Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Modification to the funding framework for defined benefit pension plans in Ontario - transitional measures

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20, N. 11, July 2017

Following the release on May 19, 2017 of the broad outline of its reform on the funding of defined benefit pension plans (see Normandin Beaudry’s May 2017 bulletin), the Ontario government filed a regulation on June 29, 2017 introducing transitional measures which came into force on July 1, 2017. These measures are only applicable for the first actuarial valuation filed with a valuation date on or after December 31, 2016 and before December 31, 2017, since a draft legislation for the permanent measures is expected in the fall of 2017.

The regulation introduces a new relief option to the existing relief measures for the funding of the solvency deficiency. Administrators of pension plans can therefore decide to defer the beginning of special payments to fund any new solvency deficiency for up to 24 months. As a reminder, current permanent funding measures allow to defer any new special amortization payments required to fund a deficit for a period of up to 12 months.

However, administrators who elect to use this new measure will not be allowed to fund this new solvency deficiency over a 10-year period (already existing relief measure that is subject to the consent of the members). The amortization period for the solvency deficiency will remain over 5 years should the new measure be chosen.

Many questions remain regarding the permanent measures to come, namely :

  • the level of the solvency deficiency that needs to be funded should the solvency ratio of a plan be less than 85%
  • the level of the reserve that plans will have to maintain to manage future risks and provide protection to members

Plan sponsors may therefore consider this new measure with a reserved enthusiasm. Although the measure prevents an increase of special payments on a solvency basis for 2017, it does not eliminate nor reduce special payments required to be made on a solvency basis. Plan sponsors will therefore have to wait until the release of the permanent measures for which the content is expected in the fall of 2017.

Normandin Beaudry’s consultants will continue to closely monitor the progress of legislative changes concerning pension plans and will keep you informed of future developments.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Modification des règles de financement en Ontario - Mesures de transition

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 11, juillet 2017

Suite à la publication le 19 mai dernier des grandes lignes de sa réforme sur le financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (voir à cet effet notre communiqué de mai 2017), le gouvernement de l’Ontario a déposé le 29 juin 2017 un règlement introduisant des mesures transitoires entrant en vigueur le 1er juillet 2017. Ces mesures s’appliquent uniquement à la première évaluation actuarielle dont la date tombe le 31 décembre 2016 ou après et avant le 31 décembre 2017 puisque des mesures permanentes sont attendues par le dépôt d’un projet de loi l’automne prochain.

Ce règlement introduit une nouvelle option aux mesures d’allègement pour le financement du déficit de solvabilité. Les administrateurs de régimes peuvent choisir de reporter d’au plus 24 mois le début de la période de versement des paiements spéciaux pour acquitter tout nouveau déficit de solvabilité. Rappelons que les mesures de financement permanentes permettent de reporter d’au plus 12 mois le début de tout nouveau paiement spécial requis pour financer un déficit.

En revanche, un administrateur qui choisirait de se prévaloir de cette nouvelle mesure n’aurait pas la possibilité de choisir une période d’amortissement de 10 ans pour ce nouveau déficit de solvabilité (mesure d’allègement déjà existante sujette au consentement des participants) et devra plutôt amortir ce déficit sur une période de 5 ans.

Plusieurs questions demeurent en suspens relativement aux nouvelles mesures permanentes notamment :

  • le niveau de déficit de solvabilité devant être financé lorsque le ratio de solvabilité d’un régime est inférieur à 85 %
  • le niveau de la réserve dont les régimes devront se doter pour gérer les risques futurs et assurer une protection aux participants

La plupart des promoteurs de régimes accueilleront donc probablement cette nouvelle mesure avec un enthousiasme mitigé. En effet, bien qu’elle puisse permettre aux promoteurs d’éviter une hausse des cotisations selon la base de solvabilité en 2017, elle ne permettra pas d’éliminer ni de réduire les paiements actuels liés au déficit de solvabilité. Les promoteurs devront patienter et attendre les mesures permanentes, dont la teneur serait précisée l’automne prochain.

Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry continuent de suivre de près l’évolution des modifications législatives visant les régimes de retraite et vous tiendront informés des développements futurs.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6