Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The ten most important developments in drug insurance in 2015

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 2, January 2016

It can be stated unequivocally that 2015 has been the busiest year in terms of legislative changes since Quebec's basic prescription drug insurance plan was established almost 20 years ago. Several new prescription drugs also hit the market, having major financial impact on plan costs and posing significant risks for the future. Because 2015 was nothing short of spectacular, we thought it fitting to present a chronology of the ten developments that we feel most affected private drug insurance plans in Quebec.

1. New services provided by pharmacists
2. Brand name drugs reimbursed at the cost of the lowest priced generic equivalent
3. Confidential agreements with pharmaceutical companies
4. Pfizer Préférence loyalty program
5. Drugs for treating Hepatitis C
6. Drugs for treating high cholesterol
7. Increase in pooling fees charged by insurers
8. End of the public subsidy for assisted reproduction
9. Implementation of a request for proposals process for generic drugs
10. Grouping of plan sponsors


Last year started off with parliamentary committee sessions on Bill 28, which was finally passed in the spring of 2015, impacting private plans in three ways:

1. New services provided by pharmacists

As of June 20th, pharmacists have been able to provide services previously provided exclusively by physicians. Four of these seven new pharmaceutical services entail fees charged to the patient that can be reimbursed under drug insurance plans. This is a case where public plan costs are transferred to private plans.

2. Brand name drugs reimbursed at the cost of the lowest priced generic equivalent

As of October 1st, private drug insurance plans have been able to reimburse brand name drugs at the cost of the lowest priced generic equivalent without being limited to the minimum reimbursement of 66% of the purchase price. Plans that have a mandatory generic substitution clause can thus strive to maximize their savings, as most plans outside Quebec and Quebec's public plan do.

3. Confidential agreements with pharmaceutical companies

When the bill was passed, the government put in place a structure allowing it to negotiate confidential agreements with pharmaceutical companies to get discounts on the cost of drugs covered by these agreements. Private plans will not be able to benefit from the savings generated from these agreements. This poses a significant cost transfer risk from the public plan to private plans. However, because these agreements are secret, these costs will be difficult to assess.


Across Canada, after witnessing the introduction of generic drug consumption incentives, pharmaceutical companies have developed strategies for maintaining their market share through the sale of drugs whose patent has expired. Below is a very good example of this:

4. Pfizer Préférence loyalty program

In June, Pfizer launched its loyalty program, Pfizer Préférence, that directly targets Québec consumers. Insured individuals can purchase at the pharmacy any of the 14 drugs eligible for the program, submit their invoice to Pfizer online and receive reimbursement for a portion of the cost not covered by their group benefits plan. This program encourages the purchase of brand name drugs, going against initiatives promoting judicious behaviours, and results in cost increases for plans. The only way to avoid these increases is to implement a mandatory generic substitution clause.


Pharmaceutical companies are also investing heavily in the development of biologics. These specialized drugs are very expensive.

5. Drugs for treating Hepatitis C

Since 2014, more effective Hepatitis C treatments with far fewer side effects have arrived on the market. Treatment costs range from $70,000 to $150,000 depending on duration. According to the Public Health Agency of Canada, one out of 125 people covered by public and private plans suffer from this illness. Last July, recognizing the potential significance of the impact of the reimbursement of these drugs on public finances, the RAMQ decided that, at first, only the most affected patients would be reimbursed for this treatment. As regards private plans, there was no consensus among insurers to follow suit. Only a few insurers will limit reimbursement eligibility for these drugs.

6. Drugs for treating high cholesterol

In September, Health Canada approved Repatha, a new drug for treating high cholesterol. It should be noted that 40% of Canadians between the ages of 40 and 59 have unhealthy cholesterol levels, and approximately 15% of them could eventually be taking Repatha. The annual cost for Repatha is estimated at around $10,000. The financial impact on private plans could be considerable given the number of members potentially affected. This drug is a complement to statin therapy whose annual cost is around $500. Similar drugs such as Praluent will also be hitting the market soon.


Because of the impact that these high cost drugs will have on drug claims, pooling fees for catastrophic drug claims for group plans are increasing.

7. Increase in pooling fees charged by insurers

In October, the Quebec Drug Insurance Pooling Corporation (QDIPC) published the recommended pooling terms and conditions for 2016, which included significant increases for all group sizes. Insurers have made adjustments similar to those made by the QDIPC, resulting in a significant increase in pooling fees for private plans in Canada.


In November, two additional bills impacted private plans.

8. End of the public subsidy for assisted reproduction

Because private drug insurance plans must reimburse, at a minimum, what is covered by the public plan, the passing of Bill 20 that puts an end to the public subsidy for assisted reproduction, eliminated private plans' obligation to cover these expenses. Given that one treatment can cost up to $25,000, this could result in savings for private plans if the plan only reimburses prescription drugs eligible in the public plan.

9. Implementation of a request for proposals process for generic drugs

If passed, this bill will allow the government to negotiate prices for generic drugs that will be covered on the list for Quebec's basic prescription drug insurance plan. In contrast to the previously mentioned confidential agreements established between the government and pharmaceutical companies, the results of the negotiations would be known and private plans could benefit from the reduced drug cost. However, professional fees could increase under private plans because there would be less incentive for generic companies to provide kickbacks to pharmacists. This could cancel out the benefit of the negotiations, and could even increase costs for private plans.


In view of the cost increase threatening the sustainability of private drug insurance plans, a group of plan sponsors was created in December. Their goal is to demonstrate to the government the existence of certain inequities between private plans and the public plan.

10. Grouping of plan sponsors

On December 18th, a letter signed by more than 40 large organizations representing over 100,000 employees or members, was sent to the ministers of Health and Justice. This letter addressed the following issues: a framework for and the transparency of fees charged by pharmacists, access for private plans to the benefits resulting from the agreements negotiated by the government with pharmaceutical companies and the possibility of allowing private plans to negotiate agreements directly with pharmacists or their representatives.
 


It should be noted that seven of the ten most important developments in 2015
result in upward pressure on private plan costs.

Outlooks for 2016

The legislative context will continue to evolve in 2016. Several new high cost drugs are also expected to hit the market. We will continue to monitor these developments and will keep you informed.

To learn private plan sponsors' reaction to the upward pressure on costs, Normandin Beaudry conducted a survey of about 60 organizations in late 2015. This survey revealed that most organizations would not be able to absorb cost increases exceeding 20%. In this context, the use of indicators allowing for the identification of risks associated with drug utilization for each plan would be beneficial so as to develop a risk management strategy focused on plan design, communication and prevention. The Normandin Beaudry consultants can provide you with different solutions.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les 10 événements marquants de 2015 en assurance médicaments

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 2, janvier 2016

Depuis la mise en place, il y a près de 20 ans, du régime général d’assurance médicaments au Québec, l’année 2015 a sans équivoque été la plus occupée en termes de changements législatifs. Nous avons également été témoins de la mise en marché de plusieurs nouvelles molécules ayant eu des impacts financiers significatifs sur les coûts des régimes, représentant des risques importants pour le futur. Comme 2015 a été tout à fait spectaculaire, nous présentons ici la chronologie des événements ayant, selon nous, le plus touché les régimes privés d’assurance médicaments au Québec.

1.Nouveaux actes des pharmaciens
2. Remboursement des médicaments d’origine au prix du générique le plus bas
3. Ententes confidentielles avec des compagnies pharmaceutiques
4. Programme de fidélisation Pfizer Préférence
5. Médicaments pour le traitement de l’Hépatite C

6. Médicaments pour le traitement de l’hypercholestérolémie
7. Augmentation des frais de mise en commun des assureurs
8. Fin de la subvention publique pour la procréation assistée
9. Implantation d’un processus d’appel d’offres pour les médicaments génériques
10. Regroupement de promoteurs de régimes


L’année 2015 a commencé avec les commissions parlementaires sur le projet de Loi 28, qui a finalement été adopté au printemps 2015, affectant les régimes privés de trois manières :

1. Nouveaux actes des pharmaciens

Depuis le 20 juin, les pharmaciens peuvent effectuer des actes auparavant prodigués exclusivement par les médecins. Quatre de ces sept nouveaux actes pharmaceutiques sont facturables au patient et remboursables par les régimes d’assurance médicaments. Il s’agit ici d’un transfert des coûts du régime public vers les régimes privés.

2. Remboursement des médicaments d’origine au prix du générique le plus bas

Depuis le 1er octobre, les régimes privés d’assurance médicaments peuvent rembourser les médicaments d’origine au prix du générique équivalent le moins cher sans être limités au remboursement minimum de 66 % du médicament acheté. Par conséquent, les régimes qui ont en place une clause de substitution générique obligatoire peuvent aller chercher le plein potentiel des économies, au même titre que la majorité des régimes à l’extérieur du Québec et le régime public québécois.

3. Ententes confidentielles avec des compagnies pharmaceutiques

Dès l’adoption du projet de Loi, le gouvernement s’est doté d’une structure lui permettant de négocier des ententes confidentielles avec des compagnies pharmaceutiques afin d’obtenir des rabais sur les coûts des médicaments visés par ces ententes. Les régimes privés, de leur côté, ne pourront bénéficier des économies générées par ces ententes. Ceci représente un risque de transfert de coûts important du public vers le privé. Toutefois, comme ces ententes sont secrètes, ces coûts seront difficiles à évaluer.


Partout au Canada, voyant l’apparition d’incitatifs à la consommation de médicaments génériques, les compagnies pharmaceutiques ont développé des stratégies afin de conserver leurs parts de marché dans la vente de leurs médicaments dont le brevet est expiré. En voici un très bon exemple :

4. Programme de fidélisation Pfizer Préférence

Au mois de juin, Pfizer a lancé un programme de fidélisation, Pfizer Préférence, qui vise directement les consommateurs québécois. Ainsi, l’assuré peut acheter en pharmacie l’un des 14 médicaments admissibles au programme, soumettre en ligne sa facture à Pfizer pour ensuite recevoir un remboursement d'une partie des coûts non couverts par le régime d’assurance collective. Ce programme encourage l’achat de médicaments originaux, allant ainsi à l’encontre des initiatives pour des changements de comportements judicieux, ce qui entraîne des hausses de coûts pour les régimes. La seule manière d'éviter cette hausse est d’implanter une clause de substitution générique obligatoire.


Les compagnies pharmaceutiques investissent aussi massivement dans le développement de médicaments biologiques, médicaments spécialisés dont les coûts sont substantiels.

5. Médicaments pour le traitement de l’Hépatite C

Depuis 2014, des traitements contre l’Hépatite C, dont l’efficacité est plus élevée et dont les effets secondaires sont grandement diminués, ont fait leur apparition sur le marché. En contrepartie, le coût du traitement varie de 70 000 $ à 150 000 $ selon la durée. Selon l’Agence de santé publique du Canada, une personne sur 125 couvertes par les régimes publics et privés serait atteinte de la maladie. En juillet dernier, reconnaissant l'importance de l’impact sur les finances publiques que pourrait avoir le remboursement de ces médicaments, la RAMQ a décidé que seuls les patients les plus affectés se verraient rembourser ce traitement dans un premier temps. En ce qui concerne les régimes privés, il n’y a pas eu consensus des assureurs pour suivre le pas de la RAMQ. Par conséquent, seulement quelques assureurs limiteront l’admissibilité au remboursement de ces médicaments.

6. Médicaments pour le traitement de l’hypercholestérolémie

Au mois de septembre, Santé Canada a approuvé un nouveau médicament, le Repatha, pour le traitement de l’hypercholestérolémie. À titre indicatif, 40 % des Canadiens âgés de 40 à 59 ans ont un taux de cholestérol néfaste pour la santé et environ 15 % de ceux-ci pourraient éventuellement consommer le Repatha. Les coûts annuels du Repatha sont estimés à environ 10 000 $. L’impact financier sur les régimes privés pourrait donc être considérable, compte tenu du nombre de participants potentiellement visés. Ce médicament consiste en un complément à une thérapie de statines, dont le coût annuel s’élève à environ 500 $. Il est à noter que d’autres médicaments du même type, tel le Praluent, arriveront également prochainement sur le marché.


En raison de l’impact que ces médicaments coûteux auront sur les réclamations en assurance médicaments, les frais reliés à la mise en commun des réclamations catastrophiques des régimes collectifs augmentent.

7. Augmentation des frais de mise en commun des assureurs

En octobre, la Société de compensation en assurance médicaments du Québec (SCAMQ) a publié les modalités de la mise en commun recommandées pour 2016, affichant des hausses considérables pour toutes les tailles de groupes. Nous avons vu que les assureurs se sont également ajustés de la même façon que la SCAMQ, entraînant une hausse significative des frais de mise en commun pour les régimes privés au Canada.  


En novembre, deux projets de Loi additionnels ont eu un impact sur les régimes privés.

8. Fin de la subvention publique pour la procréation assistée

Comme les régimes privés d’assurance médicaments doivent rembourser au minimum ce qui est couvert par le régime public, l’adoption du projet de Loi 20, mettant fin à la subvention publique pour la procréation assistée, a pour effet d’éliminer l’obligation des régimes privés de couvrir ces frais. Considérant qu’un traitement peut coûter jusqu’à 25 000 $, des économies pour les régimes privés pourraient ainsi être générées si le régime se limite aux médicaments couverts par le régime public.

9. Implantation d’un processus d’appel d’offres pour les médicaments génériques

Si adopté, ce projet de loi permettra au gouvernement de négocier le prix des médicaments génériques qui seront couverts sur la liste du régime général d’assurance médicaments du Québec. En contraste aux ententes confidentielles établies entre le gouvernement et les compagnies pharmaceutiques précédemment mentionnées, le résultat des négociations serait connu et les régimes privés pourraient bénéficier du coût du médicament réduit. Toutefois, les honoraires professionnels pourraient augmenter dans les régimes privés puisque l’incitatif des compagnies génériques à verser des ristournes aux pharmaciens se verrait diminuer. Ceci pourrait avoir comme effet d’annuler le bénéfice des négociations, voire d'augmenter les coûts pour les régimes privés.


Face à la hausse de coûts qui menace la pérennité des régimes privés d’assurance médicaments, un regroupement de promoteurs de régimes s’est formé en décembre. Leur objectif est de démontrer au gouvernement l'existence de certaines iniquités entre les régimes privés et le régime public.

10. Regroupement de promoteurs de régimes

Le 18 décembre, une lettre signée par plus de 40 organisations d’envergure, représentant plus de 100 000 employés ou membres, a été envoyée aux ministres de la Santé et de la Justice. Cette lettre abordait les éléments suivants : l’encadrement et la transparence des honoraires des pharmaciens, l’accès pour les régimes privés aux avantages des ententes négociées par le gouvernement avec les compagnies pharmaceutiques ainsi que la possibilité pour les régimes privés de négocier des ententes directement avec les pharmaciens ou leurs représentants.


Notons que, sur les 10 événements les plus marquants de 2015,
sept entraînent des pressions à la hausse sur les coûts des régimes privés.

Perspectives 2016

En 2016, le contexte législatif continuera d'évoluer. De plus, nous nous attendons à ce que plusieurs nouveaux médicaments coûteux soient mis en marché. Nous poursuivrons donc la vigie de ces éléments et vous tiendrons informés.

Afin de connaître la réaction des promoteurs de régimes privés face à la pression à la hausse sur les coûts, Normandin Beaudry a effectué un sondage auprès d’une soixantaine d’organisations à la fin de 2015. Ce sondage révèle que la majorité des organisations ne pourraient absorber des augmentations de coûts supérieures à 20 %. Dans ce contexte, l’utilisation d’indicateurs permettant d’identifier les risques liés à la consommation de médicaments propre à chaque régime serait bénéfique, et ce, afin de concevoir une stratégie de contrôle de risques axée sur le design du régime, la communication et la prévention. Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry peuvent vous proposer certaines avenues.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6