informons des paramètres qui seront utilisés par les principaux programmes de sécurité sociale cette année.