Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Mandatory Funding Policy: The Countdown Is On

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20 No. 22, December 2017

About a year from now, on January 4, 2019, all Quebec defined benefit pension plans will be required to have a funding policy in place. Yesterday morning, the Quebec government announced that a regulation will soon be in effect bringing certain provisions of Bill 29* into force, including the one making the funding policy mandatory.

In accordance with the specific criteria set out in the bill, the policy should include:

  •  the principles related to pension plan funding that must guide the pension committee in the performance of its duties
  •  the plan’s funding objectives
  •  the main risks related to the plan’s funding and the employer’s and active members’ level of risk tolerance

This is an opportunity to ensure greater coherence in your pension plan funding decisions and to review your objectives-based strategies. To maximize profit, your funding policy should be perfectly aligned with your investment policy and your plan’s benefits.

For the past 25 years, Normandin Beaudry specialists have been promoting funding policies as a governance instrument for pension plans and have been helping clients in developing or fine-tuning this strategic tool. Whether you are looking to establish your policy or validate some of its elements, we will be pleased to put our expertise to good use to allow you to comply with the new legislative requirements.


* Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act mainly with respect to the funding of defined benefit pension plans (Bill 29)

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Politique de financement obligatoire : le décompte est commencé

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 22, décembre 2017

D’ici environ un an, soit au 4 janvier 2019, tous les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées du Québec devront être assortis d’une politique de financement. Le gouvernement québécois a en effet annoncé hier matin l’entrée en vigueur du règlement qui rend applicables certaines dispositions de la Loi 29*, dont celle rendant obligatoire la politique de financement.

Conformément aux critères précis énoncés dans la loi, la politique devra notamment inclure :

  •  les principes liés au financement du régime qui doivent guider le comité de retraite dans l’exercice de ses fonctions
  •  les objectifs de financement du régime
  •  les principaux risques liés au financement du régime et le degré de tolérance de l’employeur et des participants actifs à l’égard de ceux-ci

Profitez de l’occasion pour renforcer la cohérence de vos décisions en matière de financement des régimes et pour revoir vos stratégies en fonction des objectifs. Pour qu’elle soit pleinement efficace, la politique de financement doit parfaitement s’intégrer avec la politique de placement et les prestations offertes par le régime.

Depuis près de 25 ans, les spécialistes de Normandin Beaudry favorisent la politique de financement comme instrument de gouvernance des régimes de retraite et accompagnent leurs clients dans l’élaboration ou le raffinement de cet outil stratégique. Que ce soit pour établir votre politique ou pour en valider certains éléments, nous serons heureux de vous faire bénéficier de cette expertise pour vous permettre de vous conformer aux nouvelles exigences législatives.


* Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite principalement quant au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« Loi 29 »)

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6