Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Public Sector Accounting Board's employment benefits project: Normandin Beaudry is still involved

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20, N. 21, December 2017

A few weeks ago, the Public Sector Accounting Board (PSAB) published an Invitation to Comment on the discount rate provisions for employment benefits, included in Sections PS 3250 and PS 3255. This publication will be of particular interest to those who prepare financial statements in the public sector.

The Invitation to Comment will allow the PSAB to:

  • obtain comments from various market participants on discount rate provisions; and
  • identify potential alternatives and related considerations to examine before taking a position and publishing a new proposed Section on employment benefits through an exposure draft.

Normandin Beaudry will submit its own comments. We will also support some organizations working in the public and accounting standards sectors in formulating their own comments, through the participation of our consultants on committees. Normandin Beaudry is also involved in the PSAB project through the membership of one of our partners (Josée Patry) on the advisory group, which supports the project’s task force. You can access the PSAB Invitation to Comment and the In Brief bulletin for more information and to answer the Invitation to Comment, should you have any comments to submit. Webinars on January 16 and 17 will also allow you to learn more about the project. 

In 2016, the PSAB launched its project to review Sections PS 3250 and PS 3255 and eventually publish a new Section on employment benefits. The Invitation to Comment is part of Phase I of the project, which also addresses the deferral provisions (for which an Invitation to Comment was published in November 2016). Phase II will address other elements such as target benefit plans, multi-employer benefits plans, etc.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Travaux du Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public au sujet des avantages sociaux : Normandin Beaudry continue de s'impliquer

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 21, décembre 2017

Le Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public (CCSP) a publié il y a quelques semaines un Appel à commentaires concernant les dispositions relatives au taux d’actualisation pour les avantages sociaux, énoncées dans les chapitres SP 3250 et SP 3255. Cette publication est particulièrement d’intérêt pour les personnes participant à la préparation d’états financiers dans le secteur public.

L’Appel à commentaires permettra au CCSP :

  • d’obtenir les commentaires des différents intervenants du marché au sujet des dispositions relatives au taux d’actualisation; et
  • de savoir s’il existe d’autres options et des questions connexes à considérer avant de prendre position et de publier un nouveau chapitre sur les avantages sociaux sous forme d’exposé-sondage.

Normandin Beaudry fera parvenir ses commentaires. Nous aiderons également certains organismes impliqués dans le secteur public et les normes comptables à réfléchir aux commentaires qu’ils formuleront, grâce à la participation de certains de nos conseillers au sein de comités. Normandin Beaudry participe également au projet du CCSP avec la présence d’un de nos associés (Josée Patry) dans le Groupe consultatif qui assiste le Groupe de travail en charge du projet. Vous pouvez consulter l’Appel à commentaires et le bulletin En bref du CCSP pour plus d’informations et répondre à l’Appel à commentaires si vous avez des commentaires à formuler. Des webinaires présentés les 16 et 17 janvier vous permettront aussi d’en savoir plus. 

Le CCSP a débuté en 2016 le projet d’examiner les chapitres SP 3250 et SP 3255 et de publier éventuellement un nouveau chapitre. Cet Appel à commentaires est en lien avec une partie du premier volet du projet, qui traite également des dispositions relatives au report (pour lesquelles un Appel à commentaires avait été publié en novembre 2016). Le deuxième volet portera sur d’autres aspects tels que les régimes à prestations cibles, les régimes interemployeurs, etc.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6