Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Amendments to the Ontario Pension Benefits Act

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20, N. 19, November 2017

On November 14, the Ontario Government tabled Bill 177, titled the Stronger, Fairer Ontario Act (Budget Measures). This is the first step toward introducing the legislative measures that were announced when the government released the broad outline of its reform on the funding of defined benefit pension plans in May 2017. Bill 177 provides various amendments to Ontario’s Pension Benefits Act (PBA):

  • Funding and governance policies: Requirement to establish a funding policy and governance policy. The content and deadline for submitting these policies to the Superintendent will be prescribed by the regulation.
     
  • Registry for missing beneficiaries: Establishment of an electronic registry by the Superintendent to record missing beneficiaries. If a beneficiary cannot be located, pension plan administrators must notify the Superintendent who, under certain conditions, will record the information in the registry. 
     
  • Annuity purchase: For a single employer pension plan, possibility for pension plan administrators to be discharged of their obligations with an annuity purchase. Despite the discharge, former members or retired members for whom the pension or benefit has been purchased retain the same rights with respect to payment of surplus from the pension plan when it winds up as former members and retired members who are entitled to payments under the pension plan as of the date of the wind-up.
     
  • Provision for adverse deviations (PfAD): Addition of the definition of the PfAD, which will be determined by an upcoming regulation, as well as the addition of the possibility of reducing or suspending any required contributions for the PfAD with respect to the normal cost of the pension plan.
     
  • Target benefits: Amendment of the criteria to determine if benefits provided by a pension plan are target benefits, particularly the addition that benefits be provided by a multi-employer pension plan, and the inclusion of the condition that a pension plan cannot provide both defined benefits and target benefits, unless otherwise prescribed. Additionally, for multi-employer pension plans, criteria and steps are implemented for the conversion of benefits offered by the plan to target benefits.
     
  • Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund: Removal of requirements regarding the age and years of employment or membership that members and former members must meet for their benefits to be guaranteed by the Fund. Additionally, increase of the limit beyond which benefits are not guaranteed by the Fund, from $1,000 to $1,500 monthly.
     
  • Variable benefits: Amendments providing that the specified beneficiary receiving variable benefits is entitled to receive statements, the content of which is prescribed, and to transfer amounts out of the variable benefit account. The specified beneficiary can designate a beneficiary with respect to the death benefit on the specified beneficiary’s death.
     

It should be noted that certain elements mentioned above amend provisions of the PBA that were not in force when Bill 177 was tabled and that many measures of application for these measures, as well as those for the solvency funding reform, are still highly anticipated by plan administrators. 

Normandin Beaudry consultants are currently analyzing the scope of the bill and would be happy to discuss with you the impact it may have on your plan. 
 
 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Modifications diverses à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite de l'Ontario

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 19, novembre 2017

Le 14 novembre dernier, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a déposé le projet de loi 177 intitulé Loi de 2017 pour un Ontario plus fort et plus juste (mesures budgétaires). Il s’agit d’un premier pas vers l’introduction des mesures législatives qui avaient été annoncées au moment de la publication des grandes lignes de la réforme sur le financement des régimes à prestations déterminées, en mai 2017. Le projet de loi 177 prévoit diverses modifications à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite de l’Ontario (« LRR »). En voici un aperçu :

  • Politiques de capitalisation et de gouvernance : Obligation d’établir une politique de capitalisation ainsi qu’une politique de gouvernance. Le contenu et le délai de soumission de ces politiques au surintendant seront prévus par règlement.
     
  • Registre des bénéficiaires introuvables : Création d’un registre électronique par le surintendant pour répertorier les bénéficiaires introuvables. Les administrateurs de régime qui ne parviennent pas à trouver un bénéficiaire devront en aviser le surintendant, qui, à certaines conditions, consignera au registre les informations prescrites.
     
  • Achat de rentes : Pour un régime de retraite à employeur unique, possibilité d’acquittement des obligations de l’administrateur du régime par un achat de rentes. Les retraités et anciens participants dont les rentes ont été assurées conservent toutefois, à l’égard de l’excédent en cas de liquidation du régime, les mêmes droits que les retraités et anciens participants qui ont droit à des paiements en vertu du régime à la date de liquidation.
     
  • Provision pour écarts défavorables (« PED ») : Introduction de la définition de la PED, dont les modalités de détermination seront prévues par un règlement à venir, et ajout de la possibilité de réduire ou de suspendre les cotisations obligatoires destinées à couvrir la PED à l’égard du coût normal du régime.
     
  • Prestations cibles : Modification des critères permettant de déterminer si des prestations offertes par un régime constituent des prestations cibles, notamment l’ajout de l’exigence que les prestations soient prévues par un régime interentreprises, et inclusion d’une condition selon laquelle un régime ne peut, à la fois, offrir des prestations déterminées et des prestations cibles, sauf s’il en est autrement prescrit par règlement. De plus, à l’égard d’un régime de retraite interentreprises, mise en place des critères et étapes à respecter pour la conversion en prestations cibles de prestations offertes par ce régime. 
     
  • Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite : Suppression des exigences relatives à l’âge et aux années d’emploi ou d’affiliation d’un participant ou d’un ancien participant pour que ses prestations soient garanties par le Fonds. De plus, augmentation de la limite au-delà de laquelle les prestations ne sont pas garanties par le Fonds, soit de 1 000$ par mois à 1 500 $ par mois.
     
  • Prestations variables : Ajout de précisions à l’effet que le bénéficiaire déterminé qui reçoit des prestations variables aura le droit de recevoir un relevé, dont le contenu est prescrit par règlement, et de transférer des sommes à partir du compte de prestations variables. Le bénéficiaire déterminé pourra aussi désigner un bénéficiaire qui aura droit, à son décès, au paiement de la prestation de décès.
     

Il est à noter que certains éléments présentés ci-dessus modifient des dispositions de la LRR qui n’étaient pas en vigueur au moment du dépôt du projet de loi 177 et que plusieurs modalités d’application de ces mesures ainsi que celles relatives à la réforme du financement de la solvabilité sont encore grandement attendues par les administrateurs de régime.

Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry analysent actuellement la portée du projet de loi et seront heureux de discuter avec vous des effets qu’il pourrait avoir dans le cas particulier de votre régime.

 

          

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6