Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2016 Tax Credit for Medical Expenses

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20 N. 6, February 2017

For the 2016 tax year, a tax credit ranging from 4% to 20% of incurred medical expenses(1) could be granted to Canadian taxpayers. The credit is subject to certain conditions and depends on the province or territory of residence. 

Compared with 2015, besides the indexing of the minimum threshold to qualify for a tax credit in certain provinces and territories, and the credit rate increase in Newfoundland and Labrador, no changes have been made in relation to the tax credit calculation or to the eligible expenses. 

To consult the information bulletin published by Normandin Beaudry in 2016, click here.

Eligible expenses

Below are a few examples of eligible medical expenses (maximums may apply). Please note that tax credits cannot be claimed for the portion of eligible expenses that is reimbursed through an insurance plan. 

  • Deductible, co-insurance or other medical expenses not reimbursed by insurance plans 
  • Payments made to a physician, dentist, nurse or certain other medical professionals 
  • Payments made to a public hospital or licensed private hospital 
  • Premiums paid by the taxpayer to a private health services plan for health and dental care insurance coverage. Quebec residents can also include premiums paid by the employer on their provincial income tax return (Box J of the RL-1 slip or box B of the RL-22 slip) 
  • Payments for eyeglasses, contact lenses or other devices prescribed by a physician or optometrist for the treatment or correction of a visual disorder 
  • Amounts paid to purchase drugs prescribed by a physician to obtain an artificial limb, a wheelchair, crutches or a hearing aid

For a complete list of eligible expenses, consult Document RC4065 "Medical Expenses 2016" issued by the Canada Revenue Agency. For residents of Quebec, consult Brochure IN-130 "Medical Expenses" issued by the provincial government.

Eligibility criteria

Taxpayers can claim tax credits for eligible medical expenses for themselves and for their spouse and their dependent children under 18 years of age. If applicable, taxpayers may also include medical expenses for their other dependents, i.e. individuals that they supported and that lived with them, or were dependent on them because of a disability. A dependent can be a child of 18 years of age or older, a parent or almost any other individual related to the taxpayer.

To qualify as eligible expenses, the medical expenses must have been paid during a period of 12 consecutive months ending in 2016. Medical expenses paid in 2015 can thus qualify as long as the time between the payment of the first expenses claimed and the payment date of the last expenses does not exceed 12 months. Expenses submitted for a tax credit must not have been used in the 2015 tax return and must have been paid no later than December 31, 2016.

To qualify for a tax credit, the total eligible medical expenses must typically exceed the lesser of the following amounts: 

(A) 3% of the taxpayer's net income for the tax year 
or
(B) an amount that varies depending on the government authority and the province or territory of residence 

It is important to note that credits in excess of the amount of the income tax to be paid are not reimbursed (non-refundable credits). 

We invite you to read the next section to learn about aspects specific to each province and territory, especially Quebec. 

Specific aspects by province and territory 

At the federal level and in the rest of Canada, excluding the province of Quebec, taxpayers must declare separately their medical expenses (including medical expenses for their spouse and dependent children under 18 years of age), and their medical expenses for other eligible dependents. The total eligible medical expenses for other dependents must therefore exceed the lesser of the previous amounts of each dependent's net income. 

Other aspects pertaining to eligible expenses and the tax credit calculation are specific to the taxpayer's province or territory of residence. Therefore, it is important to always consult the appropriate income tax guide. 

For example, the threshold to qualify for a tax credit in 2016 (see B of the previous section) is $2,237 at the federal level and varies between $1,637 and $2,384 for provinces and territories. Although expenses incurred by dependents other than the spouse and dependent children under 18 years of age are no longer subject to a maximum (at the federal level and in most provinces and territories), a maximum continues to apply in Ontario ($12,214) and in the Northwest Territories ($5,000). Moreover, medical expenses used to calculate the amount claimed for medical expenses on a taxpayer's tax return cannot be used on the spouse's tax return. Please note that it may be advantageous to claim all of the medical expenses on the tax return of the spouse with the lower income. 

Quebec tax credit calculation 

Unlike elsewhere in Canada, in Quebec, a single tax credit applies to the taxpayer and all of his or her eligible dependents. 

To qualify for a tax credit, the total eligible medical expenses must exceed 3% of the family income. There is no maximum credit for each dependent. Thus, in Quebec, there is no tax benefit to claiming all of the medical expenses on the tax return of the spouse with the lower income. Moreover, medical expenses used to calculate the amount claimed for medical expenses on a taxpayer's tax return cannot be used on the spouse's tax return.

The information presented in this bulletin does not constitute an official opinion for tax purposes. For more information regarding tax returns, please consult a tax professional or visit the Canada Revenue Agency website at cra-arc.gc.ca and the Ministère du Revenu du Québec website at revenuquebec.ca.


(1) Lines 330 and 331 of the federal tax return, line 381 of the Quebec tax return and lines 5868 and 5872 of the other provincial and territorial tax returns.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Crédit d’impôt 2016 pour frais médicaux

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 6, février 2017

Pour l’année d’imposition 2016, un contribuable canadien pourrait se voir accorder un crédit d'impôt variant entre 4 % et 20 % de ses dépenses engagées pour des frais médicaux(1). Le crédit est accordé sous certaines réserves et varie en fonction de la province ou du territoire de résidence.

Si l’on compare à 2015, outre l’indexation de seuils minimaux donnant droit à un crédit d’impôt dans certaines provinces ou territoires et l’augmentation du taux du crédit de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador, aucune modification n’a été apportée au calcul du crédit d’impôt et aux frais admissibles.

Pour consulter le communiqué que Normandin Beaudry a publié en 2016, cliquez ici.

Frais admissibles

Voici quelques exemples de frais médicaux admissibles (des maximums peuvent s'appliquer). Notez que la portion des frais médicaux qui est remboursée par un régime d'assurance n'est pas admissible.

  • La franchise, la coassurance ou d'autres frais médicaux non remboursés par un régime d'assurance
  • Les paiements versés à un médecin, à un dentiste, à un infirmier ou à certains autres professionnels de la santé
  • Les paiements versés à un hôpital public ou à un hôpital privé agréé
  • Les primes versées par le contribuable à un régime privé d'assurance maladie pour les protections d'assurance santé et d'assurance soins dentaires. Les résidents du Québec peuvent inclure à leur déclaration provinciale les primes payées par leur employeur (case J du relevé 1 ou case B du relevé 22)
  • Le paiement de lunettes, de lentilles cornéennes ou d'autres appareils de traitement ou de correction des troubles visuels prescrits par un médecin ou un optométriste
  • Les frais payés pour obtenir des médicaments qui nécessitent une prescription ou pour obtenir un membre artificiel, un fauteuil roulant, des béquilles ou une prothèse auditive

Pour une liste exhaustive des frais admissibles, consultez le document RC4065 « Frais médicaux 2016 » de l'Agence du revenu du Canada. Pour les résidents du Québec, consultez la brochure IN-130 « Les frais médicaux » publiée par le gouvernement provincial.

Critères d'admissibilité

Le contribuable peut inclure ses dépenses ainsi que celles de son conjoint et de ses enfants à charge de moins de 18 ans. S’il y a lieu, il peut aussi inclure les dépenses de certaines autres personnes à sa charge (c'est-à-dire les personnes pour lesquelles il a subvenu aux besoins et qui habitaient avec lui, ou qui ont été à sa charge en raison d'un handicap). Il peut s'agir des enfants de 18 ans ou plus, des parents ou de la plupart des personnes ayant un lien de parenté avec le contribuable.

Pour être considérés admissibles, les frais médicaux doivent avoir été payés au cours d'une période de 12 mois consécutifs se terminant en 2016. Ainsi, il est possible de considérer des frais médicaux payés en 2015, à condition que la période séparant la date de paiement des premiers frais soumis et la date de paiement des derniers frais soumis n'excède pas 12 mois. Les frais faisant ainsi l'objet d'une demande de crédit ne doivent pas avoir été considérés aux fins de la déclaration de revenus 2015 et doivent avoir été payés au plus tard le 31 décembre 2016.

Pour donner droit à un crédit d'impôt, le total des frais médicaux admissibles doit généralement dépasser le plus petit des montants suivants :

(A) 3 % du revenu du contribuable pour l'année d'imposition
ou
(B) montant variant selon l'instance gouvernementale et la province ou le territoire de résidence

Il est à noter que les crédits pour frais médicaux qui excèdent le montant d'impôt à payer du contribuable ne lui sont pas versés (crédits non remboursables).

Nous vous invitons à consulter la section suivante pour connaître les particularités propres à chacune des provinces et des territoires, dont celles spécifiques au Québec.

Particularités par province et par territoire

Au fédéral et dans tout le Canada, excluant la province de Québec, le contribuable doit déclarer de façon distincte ses dépenses, incluant les dépenses pour le conjoint et les enfants à charge de moins de 18 ans, et ses dépenses pour les autres personnes à charge admissibles. Le total des frais médicaux admissibles pour les autres personnes à charge doit alors dépasser le moindre des montants décrits précédemment selon le revenu de chacune de ses personnes à charge.

D’autres particularités existent quant aux frais admissibles et au calcul du crédit d'impôt selon la province ou le territoire de résidence du contribuable. Il est donc important de toujours se référer au guide de déclaration de revenus propre à sa situation.

Par exemple, le seuil donnant droit au crédit d'impôt en 2016 (voir (B) section précédente) est de 2 237 $ au fédéral et varie entre 1 637 $ et 2 384 $ pour les provinces et les territoires. Bien que les frais engagés à l’égard des personnes à charge, autres que le conjoint et les enfants à charge de moins de 18 ans, ne soient plus limités à un montant maximal au fédéral et dans la majorité des provinces, deux provinces ont conservé un maximum, soit l’Ontario (12 214 $) et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (5 000 $). De plus, les frais médicaux ayant servi au calcul du montant pour frais médicaux dans la déclaration d’un contribuable ne peuvent être utilisés dans la déclaration du conjoint. Veuillez noter qu’il peut être avantageux d’octroyer les frais médicaux au conjoint ayant le revenu le moins élevé. 

Calcul du crédit d'impôt au Québec

Contrairement au reste du Canada, le calcul du crédit d'impôt québécois se fait de façon globale pour le contribuable et l'ensemble de ses personnes à charge admissibles.

Pour donner droit à un crédit d'impôt, le total des frais médicaux admissibles doit toujours dépasser 3 % du revenu familial. Ainsi, au Québec, aucun avantage fiscal ne découle de l'attribution des frais médicaux au conjoint ayant le revenu le moins élevé. Veuillez noter qu’il n'y a aucun crédit maximal par personne à charge. De plus, les frais médicaux ayant servi au calcul du montant pour frais médicaux dans la déclaration d’un contribuable ne peuvent être utilisés dans la déclaration du conjoint.

L’information présentée dans ce bulletin ne constitue pas une opinion fiscale. Pour plus de renseignements sur les déclarations de revenus, veuillez consulter un fiscaliste ou les sites Internet de l’Agence du revenu du Canada et du Ministère du Revenu du Québec aux adresses suivantes : cra-arc.gc.ca et revenuquebec.ca.


(1) Lignes 330 et 331 de la déclaration fédérale, 381 de la déclaration provinciale au Québec, 5868 et 5872 des autres déclarations provinciales et territoriales.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6