Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The Ten Most Important Developments in Drug Insurance in 2016

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20 N. 3, January 2017

Two key elements particularly affected drug insurance in 2016: the increase in private drug insurance plan costs and significant legislative changes.

The concerted actions of the group of plan sponsors and the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association (CLHIA) also allowed for progress in Quebec's legislative context.

In keeping with the new tradition established in 2015, this bulletin presents the developments in 2016 that we believe have had the greatest impact on private drug insurance plans.

1. Reversal relative to the public subsidy for assisted reproduction
2. Passing of Bill 81 that allows the Quebec government to implement a request for proposals process for generic drugs
3. Actions taken by the group of plan sponsors and the CLHIA
4. Passing of Bill 92
5. Drugs for treating Hepatitis C
6. Development of biologic drugs to treat chronic conditions
7. End of the "do not substitute" clause for Remicade in Quebec
8. Increase in pooling fees charged by insurers
9. Limit on the number of dispensing fees reimbursed annually in Ontario
10. Limit on the number of blood glucose test strips reimbursed in Quebec


The legislative context continued to change in 2016. Outlined below are developments relating to certain bills introduced in 2015. 

1. Reversal relative to the public subsidy for assisted reproduction

The passing of Bill 20 in November 2015 put an end to the public subsidy for assisted reproduction. In June 2016, the Quebec government reversed itself, confirming that the RAMQ will continue to cover fertility drugs, making it mandatory for private plans to continue to cover these expenses. Reimbursement criteria for these types of drugs has, however, been tightened.

2. Passing of Bill 81 that allows the Quebec government to implement a request for proposals process for generic drugs

Bill 81 was passed in June 2016, enabling the Quebec government to negotiate agreements with generic companies. The good news is that private plans will be able to benefit from reduced drug costs. On the down side, there will be less incentive for generic companies to provide kickbacks to pharmacists, and lower kickbacks could prompt pharmacists to increase their professional fees for drugs used by individuals insured under private plans. Because the government has yet to complete a request for proposals process in connection with Bill 81, we are still waiting to see how this process will impact private plans.


In the context of Bill 92 that was tabled in 2015, the CLHIA and the group of plan sponsors joined forces to gain access to tools designed to better control private plan costs. The group of plan sponsors currently consists of 50 organizations representing 400,000 insured individuals in Quebec.

3. Actions taken by the group of plan sponsors and the CLHIA

In December 2015, the group of plan sponsors sent a letter outlining various issues to the Minister of Health and Social Services and the Minister of Justice. In May 2016, the CLHIA submitted a brief to the Committee on Health and Social Services presenting these same issues, i.e., a framework for and the transparency of pharmacists' professional fees, access to agreements negotiated by the government and the possibility of entering into such agreements. Also in May 2016, the CLHIA published survey results indicating that 80% of Quebecers are unaware that they pay professional fees to pharmacists. This is why greater transparency is required on receipts issued at the pharmacy.

4. Passing of Bill 92

In reaction to strong pressure from the plan sponsors and the CLHIA, the Quebec government amended Bill 92 to include some changes that will impact private plans. For example, effective September 15, 2017, receipts issued by pharmacists must list their professional fees as a separate line item, which will enforce greater transparency. Bill 92 also bans loyalty programs offered by pharmaceutical companies. The passing of Bill 92 is a step in the right direction despite the fact that several issues, including the widening gap between public plan and private plans drug costs, have not been addressed.


Pharmaceutical companies continue to invest heavily in developing very expensive biologic drugs.

5. Drugs for treating Hepatitis C

Several very expensive drugs ($60,000 to $160,000 per treatment) that have proven to be highly effective in treating Hepatitis C have entered the market in recent years. In 2015, in an effort to spread the impact on public finances over a few years, the RAMQ decided that, at first, only the most affected patients would be reimbursed for this treatment. The first wave of costs observed in 2015 did not reach the level initially expected by the market. In 2016, the RAMQ agreed to cover the cost of this treatment for patients with earlier stage Hepatitis C. Preliminary statistics indicate that a second wave of claims should be expected, but that total costs should be lower than those for the first wave.

6. Development of biologic drugs to treat chronic conditions

Biologic drugs are currently being developed to treat common chronic conditions including asthma and migraines. The annual cost of these drugs can reach up to $25,000 per insured individual. These drugs could have a significant impact on drug insurance plan costs, given the high prevalence of these conditions among the population. In addition, in June 2016, the RAMQ finally approved the cholesterol-lowering drug Repatha for the treatment of certain rare genetic disorders. It is thus important to ensure that the right cost control measures are in place in private plans to avoid cost increases associated with this drug.

7. End of the "do not substitute" clause for Remicade in Quebec

The drug that accounts for the highest total costs for private plans is Remicade. Remicade is used to treat rheumatoid arthritis. It should be noted that there is a biosimilar version of Remicade called Inflectra. Biosimilar biologic drugs are drugs that can be used for the same therapeutic indications as reference biologic drugs, but that cost 30% to 50% less than their reference counterparts. As of October 2016, an individual insured by the RAMQ who opts to purchase Remicade instead of Inflectra will have to pay the difference in cost. Some insurers are not currently applying this measure. A number of biosimilar biologic drugs are set to hit the market over the next 24 months. With the right cost control measures in place, private plans could enjoy significant cost savings.


The arrival of high cost drugs continues to affect pooling fees.

8. Increase in pooling fees charged by insurers

Pooling fees for private plans once again increased significantly in 2016. Given this situation, it is necessary to question the functioning of this insurance mechanism. Normandin Beaudry's white paper entitled "A Solution for Private Drug Plans" suggests avenues for reflection to go about this. Although the white paper was published in 2013, and despite significant cost increases since then, no insurer has come up with an effective solution.


Different governments are also taking steps to control costs.

9. Limit on the number of dispensing fees reimbursed annually in Ontario

Since late 2015, Ontario has been limiting the number of dispensing fees paid to a maximum of five dispensing fees per maintenance drug per year. This measure is an incentive to insured individuals to purchase a 90-day supply of their drugs, which reduces dispensing fees and generates substantial savings. The 90-day dispensing rate is significantly lower in Quebec than in the rest of Canada. To benefit from these potential savings in Quebec, it would be advisable to implement incentives that would encourage the purchase of a longer supply of maintenance drugs. Some insurers started to put forward solutions in 2016.

10. Limit on the number of blood glucose test strips reimbursed in Quebec

A study completed by the Institut national d’excellence en santé et en services sociaux (INESSS) recommends limiting the number of blood glucose test strips reimbursed annually depending on the severity of the diabetes. It should be noted that all of the other Canadian provinces have already imposed measures to control the excessive use of test strips. The study reveals that a high percentage of test strip users do not use the strips correctly leading to no improvement in the user's health. Annual savings of between 15 and 40 million dollars are expected if and when this measure is implemented for the public plan. Moreover, a recent study1 suggests that limiting the number of test strips would not impede diabetes management. We are waiting to learn whether or not the RAMQ will implement the recommendation made by the INESS. If it does, private plans could also apply a reimbursement limit.

[1] Association of a Blood Glucose Test Strip Quantity Limit Policy with Patient Outcomes: a population-based study, Tara Gomes, Diana Martins, Mina Tadrous et al, Journal of American Medical Association Internal Medicine, 2017, p. 61-66


The amendments to Bill 92 are a step in the right direction. We must, however, continue to lobby the government to reduce the inequities between the public plan and private plans.

One reality remains certain: the cost increase is real and it is each plan sponsor's responsibility to ensure sound governance and protect against the risks specific to its plan. In a context where each plan is unique, indicators for identifying risks associated with drug consumption should be used to develop a relevant risk control strategy. The Normandin Beaudry consultants can support you in implementing these strategies focused on plan design, communication and prevention.
   

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les 10 événements marquants de 2016 en assurance médicaments

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 3, janvier 2017

Au chapitre de l’assurance médicaments, deux éléments ont particulièrement marqué 2016 : la hausse des coûts des régimes privés d’assurance médicaments et des changements législatifs importants.

Des actions concertées par le regroupement de promoteurs de régimes et l’Association Canadienne des Compagnies d’Assurance de Personnes (ACCAP) ont également fait évoluer le contexte législatif au Québec.

Fidèles à notre nouvelle tradition établie en 2015, nous présentons ici les événements de 2016 qui, selon nous, ont le plus touché les régimes privés d’assurance médicaments.

1. Changement de cap relativement à la subvention publique de la procréation assistée
2. Adoption du projet de Loi 81 permettant au gouvernement du Québec d’implanter un processus d’appel d’offres pour les médicaments génériques
3. Actions entreprises par le regroupement des promoteurs de régimes et l’ACCAP
4. Adoption du projet de Loi 92
5. Médicaments pour le traitement de l’Hépatite C
6. Développements de médicaments biologiques pour des maladies chroniques
7. Fin de la clause « ne pas substituer » pour le Remicade au Québec
8. Augmentation des frais de mise en commun des assureurs
9. Limitation du nombre de frais d’honoraires remboursés annuellement en Ontario
10. Limitation du nombre de bandelettes remboursé pour le contrôle de la glycémie au Québec


En 2016, le contexte législatif a continué d’évoluer. Voici les développements de certains projets de Loi déposés en 2015.

1. Changement de cap relativement à la subvention publique de la procréation assistée

En novembre 2015, l’adoption du projet de Loi 20 met fin à la subvention publique pour la procréation assistée. En juin 2016, le gouvernement du Québec fait volte-face en confirmant que la RAMQ continuera finalement de couvrir les médicaments pour la procréation assistée, obligeant également les régimes privés à continuer de couvrir ces frais. Toutefois, les critères d’admissibilité au paiement de ces médicaments sont resserrés.

2. Adoption du projet de Loi 81 permettant au gouvernement du Québec d’implanter un processus d’appel d’offres pour les médicaments génériques

C’est en juin 2016 que le projet de Loi est adopté, permettant ainsi au gouvernement de négocier des ententes avec les compagnies génériques. Bonne nouvelle : les régimes privés pourront bénéficier de la baisse du coût des médicaments. Toutefois, l’incitatif des compagnies génériques à verser des ristournes aux pharmaciens se verra affaibli. La diminution des ristournes pourrait inciter les pharmaciens à augmenter leurs honoraires pour les médicaments consommés par les assurés des régimes privés. Le gouvernement n’ayant pour l’instant procédé à aucun appel d’offres en lien avec ce projet de Loi, nous attendons toujours de constater les effets de celui-ci sur les régimes privés.


Dans le cadre du projet de Loi 92 déposé en 2015, l’ACCAP et le regroupement de promoteurs de régimes ont fait front commun afin d’avoir accès à des outils pour mieux contrôler les dépenses des régimes privés. À ce jour, le regroupement de promoteurs de régimes représente 50 entreprises et 400 000 assurés au Québec.

3. Actions entreprises par le regroupement des promoteurs de régimes et l’ACCAP

Rappelons qu’en décembre 2015, le regroupement de promoteurs de régimes faisait parvenir une lettre de revendications aux ministres de la Santé et de la Justice. En mai 2016, l’ACCAP présentait un mémoire à la Commission de la Santé et des Services Sociaux qui comprenait ces mêmes revendications, soit l’encadrement et la transparence des honoraires des pharmaciens, l’accès aux ententes négociées par le gouvernement et la possibilité d’effectuer de telles ententes. C’est également en mai 2016 que l’ACCAP publiait les résultats d’un sondage indiquant que 80 % des Québécois ignorent qu’ils défraient des honoraires aux pharmaciens, d’où l’importance de faire preuve de plus de transparence sur les factures à la pharmacie.

4. Adoption du projet de Loi 92

En réaction à la pression exercée par les promoteurs de régimes et l’ACCAP, le gouvernement modifie le projet de Loi 92 pour inclure certains amendements qui auront des effets sur les régimes privés. Notamment, à compter du 15 septembre 2017, la facture du pharmacien devra présenter distinctement les honoraires, ce qui imposera plus de transparence. De plus, le projet de Loi présente une position interdisant les programmes de fidélisation des compagnies pharmaceutiques. L’adoption du projet de Loi est un pas dans la bonne direction, malgré le fait que plusieurs revendications n’aient pas été adressées, comme l’écart grandissant des coûts des médicaments entre le régime public et les régimes privés.


Les compagnies pharmaceutiques continuent à investir massivement dans le développement de médicaments biologiques dont les coûts sont substantiels.

5. Médicaments pour le traitement de l’Hépatite C

Au cours des dernières années, plusieurs médicaments à haute efficacité pour le traitement de l’Hépatite C, mais à coûts élevés (60 000 $ à 160 000 $ par traitement), ont fait leur apparition sur le marché. En 2015, la RAMQ a décidé que seuls les patients les plus affectés se verraient rembourser ce type de traitement afin de répartir sur quelques années l’effet sur les finances publiques. Cette première vague de coûts observée en 2015 a été moins importante qu’initialement attendue par le marché. En 2016, la RAMQ accepte donc le traitement pour des patients dont la maladie est à un stade moins avancé. Les statistiques préliminaires à cet effet montrent qu’une deuxième vague de réclamations est à prévoir, bien que celle-ci devrait être de moindre importance que la première. 

6. Développements de médicaments biologiques pour des maladies chroniques

Des médicaments biologiques sont actuellement en développement pour des maladies chroniques dont la fréquence est élevée, notamment pour l’asthme et les migraines, et dont les coûts annuels peuvent parfois atteindre 25 000 $ par assuré. Ces médicaments pourraient avoir un impact significatif sur les coûts des régimes d’assurance médicaments, étant donné la prévalence élevée de ces conditions dans la population. De plus, en juin 2016, le Repatha, médicament pour le traitement de l’hypercholestérolémie, est finalement approuvé par la RAMQ pour certaines conditions génétiques rares. Il est donc important de s’assurer que les bonnes mesures de contrôle de coûts sont en place dans les régimes privés afin d’éviter une hausse des coûts liée à ce médicament.

7. Fin de la clause « ne pas substituer » pour le Remicade au Québec

Le Remicade, utilisé pour le traitement de la polyarthrite rhumatoïde, est le médicament dont les coûts totaux sont les plus élevés dans les régimes privés. Il est à noter qu’il existe une version biosimilaire du Remicade, l’Inflectra. Les biosimilaires sont des médicaments pouvant être utilisés pour les mêmes indications thérapeutiques que les médicaments biologiques de référence, mais dont le coût est de 30 % à 50 % moins élevé. À compter d’octobre 2016, un assuré à la RAMQ qui prend la décision d’acheter le Remicade plutôt que l’Inflectra devra débourser la différence de coûts. À ce jour, certains assureurs n’appliquent pas cette mesure. De nombreux autres biosimilaires arriveront sur le marché dans les prochains 24 mois. Par conséquent, les régimes privés pourraient bénéficier d’une économie significative si les bons mécanismes de contrôle des coûts sont en place.


L’arrivée de médicaments coûteux continue d’affecter les frais de mise en commun.

8. Augmentation des frais de mise en commun des assureurs

En 2016, les frais de mise en commun appliqués aux régimes privés ont encore une fois augmenté de manière significative. Face à cette réalité, il devient nécessaire de se questionner sur le fonctionnement de ce mécanisme d’assurance. Le Livre blanc – Un remède aux régimes privés d’assurance médicaments de Normandin Beaudry propose des pistes de réflexion à cet égard. Bien que le Livre blanc ait été publié en 2013, et malgré les hausses importantes des coûts depuis, aucun assureur n’a développé de solution efficace à cet effet. 


Différents gouvernements prennent aussi des mesures de contrôle de coûts.

9. Limitation du nombre de frais d’honoraires remboursés annuellement en Ontario

Depuis la fin de 2015, l’Ontario rembourse un maximum de cinq frais d’honoraires de pharmaciens par année pour des médicaments d’entretien. Cette mesure incite les assurés à acheter leurs médicaments pour une période de 90 jours, ce qui permet de réduire les honoraires des pharmaciens et ainsi d’effectuer des économies importantes. Au Québec, nous observons un taux de dispensation pour 90 jours beaucoup plus faible que dans le reste du Canada. Afin de profiter de ces potentielles économies au Québec, il serait souhaitable d’implanter des mesures incitatives qui favoriseraient l’achat de médicaments d’entretien sur une plus longue période. Certains assureurs ont commencé à proposer des solutions à cet effet en 2016.

10. Limitation du nombre de bandelettes remboursé pour le contrôle de la glycémie au Québec

Une étude de l’Institut national d’excellence en santé et en services sociaux (INESSS) recommande de limiter le nombre de bandelettes remboursées annuellement pour le contrôle de la glycémie selon la gravité du diabète. Il est à noter que toutes les autres provinces imposent déjà des mesures pour contrôler la consommation abusive des bandelettes. L’étude révèle qu’une proportion élevée d’utilisateurs de bandelettes en font un usage non optimal, n’apportant aucune amélioration à la santé. Des économies annuelles de 15 à 40 millions de dollars sont prévues à la mise en place de cette mesure pour le régime public. De plus, une étude récente1 indique que la limitation du nombre de bandelettes ne nuirait pas au contrôle du diabète. Nous sommes actuellement en attente de savoir si la RAMQ appliquera ou non la recommandation de l’INESSS. Le cas échéant, les régimes privés pourraient aussi appliquer une limite de remboursement.

[1] Association of a Blood Glucose Test Strip Quantity Limit Policy with Patient Outcomes : a population-based study, Tara Gomes, Diana Martins, Mina Tadrous et al, Journal of American Medical Association Internal Medicine, 2017, p. 61-66.


Les amendements au projet de Loi 92 représentent un pas dans la bonne direction. Il faut toutefois continuer à faire des revendications auprès du gouvernement pour réduire les iniquités entre le régime public et les régimes privés.

Malgré cela, une réalité demeure : l’augmentation des coûts est réelle et il relève de chaque promoteur de régime d’effectuer une saine gouvernance et de se protéger contre les risques spécifiques à son propre régime. Dans un contexte où chaque régime est unique, l’utilisation d’indicateurs permettant d’identifier les risques liés à la consommation de médicaments est souhaitable, et ce, afin de concevoir une stratégie de contrôle de risques adaptée. Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry peuvent vous accompagner dans la mise en place de ces stratégies, axées sur le design du régime, la communication et la prévention. 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6