Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

New universal drug program in Ontario

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20 N. 8, May 2017

On April 27, 2017, the Ontario government tabled its budget for the coming year. This budget provides that, beginning January 1, 2018, Ontario would offer a free universal drug program, OHIP+, for children and youth under the age of 25. We are still waiting for the bill to confirm this new plan.

Listed below are the key features of this new universal program:

  • Coverage for Ontarians under the age of 25, regardless of their current coverage or the availability of private coverage 
  • Coverage for over 4,400 drugs, i.e., the same coverage offered under the Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) Program
  • First payer 
  • No deductible 
  • No co-payment; and
  • No annual premium 

In addition, OHIP+ will cover drugs listed under the Exceptional Access Program, which will provide access to many expensive drugs, including drugs used to treat cancer and rare diseases. 

Impacts on private group benefits plans

Private plans sponsors should initiate a reflection process in anticipation of the adoption of OHIP+. Outlined below are a few things that should be included in this reflection, if the Ontario program were to be adopted in its current version on January 1, 2018:

Pricing

Group benefits plan premiums for Ontarians will need to be reviewed. National organizations should therefore examine the need to establish separate pricing for their Ontario members. They should quickly check with their insurer to find out whether their administrative and contractual structure allows for such an adjustment.

Eligibility of dependents

Organizations should consider upon the definition of eligibility of dependent children, taking into account distinct provincial particularities. Most group benefits plans in Canada currently allow students to remain insured if they are under age 26. Ontario's new program will cover only youth under age 25.

List of drugs covered

Many private plans cover a list of drugs that is more generous than the ODB list. Organizations should determine whether or not they want to continue to offer this expanded list and act as the first payer for drugs not covered by OHIP+.

This new program would bring a number of changes if adopted. Reflection is therefore necessary as well as a possible review of certain private group benefits plan parameters.

The Normandin Beaudry specialists will continue to monitor any developments relating to OHIP+. They can offer you guidance on the impacts for your organization.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Nouveau régime universel d'assurance-médicaments en Ontario

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 8, mai 2017

Le 27 avril dernier, le gouvernement ontarien déposait son budget pour la prochaine année. Ce budget prévoit qu’à compter du 1er janvier 2018, l’Ontario offrirait un régime universel gratuit d’assurance-médicaments, l’Assurance-santé Plus, pour les enfants et jeunes de moins de 25 ans. Nous sommes toujours en attente du projet de loi qui viendra confirmer ce régime.

Voici les grandes lignes de ce nouveau régime universel :

  • Couverture pour tous les Ontariens de moins de 25 ans, sans égard à leur couverture actuelle ou à la disponibilité d’une couverture privée
  • Couverture de plus de 4 400 médicaments, soit la même couverture que le Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario (PMO)
  • Premier payeur
  • Aucune franchise
  • Aucune coassurance
  • Aucune prime annuelle

De plus, l’Assurance-santé Plus couvrira les médicaments du Programme d’accès exceptionnel, ce qui permettra l’accès à de nombreux médicaments coûteux, notamment pour le traitement de maladies rares ou du cancer.

Effets sur les régimes privés d’assurance collective

En prévision de l’adoption de l’Assurance-santé Plus, une réflexion devrait être entamée chez les promoteurs de régime privé. Voici quelques éléments qui devraient faire partie de cette réflexion si le régime ontarien était adopté tel quel au 1er janvier 2018 :

Tarification

La prime des régimes d’assurance collective pour les Ontariens devra être revue. Ainsi, les organisations pancanadiennes devraient se questionner sur la nécessité d’établir une tarification distincte pour leurs participants de l’Ontario. Elles devraient valider rapidement avec leur assureur si leur structure administrative et contractuelle permet une telle adaptation.

Admissibilité des personnes à charge

Les organisations devraient aussi réfléchir à la définition d’admissibilité des enfants à charge, et ce, en prenant en considération les particularités provinciales. Actuellement, la plupart des régimes d’assurance collective autorisent les étudiants à demeurer assurés s’ils ont moins de 26 ans à l’échelle canadienne, alors que le nouveau régime ontarien ne couvrira que les moins de 25 ans. 

Liste des médicaments couverts

Plusieurs régimes privés couvrent une liste de médicaments plus généreuse que le PMO. Les organisations devraient alors déterminer si elles veulent continuer à offrir cette liste élargie et agir en tant que premier payeur pour les médicaments non couverts par l’Assurance-santé Plus.

Bref, ce nouveau régime apporterait son lot de changements, s'il est adopté. Il faut donc y réfléchir et possiblement revoir certains paramètres des régimes privés d’assurance collective.

Les spécialistes de Normandin Beaudry continueront à suivre les développements à ce sujet. Ils peuvent vous guider sur les effets propres à votre organisation.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6