Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2017 Social Security Programs Parameters

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20 N. 4, January 2017

As in previous years, we inform you about the parameters that will be used by the major social security programs in 2017.

Quebec Pension Plan and Canada Pension Plan

YMPE

The Year’s Maximum Pensionable Earnings (YMPE) for 2017 is $55,300, an increase of 0.7% over the 2016 YMPE of $54,900. The basic exemption remains at the current level of $3,500, which is the level applicable since January 1st, 1998.

Annual Contribution

Employee and employer contribution rates for the Quebec Pension Plan increase from 5.325% to 5.400% of contributory earnings in 2017, for an annual maximum contribution of $2,797.20. For the Canada Pension Plan, the employee and employer contribution rates remain at 4.950% of contributory earnings in 2017, for an annual maximum contribution of $2,544.30.

Monthly Pension

The maximum monthly retirement pension at age 65 for the Quebec Pension Plan and the Canada Pension Plan is set at $1,114.17 for 2017, based on the average YMPE over the last five years.

Employment Insurance

The Employment Insurance premium rate for employees in Quebec decreases by $0.25 per $100 of insurable employee earnings effective January 1st, 2017. The premium rate for employees in Quebec therefore decreases from $1.52 to $1.27. As for employers, they continue to contribute 1.4 times the employee rate so their premium rate will move down from approximately $2.128 to $1.778. These rates consider the Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP) in place since January 1st, 2006.

The Employment Insurance premium rate for employees outside Quebec also decreases by $0.25 per $100 of insurable employee earnings effective January 1st, 2017. The premium rate for employees outside Quebec therefore decreases from $1.88 to $1.63. As for employers, they continue to contribute 1.4 times the employee rate so their premium rate will move down from approximately $2.632 to $2.282 per $100 of insurable employee earnings.

The maximum insurable earnings increases from $50,800 to $51,300 for 2017.

Employer contributions can be further reduced for those offering a salary continuation program (SCP) registered with the Employment Insurance Commission. There are four types of SCPs each offering a unique Employment Insurance premium rate reduction:

Type 1: SCP based on the accumulation of paid sick days of at least one day per month and a maximum of at least 75 days.

Type 2: SCP based on the accumulation of paid sick days of at least one day and 2/3 per month and a maximum of 
at least 125 days.

Type 3: SCP providing a weekly indemnity1 for at least 15 weeks.

Type 4: SCP providing a weekly indemnity1 for at least 52 weeks (this reduction is only available to employers of public and para-public sectors).

It is also important to note that Employment Insurance waiting period has been revised from two to one week effective on January 1st, 2017 as indicated in our November 2016 bulletin. Hence, to remain eligible for a reduced premium rate, the SCP would have to provide a maximum waiting period of one week. The organisations will have until January 2, 2021 to comply with this new requirement.

Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP)

The QPIP contribution rates remain unchanged in 2017, and are set at 0.548% for employees, 0.767% for employers and 0.973% for self-employed workers. The maximum insurable income increases from $71,500 to $72,500 for 2017.

Health Services Fund Contribution

For certain public sector employers and companies with a total payroll of more than $5 million, the current contribution rate remains unchanged in 2017. This rate is set at 4.26% of total payroll. For companies with a total payroll of less than $1 million, the rate will decrease from 2.70% to 2.50% of total payroll in 2017. For companies which have a total payroll of more than $1 million but less than $5 million, the rate will also decrease in 2017 according to the following formula:

Note that some employers of the primary sector and the manufacturing sector are eligible to a reduced contribution rate.

Commission des normes, de l'équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail

The current contribution rate will decrease as of January 1st, 2017, from 0.08% to 0.07% of insurable earnings. The maximum insurable earnings subject to contribution increases from $71,500 to $72,500 for 2017.

In Quebec, the minimum hourly wage is currently at $10.75.


Download the
Summary of the premiums and tax related to public health insurance plans
for all Canadian provinces and territories in 2017


1 The SCP weekly indemnity must be at least equal to the benefits provided by the Employment Insurance.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les programmes de sécurité sociale : nouveaux paramètres pour 2017

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 4, janvier 2017

Comme chaque année, nous vous informons des paramètres qui seront utilisés par les principaux programmes de sécurité sociale en 2017.

Régime de rentes du Québec et Régime de pensions du Canada

MGA

Le maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) est de 55 300 $ pour 2017, ce qui représente une hausse de 0,7 % par rapport au MGA de 2016, qui s’établissait à 54 900 $. L’exemption générale est fixée à 3 500 $ depuis le 1er janvier 1998. 

Cotisations annuelles

Pour le Régime de rentes du Québec, le taux de cotisation pour les employés et l’employeur passe de 5,325 % à 5,400 % des gains cotisables en 2017, pour une cotisation annuelle maximale de 2 797,20 $. Quant au Régime de pensions du Canada, le taux de cotisation pour les employés et l’employeur demeure à 4,950 % des gains cotisables en 2017, pour une cotisation annuelle maximale de 2 544,30 $.

Rente mensuelle

Finalement, la rente mensuelle maximale de retraite à 65 ans, calculée sur la base des MGA des cinq dernières années, s’établit à 1 114,17 $ en 2017, tant pour le Régime de rentes du Québec que pour le Régime de pensions du Canada.

Assurance-emploi

Le taux de cotisation des employés du Québec au régime fédéral d’assurance-emploi diminuera à compter du 1er janvier 2017 de 0,25 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable, passant ainsi de 1,52 $ à 1,27 $. Pour leur part, les employeurs continuent de verser 1,4 fois le taux des employés, voyant ainsi leur taux de cotisation passer d’environ 2,128 $ à 1,778 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable des employés du Québec. Ces taux tiennent compte de l’existence du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale (RQAP) depuis le 1er janvier 2006.

Le taux de cotisation des employés hors Québec au régime fédéral d’assurance-emploi diminuera également de 0,25 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable à compter du 1er janvier 2017 passant ainsi de 1,88 $ à 1,63 $. Les employeurs versent quant à eux toujours 1,4 fois ce taux, pour un taux de cotisation passant d’environ 2,632 $ à 2,282 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable des employés.

Le maximum de la rémunération assurable passe finalement de 50 800 $ à 51 300 $ pour 2017.

Le taux de cotisation de l’employeur peut toutefois être moins élevé pour les employeurs offrant un régime d’assurance salaire (RAS) enregistré auprès de la Commission de l’assurance-emploi. Il existe quatre catégories de RAS ayant chacune un taux distinct de réduction de la cotisation à l’assurance-emploi. Les quatre catégories se résument ainsi :

Catégorie 1 : RAS fondé sur l’accumulation de congés de maladie payés d’au moins une journée par mois et un nombre maximal de jours d’au moins 75 jours.

Catégorie 2 : RAS fondé sur l’accumulation de congés de maladie payés d’au moins une journée et 2/3 par mois et un nombre maximal de jours d’au moins 125 jours.

Catégorie 3 : RAS prévoyant des indemnités hebdomadaires1 pour au moins 15 semaines.

Catégorie 4 : RAS prévoyant des indemnités hebdomadaires1 pour au moins 52 semaines (cette réduction n’est disponible que pour les employeurs des secteurs public et parapublic).

Il est également à noter qu’à compter du 1er janvier 2017, le délai de carence de l’assurance-emploi a été modifié de deux semaines à une semaine comme indiqué dans notre communiqué de novembre 2016. Ainsi, pour demeurer admissible à un taux de cotisation réduit, le RAS offert devra prévoir un délai de carence d’au plus une semaine. Les organisations auront jusqu’au 2 janvier 2021 pour se conformer à cette nouvelle exigence.

Régime québécois d’assurance parentale (RQAP)

Les taux de cotisation au RQAP ont été maintenus en 2017, demeurant ainsi à 0,548 % pour les employés, à 0,767 % pour les employeurs et à 0,973 % pour les travailleurs autonomes. Le maximum de la rémunération assurable passe de 71 500 $ à 72 500 $ pour 2017. 

Régime d’assurance maladie du Québec

Pour certaines organisations du secteur public et les organisations dont la masse salariale est supérieure à cinq millions de dollars, le taux de cotisation actuel demeure inchangé en 2017. Ce taux est établi à 4,26 % de la masse salariale. Pour les organisations dont la masse salariale est inférieure à un million de dollars, le taux diminuera à compter du 1er janvier 2017 passant de 2,70 % à 2,50 % de la masse salariale. Enfin, pour les organisations dont la masse salariale est comprise entre un million et cinq millions de dollars, le taux diminuera également à compter du 1er janvier 2017 selon la formule suivante :

Notons que certains employeurs des services primaire et manufacturier ont droit à une réduction du taux de cotisation.

Commission des normes, de l'équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail

Le taux de cotisation actuel diminuera à compter du 1er janvier 2017 passant de 0,08 % à 0,07 % du salaire assurable. Le salaire maximum assurable passe quant à lui de 71 500 $ à 72 500 $ en 2017.

Le salaire minimum, au Québec, s’établit actuellement à 10,75 $ de l’heure. 


Consultez le
résumé des primes et de l’imposition des régimes publics d'assurance maladie 
pour l’ensemble des provinces et territoires canadiens en 2017


Les indemnités hebdomadaires prévues par le RAS doivent être au moins égales aux prestations d’assurance-emploi.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6