Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Key Elements of the Quebec Pension Plan Enhancement: For a Better Understanding and Appreciation

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20, N. 20, November 2017

With the tabling of Bill 149 on November 2, Minister of Finance Carlos Leitão announced the enhancement of the Quebec Pension Plan (QPP). This announcement is positive for all workers, particularly the younger generation, as the maximum retirement pension benefit will increase from $13,400 under the current QPP to more than $20,000.

Outlined below are the key changes that were announced, which we examined in detail during a breakfast seminar and a webinar held on this topic last week.

The current Quebec Pension Plan, known as the “base plan”, will be gradually enhanced through the introduction of a second plan—the “additional plan”, which is divided into two components: the first component begins in 2019, while the second kicks in in 2024. Let’s look at how the contributions and benefits will change.

Benefits

The base plan already provides retirement benefits of 25% of pre-retirement earnings, up to the maximum pensionable earnings (MPE, which is $55,300 in 2017).

With the gradual phasing-in of the additional plan, benefits will be added to those of the base plan. First, from 2019 to 2023, benefits subject to the MPE will increase gradually from 25% to 33.33% of pre-retirement earnings, under the first component of the additional plan. Thereafter, under the second component, the MPE will rise to reach 114% of the current MPE starting in 2025.

The graphic below shows the benefits under the base plan and those of the two components under the additional plan.

Contributions

Additional contributions will also be gradually phased in from 2019 to 2025. They will be shared equally by employers and employees and will be placed in a fund separate from that of the base plan. Unlike the base plan, the additional plan is designed to be fully funded by the contributions to be paid into it. The graphic below shows the contributions in percentage of pensionable earnings for each component:

While the additional contributions are equal to 2% in the first component of the additional plan and to 8% in the second component (shared equally between the employer and the employee), ultimately, these will only represent approximately 0.8% to 1.3% of a worker’s earnings. The table below shows the contributions, in percentage of earnings, taking into account the basic exemption of $3,500.

A practical application

The maximum annual benefits under the current base plan amount to approximately $13,400 for a retirement at age 65. Retirement benefits will increase to more than $20,000 with the additional plan, in today’s dollars. This represents an increase of approximately 50% of the current plan’s maximum retirement benefits!

The graphic below shows the current benefits of the base plan as well as the eventual benefits under both plans for various levels of average earnings (5 years).

Evolution of the reserve for future benefits

The additional plan’s assets are projected to exceed those of the base plan in 2041, meaning it will take approximately 20 years for the additional plan to build up the same assets as the base plan did after 75 years! By 2065, assets of the additional plan are expected to reach $800 billion.

The additional plan should therefore be in a position to support future benefits thanks to cash inflows provided by approximately 70% of investment income. As for the base plan, it is essentially supported by employer and employee contributions, representing approximately 75% of annual cash inflows.

The graphic below presents the evolution of assets under management for each plan, according to the actuarial valuation as at December 31, 2015.

A look ahead

The introduction of new provisions to the Quebec Pension Plan, very similar to those of the Canada Pension Plan introduced over a year ago, is likely to please all Quebec workers, especially the younger generation. The additional plan will significantly improve retirement benefits at a reasonable cost, thereby improving the security at retirement for all workers.

The enhancement is also an excellent opportunity to review retirement planning concepts. In order to better manage longevity risks, workers may consider postponing their retirement benefits from public pension plans at a later age in order to receive higher benefits. The retirement pension under the Quebec Pension Plan is 42% higher while the one from the Old Age Security is 36% higher when a worker elects to start receiving payments at age 70 instead of 65. Retired workers’ needs between their actual retirement date and age 70, could be compensated by initiatives resulting from their personal savings.

Allowing the start of retirement benefits from public pension plans at age 75 and authorizing faster decumulation of locked-in amounts—two measures that would require minor adjustments to existing legislation—would also provide retirees with greater financial flexibility.

In light of this enhancement, plan sponsors may also want to reconsider the structure of their pension plans.

Normandin Beaudry consultants welcome the provincial government’s decision to rally to the rest of the country, a decision that will ensure Canada’s pension system remains one of the best in the world.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les grandes lignes de la bonification du Régime de rentes du Québec : pour mieux la comprendre et l'apprécier

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 20, novembre 2017

Avec le dépôt du projet de loi 149 le 2 novembre dernier, le ministre des Finances Carlos Leitão annonçait la bonification du Régime de rentes du Québec. Cette annonce constitue une excellente nouvelle pour tous les travailleurs, en particulier pour la jeune génération, qui verra la rente maximale passer de 13 400 $ selon le Régime de rentes du Québec actuel à plus de 20 000 $.

Nous présentons ici les grandes lignes des changements annoncés, que nous avons exposés au cours d’un déjeuner-causerie et d’un webinaire tenus à cet effet la semaine dernière.

Précisons d’entrée de jeu que l’actuel Régime de rentes du Québec, dit « régime de base », sera bonifié graduellement par l’introduction d’un second régime, le « régime supplémentaire ». Celui-ci est divisé en deux volets : le 1er volet entrera en vigueur en 2019, et le 2e volet en 2024. Voyons l’évolution des prestations et des cotisations. 

Les prestations

Le régime de base procure déjà des prestations à la retraite correspondant à 25 % du revenu avant la retraite jusqu’à concurrence du maximum des gains admissibles (MGA, soit 55 300 $ en 2017).

Avec l’introduction graduelle du « régime supplémentaire », des prestations s’ajouteront à celles du régime de base. Dans un premier temps, de 2019 à 2023, la prestation sujette au MGA augmente graduellement de 25 % à 33,33 % du revenu avant la retraite, sous le 1er volet du régime supplémentaire. Par la suite, sous le 2e volet du régime supplémentaire, le MGA est augmenté pour atteindre 114 % du MGA actuel à compter de 2025.

Le graphique ci-dessous illustre les prestations dans le régime de base et dans les deux volets du régime supplémentaire.

Les cotisations

Également introduites graduellement de 2019 à 2025, les cotisations seront partagées à parts égales entre les employeurs et les employés. Elles seront versées dans une caisse distincte de celle du régime de base. Contrairement au régime de base, le régime supplémentaire est conçu pour être pleinement financé par les cotisations qui y seront versées. Le graphique ci-dessous présente les cotisations en pourcentage du salaire admissible pour chacun des volets :

Bien que les cotisations additionnelles soient de 2 % dans le 1er volet et de 8 % dans le 2e volet du régime supplémentaire (partagées moitié-moitié entre l’employeur et le travailleur), celles-ci ne représenteront ultimement pour un travailleur qu’environ 0,8 % à 1,3 % de son salaire. Le tableau ci-dessous illustre les cotisations, en pourcentage du salaire, en tenant compte de l’exemption de base de 3 500 $.

  

Une application concrète

La prestation maximale sous le régime de base actuel est d’environ 13 400 $ pour une retraite à 65 ans. Elle augmentera à plus de 20 000 $ à terme avec le régime supplémentaire, en dollars d’aujourd’hui. Ceci représente une augmentation d’environ 50 % de la prestation maximale du régime de base actuel!

Le graphique ci-dessous illustre la prestation actuelle du régime de base ainsi que la prestation totale à terme sous les deux régimes pour différents niveaux de salaires moyens (5 ans).

Évolution de la réserve pour payer les prestations futures

Il est prévu que, dès 2041, les actifs du régime supplémentaire dépasseront ceux du régime de base. Il faudra donc environ 20 ans au régime supplémentaire pour constituer le même actif que le régime de base après 75 ans! En 2065, il est prévu que les actifs du régime supplémentaire atteindront environ 800 milliards.

Le régime supplémentaire devrait ainsi être en mesure de soutenir les prestations futures grâce à des entrées de fonds qui proviendront d’environ 70 % de revenus de placements. Le régime de base est, quant à lui, soutenu essentiellement par les cotisations des employeurs et des travailleurs, lesquelles représentent environ 75 % des entrées de fonds annuelles.

Le graphique ci-dessous présente l’évolution de l’actif sous gestion dans chacun des régimes selon l’évaluation actuarielle effectuée au 31 décembre 2015.

Un regard vers l'avenir

L’introduction des nouvelles dispositions au Régime de rentes du Québec, très similaires à celles du Régime de pensions du Canada introduites il y a un peu plus d’un an, est de nature à réjouir tous les travailleurs québécois, particulièrement les plus jeunes. Le régime supplémentaire permettra de bonifier sensiblement les prestations à un coût avantageux, ce qui améliorera la sécurité à la retraite de tous les travailleurs.

La bonification annoncée constitue aussi une excellente occasion de revoir les concepts de planification à la retraite. Afin de mieux gérer le risque de longévité, les travailleurs pourraient en effet considérer repousser le début de versement de leurs rentes provenant des régimes publics à un âge plus tardif afin de recevoir des rentes plus élevées de ces régimes. La rente du Régime de rentes du Québec est en effet augmentée de 42 % et celle de la Sécurité de la vieillesse de 36 % lorsque le travailleur choisit de commencer à les recevoir à 70 ans plutôt qu’à 65 ans. Les besoins de ces retraités pourraient être comblés par des initiatives résultant de leur épargne personnelle durant la période entre la retraite effective et l’âge de 70 ans.  

Permettre le début du versement des rentes des régimes publics à 75 ans et autoriser un décaissement plus rapide de sommes immobilisées, deux mesures qui demanderaient des ajustements mineurs aux lois en vigueur, donneraient également plus de flexibilité financière aux retraités.

Par ailleurs, les promoteurs de régime pourront également vouloir réfléchir à la conception de leur régime de retraite à la lumière de la bonification apportée.

Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry saluent la décision du gouvernement provincial de se rallier au reste du pays, décision qui fera en sorte que le système de retraite canadien demeurera un des plus performants au monde.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6