Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Annuity purchase for retirees: Is now the right time?

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20, N. 16, November 2017

In recent years, annuity purchases for retirees have become a preferred approach for managing the maturity and controlling the risks of defined benefit pension plans. Many factors have recently shifted the landscape of annuity purchases in Quebec, which should prompt you to question—or re-question—the relevance of adopting such a strategy for managing the risks of your pension plan. Overview.

Legislative changes

Quebec legislation now allows the purchase of annuities “with full buy-out”, which enables plan administrators and sponsors to protect the pensions of their retirees by transferring their pension obligation to an insurance company, without having to worry about the boomerang effect of seeing that obligation return to their balance sheet. British Columbia legislation has also recently allowed this, and a similar proposal has been submitted for Ontario and federal plans. Legislators clearly want to provide plan administrators and sponsors with tools to manage pension risks. It may be appropriate to review your risk management strategies accordingly.

The hunger of insurance companies

The Canadian group annuity market has been growing steadily for several years. Annuity quotation prices recently observed on the market are increasingly competitive—even for annuities that were, up until recently, deemed difficult to insure, such as indexed annuities—due in particular to insurance companies’ access to preferred investments. Now might be the right time to see what the market has to offer. 

Higher interest rates?

For many, low interest rates were not conducive to the purchase of annuities, whose prices were artificially inflated. Given the current context, it may be wise to consider the impact of interest rate levels on the decision to purchase annuities or not. 

Growing plan maturity and life expectancy 

Is it still viable for pension plans to maintain the full obligation related to their retired members in the plan? The weight of retirees is increasing due to their growing numbers, combined with higher life expectancy. This weakens the stability of the plan and increases cost level and volatility. A transfer to an insurance company may help secure the pension benefits of retirees. Furthermore, it is sometimes more expensive to retain retirees in the plan than to transfer the risks to an insurance company! Annuity purchases undoubtedly form part of risk management strategies to consider in order to:

  • Comply with fiduciary duties
  • Ensure the security of retirees’ benefits 
  • Foster the plan’s sustainability

Normandin Beaudry specialists have been supporting their clients in pension risk management for 25 years. We pioneered the annuity purchase strategy as a preferred tool for mitigating pension plan risks, in addition to working in collaboration with regulatory authorities to facilitate the use of this strategy. We will be pleased to share this expertise with you. 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

L'achat de rentes pour les retraités : Devriez-vous y songer?

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 16, novembre 2017

L’achat de rentes constitue depuis quelques années une approche privilégiée pour gérer la maturité des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées et en contrôler les risques. Plusieurs facteurs ont récemment changé le paysage de l’achat de rentes au Québec, ce qui devrait vous amener à vous questionner, ou à vous requestionner, sur la pertinence d’adopter cette stratégie dans la gestion des risques de votre régime de retraite. Tour d’horizon.

L'évolution législative

La législation du Québec permet dorénavant l’achat de rentes « avec acquittement final », lequel permet aux administrateurs et promoteurs de régimes de sécuriser les rentes de leurs retraités en transférant leur obligation à une compagnie d’assurance, sans craindre un retour de cette obligation sur leur bilan. La Colombie-Britannique le permet également depuis peu. Une proposition similaire a aussi été faite pour les régimes de l’Ontario et ceux de juridiction fédérale. Il est clair que le législateur veut doter les administrateurs et promoteurs de régimes d’outils leur permettant de gérer les risques. Il pourrait être opportun de revoir vos stratégies de gestion des risques en conséquence.

L'appétit des compagnies d'assurance

Le marché canadien des rentes collectives croît de façon soutenue depuis plusieurs années. Les prix des contrats de rentes observés récemment sur le marché sont de plus en plus compétitifs (même pour certaines rentes jugées encore récemment difficiles à assurer, comme les rentes indexées), en raison notamment de l’accès des compagnies d’assurance à des placements privilégiés. Le moment est peut-être bien choisi pour aller vérifier ce que le marché peut vous offrir.

Des taux d'intérêt à la hausse?

Pour plusieurs, le contexte des bas taux d’intérêt n’était pas propice à l’achat de rentes, dont les prix se trouvaient artificiellement gonflés. Dans le contexte actuel, il convient de se pencher sur l’effet du niveau des taux d’intérêt sur la décision d’acheter ou non des rentes.

L'augmentation de la maturité des régimes et de l'espérance de vie

Est-ce encore viable pour les régimes de retraite de maintenir la totalité de l’obligation envers leurs participants retraités au sein du régime? Le poids des retraités augmente, par leur nombre croissant combiné à l’augmentation de l’espérance de vie. Cela a pour effet de fragiliser l’équilibre du régime et d’en augmenter les coûts et leur volatilité. Le transfert à une compagnie d’assurance peut contribuer à sécuriser les rentes des retraités.

Qui plus est, il est parfois plus coûteux de maintenir les retraités dans le régime que d’en transférer tous les risques à une compagnie d’assurance. L’achat de rentes fait sans doute partie des stratégies de gestion de risques à envisager pour :

  • S’acquitter de son devoir fiduciaire
  • Assurer la sécurité des prestations aux retraités
  • Favoriser la pérennité du régime

Les spécialistes de Normandin Beaudry accompagnent leurs clients dans la gestion des risques depuis maintenant 25 ans. Nous avons notamment été précurseurs dans la stratégie d’achat de rentes comme outil privilégié pour réduire le risque des régimes. Nous avons également travaillé de concert avec les autorités de réglementation pour faciliter l’utilisation de cette stratégie. Nous serions heureux de partager cette expertise avec vous.

Restez à l’affût!

Des événements se tiendront bientôt à Montréal (21 novembre) et à Québec (22 novembre) afin de démystifier l’achat de rentes.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6