Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: Assumptions used by Canadian organizations

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 20 N. 10, June 2017

Several private sector organizations must include the recognition of their obligations toward defined benefit pension plans (DB plans) and group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-retirement benefits) in their financial statements. 

The assumptions required to determine the defined benefit obligation and the defined benefit cost (the expense) must be established by the organization’s management. Again this year, we have analyzed the annual reports of Canadian organizations listed on the S&P 60 Index (60 largest organizations) and on the S&P MidCap Index (mid-cap organizations) whose fiscal year ended between September 30 of the previous year and February 28 of the current year. Close to 75 organizations sponsoring at least one DB plan are included in our analysis and 70% of them are offering other post-retirement benefits. Finally, 85% of the organizations disclose their results in accordance with IAS 19, and the remaining 15% percent disclose them in accordance with U.S. accounting standards.

Our analysis is divided into three sections:

  • The first section presents the assumptions used by the organizations included in our analysis in percentile format. The tables present a comparison of the assumptions used for fiscal years ending in 2016 (between September 30, 2016 and February 28, 2017) and in 2015 (between September 30, 2015 and February 29, 2016).
  • The second section summarizes the findings from these tables and from our data analysis.
  • The third and final section presents additional information with respect to measures that could potentially impact future accounting results for some organizations.

1. Selection of assumptions

  • The tables present, in percentile format, the key economic assumptions used by the organizations analyzed for DB plans and other post-retirement benefits. The assumptions are those that were in effect at the end of the fiscal year considered and used to calculate the obligation at the end of the fiscal year.

2. Findings

  • For DB plans, the discount rate assumption is the most important assumption. Because it is based on market rates, it can vary from month to month. According to our analysis, the median annual discount rate used at the end of 2016 was 0.20% lower than the rate used at the end of 2015 (3.80% versus 4.00%). Despite the interest rate increase observed in the fourth quarter of 2016 after a decrease in the previous quarters, on the whole, interest rates continued to be low.
  • Several of the organizations analyzed sponsor DB plans and other post-retirement benefits that offer benefits based on salary at retirement. These organizations must therefore establish an assumption related to the compensation growth rate. The median annual growth rate is holding steady at 3.00%, the rate observed at the end of 2015. Outlooks for the compensation growth rate for accounting recognition purposes therefore appear to have stabilized in relation to the downward trend observed over the past few years.
  • For organizations sponsoring both DB plans and other post-retirement benefits, the median discount rates used for all plans were similar. Hence, 50% of the organizations analyzed were using a discount rate for other post-retirement benefits identical to that used for DB plans at the end of 2016.
  • The trend rate for health care costs is an important assumption for other post-retirement benefits. The initial rate, which is higher than the final rate, can vary significantly from organization to organization. The final rate varies less from organization to organization and the median final trend rate has been relatively stable at 4.50% for the past several years.

 3. Additional information 

  • In March 2017, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) published amendments to the U.S. accounting standards requiring employers to report the service cost component in the same line item or items as other compensation costs and separately from other components of net benefit cost in the income statement. These amendments are designed to improve the consistency, transparency and usefulness of the information presented. The amendments are effective for fiscal years beginning after December 15, 2017 (including interim financial statements) for public business entities, and are effective for fiscal years beginning after December 15, 2018 for other entities. Early adoption is permitted under certain conditions.
  • In late November 2016, the Public Sector Accounting Board (PSAB) issued an Invitation to Comment on the employment benefits deferral provisions (recognition of actuarial gains and losses and value of plan assets) outlined in PS 3250 and PS 3255. In 2016, the PSAB began its project to review Sections PS 3250 and PS 3255 and to eventually publish a new section on employment benefits. The Invitation to Comment is related to part of Phase I of the project that will also look at the discount rate. Phase II will address other aspects such as target benefit plans, multi-employer plans, etc. 
 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : Hypothèses utilisées par les organisations canadiennes

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 20 N. 10, juin 2017

Plusieurs organisations du secteur privé doivent inclure dans leurs états financiers la reconnaissance des engagements pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« régimes PD ») et pour les régimes d’assurance collective offerts aux retraités (« autres avantages après la retraite »).

Les hypothèses requises pour déterminer l’obligation au titre des prestations définies et le coût des prestations définies (la charge) doivent être établies par la direction de l’organisation. Cette année encore, nous avons analysé les rapports annuels des organisations canadiennes faisant partie de l’indice S&P60 (60 plus grandes organisations) et S&PMid (organisations à moyenne capitalisation) et dont l’exercice financier se terminait entre le 30 septembre de l’année précédente et le 28 février de l’année courante. Près de 75 organisations parrainant au moins un régime PD sont incluses dans notre analyse et 70 % d’entre elles offrent au moins un régime d’assurance collective à leurs retraités. Enfin, 85 % des organisations divulguent leurs résultats selon la norme IAS 19 et le reste, selon les normes américaines.

Notre analyse est divisée en trois parties :

  • La première partie présente, en rang centile, les hypothèses utilisées par les organisations incluses dans notre analyse. Les tableaux permettent de comparer les hypothèses utilisées pour les exercices se terminant à la fin de 2016 (entre le 30 septembre 2016 et le 28 février 2017) et à la fin de 2015 (entre le 30 septembre 2015 et le 29 février 2016). 
  • La deuxième partie résume les constats tirés de ces tableaux et de notre analyse des données.
  • Finalement, la troisième partie de notre analyse présente de l’information additionnelle sur certaines mesures qui pourraient affecter les résultats comptables futurs de certaines organisations. 

1. La sélection des hypothèses

  • Les tableaux présentent, en rang centile, les hypothèses économiques les plus importantes utilisées par les organisations analysées pour leurs régimes PD et les autres avantages après la retraite. Les hypothèses sont celles qui étaient en vigueur à la fin de l’exercice financier considéré afin de déterminer l’obligation à la fin de l’exercice.

  

2. Les constats

  • Pour les régimes PD, l’hypothèse de taux d’actualisation est l’hypothèse la plus importante. Elle peut varier d’un mois à l’autre puisqu’elle est basée sur des taux de marché. Selon notre analyse, le taux annuel d’actualisation médian utilisé à la fin de 2016 était inférieur de 0,20 % à celui utilisé à la fin de 2015, soit 3,80 % au lieu de 4,00 %. Malgré la hausse de taux d’intérêt observée lors du quatrième trimestre de l'année 2016 après une baisse durant les trimestres précédents, le contexte de bas taux d'intérêt a perduré globalement.
  • Plusieurs organisations parmi celles analysées parrainent des régimes PD et d’autres avantages après la retraite dont les prestations sont basées sur le salaire à la retraite. Ces organisations doivent donc établir une hypothèse de taux de croissance de la rémunération. Le taux annuel médian de croissance de la rémunération demeure le même que celui à la fin de 2015, soit 3,00 %. Les perspectives concernant le taux de croissance de la rémunération aux fins de la reconnaissance comptable semblent donc s’être stabilisées par rapport à la tendance à la baisse observée durant les dernières années.
  • Pour les organisations qui parrainent à la fois des régimes PD et d’autres avantages après la retraite, les taux d’actualisation médians utilisés pour l’ensemble des régimes étaient similaires. Ainsi, 50 % des organisations analysées utilisaient, à la fin de 2016, un taux d’actualisation pour les autres avantages après la retraite identique à celui divulgué pour les régimes PD.
  • Le taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé est une hypothèse importante pour les autres avantages après la retraite. Le taux initial, plus élevé que le taux ultime, peut varier de façon importante d’une organisation à l’autre. Le taux ultime varie moins d’une organisation à l’autre et la médiane est relativement stable à 4,50 % depuis plusieurs années.

3. Information additionnelle

  • Le Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) a publié en mars 2017 des modifications aux normes américaines exigeant de présenter le coût des services courants sous les autres coûts de rémunération et séparément des autres éléments du coût des prestations définies à l’état des résultats. Ces modifications ont pour objectifs d’améliorer la cohérence, la transparence et l’utilité de l’information présentée. Les modifications sont effectives pour les années financières débutant après le 15 décembre 2017 (incluant les états financiers intérimaires) pour les organisations qui rendent des comptes publics et après le 15 décembre 2018 pour les autres organisations. L’application anticipée est permise selon certaines conditions.
  • Le Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public (CCSP) a publié à la fin novembre 2016 un Appel à commentaires concernant les dispositions relatives au report pour les avantages sociaux (reconnaissance des gains et pertes actuariels ainsi que l’évaluation des actifs du régime), énoncées dans les chapitres SP 3250 et SP 3255. Le CCSP a débuté en 2016 son projet afin d’examiner les chapitres SP 3250 et SP 3255 et de publier éventuellement un nouveau chapitre sur les avantages sociaux. La publication de l’Appel à commentaires est en lien avec une partie du premier volet du projet qui traitera également du taux d’actualisation utilisé. Le deuxième volet portera sur d’autres aspects tels que les régimes à prestations cibles, les régimes interemployeurs, etc.
 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6