Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Bill 92 finally in effect: A detailed pharmacy invoice since September 15

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20, N. 13, September 2017

It is now official: following the introduction of Bill 92 on Friday, September 15, Quebec pharmacists must now provide their clients with a detailed invoice upon purchase of prescription drugs. The invoice must indicate the pharmacist’s professional fees, an amount that was until recently included in the total cost of the medication.

This is a great step forward for better management of prescription drug commercial practices, which Normandin Beaudry has been defending since 2015 alongside insurers, other consulting firms and a grouping of private plan sponsors now comprising about 70 organizations.

The following information will help you share this change with the people in your organization.

What does the new detailed invoice consist of?

For each drug, the invoice will itemize the following:

  • the price of the drug as set by the government (set cost)
  • the distributor’s margin (set cost)
  • the pharmacist’s professional fees (variable cost)

How will this change have a positive impact on your group insurance plan?

Greater invoice transparency is good news for group insurance sponsors and for insured members as this means better control on the price of prescription drugs and, consequently, on group insurance plan costs.

The only variable from one pharmacy to the next is the pharmacist’s professional fees. Until recently, the fees were included in the total cost shown on the invoice. That meant that consumers were not aware of the fact their prescription drugs were not sold at the same price in all pharmacies. With the new detailed invoice, they are now armed with the information to shop around for their prescription drugs. By making better choices, insured members can save money, which will have an impact on the group insurance plan costs.

Practical tools at your disposal

  • Memo to employees
    The Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association (CLHIA) proposes the following template. For personalized communications, you can count on our communication team. Feel free to contact your Normandin Beaudry advisors.
  • Frequently Asked Questions
    For more information on the detailed invoice, visit the CLHIA’s web-based resource tool: www.mypharmacyinvoice.ca.
 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Loi 92 enfin en vigueur : une facture de médicaments plus détaillée depuis le 15 septembre

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 13, septembre 2017

C’est désormais une obligation légale : suivant l’entrée en vigueur de la loi 92 le vendredi 15 septembre 2017, les pharmaciens du Québec doivent remettre à leurs clients une facture beaucoup plus détaillée pour tout achat de médicament d’ordonnance. Elle doit notamment indiquer leurs honoraires professionnels, un montant qui était jusqu’à présent inclus dans le prix total du médicament.

Il s’agit là d’une belle avancée pour un meilleur encadrement des pratiques commerciales en matière de médicaments, que Normandin Beaudry défend depuis 2015 aux côtés des assureurs, des autres firmes de consultants et d’un regroupement de promoteurs de régimes privés comptant maintenant environ 70 organisations.

Les informations suivantes vous aideront à communiquer efficacement ce changement au sein de votre organisation.

Que doit afficher la nouvelle facture?

Pour chaque médicament, la facture doit ventiler :

  •  le montant assumé par le régime général (fixe)
  •  la marge bénéficiaire du grossiste (fixe)
  •  les honoraires professionnels du pharmacien (variables)

En quoi ce changement est-il positif pour votre régime d’assurance collective?

C’est une excellente nouvelle pour les promoteurs de régimes privés comme pour les assurés, car une facture plus transparente permettra de mieux contrôler le prix des médicaments, et par conséquent les coûts du régime d’assurance collective.

En effet, ce sont les honoraires professionnels des pharmaciens qui font varier le prix des médicaments entre les pharmacies. Or, jusqu’à maintenant, ces honoraires étaient intégrés au prix des médicaments. Les consommateurs n’étaient donc pas conscients du fait qu’un même médicament n’est pas vendu au même prix dans toutes les pharmacies. Grâce à la facture détaillée, ils seront désormais mieux outillés pour comparer le prix de leurs ordonnances dans divers points de vente. En faisant des choix plus éclairés, les assurés pourront réaliser des économies qui se refléteront sur les coûts du régime d’assurance collective.

Des outils pratiques à votre disposition

  •  Un communiqué aux employés
    L’Association canadienne des compagnies d’assurances de personnes (ACCAP) vous propose le modèle ci-joint. Pour une communication personnalisée, vous pouvez compter sur notre équipe de communication. N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec vos conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.
  •  Foire aux questions
    Pour de l'information complémentaire, nous vous invitons à visiter le site préparé par l'ACCAP : www.mafactureenpharmacie.ca.
 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6