Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Prescription drug invoice: first impressions

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20, N. 15, October 2017

More than two weeks have passed since Bill 92 came into force in Quebec, which requires pharmacists to break down the cost of prescription drugs on invoices to clients. However, the intended effects are slow to emerge.

Little to no questions asked

Bill 92 was adopted as a result of a lengthy debate on the lack of transparency of Quebec pharmacists’ professional fees and profit margins. While this new legislation is a major victory for private plan sponsors and insured members, it will not have the intended effects unless insured members pay close attention to their prescription drug invoices and understand the information presented. At this time, the new invoices have not resulted in many questions to pharmacists or to insurers.

It is in the best interest of private plan sponsors to raise awareness among members about the impact of their pharmacy’s practices on the cost and sustainability of their group insurance plan. The new itemized invoice has a lot of information, and it can be difficult to wade through it all. Let’s start with the basics:

Encourage insured members to pay close attention to the variable amount from one pharmacy to the next, which appears as “Pharmacist’s fee” on the invoice, and to select a pharmacy that values both quality service and costs.

You can use the image attached to help you educate your insured members.

The detailed invoice: Applies only to drugs on the RAMQ’s list

The expectation was that the new invoice would detail the cost of all prescription drugs. However, we have noticed that pharmacists have strictly applied the legislation, which states that only prescription drugs covered by the public plan are subject to transparency. Consequently, drugs that are not on the RAMQ’s drug list are not be itemized on the pharmacy invoice. If your group insurance plan covers a list of prescription drugs more inclusive than that of the RAMQ, some of your insured members may continue to receive a non-itemized invoice.

For more information, please refer to the memo sent on September 13, and feel free to contact your Normandin Beaudry advisor.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Factures de médicaments : un premier bilan

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 15, octobre 2017

Déjà plus de deux semaines se sont écoulées depuis l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi 92 au Québec, qui oblige les pharmaciens à ventiler les coûts des médicaments sur les factures remises à leurs clients. Force est de constater que les effets souhaités tardent à se manifester.

Peu (ou pas) de questions en pharmacie

L’adoption du projet de loi 92 est le résultat d’un long débat sur le manque de transparence des honoraires professionnels et marges bénéficiaires des pharmaciens au Québec. Bien que cette nouvelle législation constitue une victoire importante pour les promoteurs de régime privé et les assurés, elle n’aura les effets escomptés que si les assurés portent attention à leur facture de médicaments et comprennent l’information présentée. Or, pour l’instant, la nouvelle facture semble générer très peu de questions en pharmacie ou auprès des assureurs.

Les promoteurs de régime privé auraient pourtant intérêt à sensibiliser les assurés sur l’impact des pratiques de leur pharmacie sur les coûts et la pérennité de leur régime d’assurance collective. La nouvelle facture détaillée comporte beaucoup de renseignements et il peut être difficile de s’y retrouver. Commençons alors par la base :

Encouragez les assurés à porter attention au montant variant d’une pharmacie à l’autre, soit la case « honoraires professionnels », et invitez-les à opter pour une pharmacie qui tient compte à la fois de la qualité du service et des coûts.

Pour vous aider à sensibiliser les assurés, Normandin Beaudry vous invite à utiliser le visuel

La facture détaillée : seulement pour les médicaments sur la liste de la RAMQ 

On aurait pu s’attendre à ce que la nouvelle facture présente le détail des coûts pour tous les médicaments. Or, nous constatons que les pharmaciens appliquent de façon stricte la loi, selon laquelle seuls les médicaments couverts par le régime public sont soumis à l’obligation de transparence. Par conséquent, les médicaments ne figurant pas sur la liste de la RAMQ ne présentent qu’un prix global sur la facture en pharmacie. Ainsi, si votre régime d’assurance collective couvre une liste de médicaments plus large que celle de la RAMQ, certains de vos assurés pourraient continuer de recevoir une facture non ventilée.

Pour plus d’information, référez-vous au communiqué du 13 septembre, et n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec votre conseiller Normandin Beaudry.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6