Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2016-2017 survey on salary increases

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 16, September 2016

The annual Salary Increases Survey, conducted by Normandin Beaudry, reveals that Quebec salaries are expected to increase by 2.8% in 2017. Salary structures are expected to increase by an average of 1.8%.

As in 2016, the economic outlook remains uncertain for 2017 and the volatile environment brings organizations to remain cautious. With a first positive difference since 2012, the slightly higher increases granted in 2016 has reversed the negative trend of the last three years.

Small businesses are more generous

Once again this year, small businesses (less than 100 employees or with revenue less than $50M) are setting themselves apart from the market by forecasting salary increase budgets above the provincial average (between 2.8% and 3.0% on average). Large organizations (more than 500 employees or revenue over $100M) are cautious with below provincial average forecasts for 2017 (between 2.6% and 2.8% on average).

Back to an equilibrium between Quebec City and Montreal

After a shortfall in 2016, forecasts for the region of Quebec City are again similar to those of the Montreal region, where both regions are anticipating increases above the provincial average. 

  • Quebec City (projected for 2017: 2.9%, granted in 2016: 3.0%)
  • Montreal (projected for 2017: 3.0%, granted in 2016: 2.9%)

Differences among industry sectors

Some industry sectors set themselves apart with salary increase budget forecasts that are higher than the provincial average. These sectors include Durable Goods Manufacturing (3.4%), Educational Services (3.4%), Information Technology and Communications (3.2%), Professional, Scientific and Technical Services (3.2%) and Non Durable Goods Manufacturing (3.2%).

Conversely, some sectors are well below the provincial average. These sectors include Information Culture and Entertainment industry (2.3%), Foundations, Community and Health Care Assistance (2.3%) and the Municipal Sector (2.2%). The latter sector was among the highest forecasts for 2016 with 2.9% increase, however, only 2.5% was granted and the outlook is now among the lowest in the coming year.

Salary increase forecasts for private sector organizations remain higher (2.9%) than those for public and parapublic organizations (2.5%).

Canadian provinces are below the Quebec average 

Quebec organizations with nationwide activities (n=41) forecast slightly higher increases (3.0%) in Quebec than the provincial average of 2.8%. Although, for the other provinces, the forecasts range between 2.5% and 2.6% and are lower than the Quebec provincial average.

  • 54% of organizations granted equivalent salary increase budgets across the provinces in 2016, a decrease of 14% compared to the results of the previous year.
  • 85% of organizations granted the same salary structure increase across the provinces in 2016, and 94% expect to do the same in 2017.

About the survey

The sixth edition of the Salary Increase Survey was conducted in the summer of 2016. A total of 175 organizations, including 41 with nation-wide operations, representing more than 965 000 employees completed this survey, allowing us to build a reliable database. The data collected was analyzed by Normandin Beaudry's compensation specialists to identify market trends and present salary forecasts for 2017 that reflect the economic conditions specific to Quebec organisations.

Get the full report of this survey on normandin-beaudry.ca

For more information about the survey, contact:

Philip Longpré, B. Sc. Act., CEBS, CHRP
Senior Consultant, Compensation
plongpre@normandin-beaudry.ca
514 285-1122 ext. 240

Anna Potvin, M.Sc., CHRP
Consultant, Compensation
apotvin@normandin-beaudry.ca
514 285-1122 ext. 624
 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Enquête sur les augmentations salariales 2016-2017

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 16, septembre 2016

Administrée par Normandin Beaudry, l’enquête annuelle sur les prévisions salariales révèle un budget global d’augmentations estimé à 2,8 % pour 2017. L’augmentation des structures salariales est quant à elle estimée en moyenne à 1,8 %.

À l’instar de 2016, les perspectives économiques demeurent incertaines pour 2017 et le contexte de volatilité incite les organisations à rester prudentes. Grâce à un premier écart positif depuis 2012, la légère hausse des budgets d’augmentations réellement accordés pour 2016 a renversé la tendance négative des trois dernières années.

 

Les petites organisations sont plus généreuses

Cette année encore, les petites organisations (moins de 100 employés ou des revenus de moins de 50 M$) se démarquent du marché en prévoyant des budgets d’augmentations salariales supérieurs à la moyenne provinciale (entre 2,8 % et 3,0 %). Les grandes organisations (plus de 500 employés ou des revenus de plus de 100 M$) sont les plus prudentes avec des prévisions inférieures à la moyenne québécoise (entre 2,6 % et 2,8 %). 

Retour à l’équilibre entre la Capitale-Nationale et la Métropole

Après une année de prévisions inférieures, les prévisions pour 2017 de la région de la Capitale-Nationale sont de nouveau similaires à celles de la région de Montréal, les deux régions prévoyant des hausses supérieures à la moyenne québécoise. 

  • Capitale-Nationale (prévu 2017 : 2,9 % et accordé 2016 : 3,0 %)
  • Montréal (prévu 2017 : 3,0 % et accordé 2016 : 2,9 %)

Différences entre les secteurs d’activité et le type d’organisation

Certains secteurs d’activité se démarquent en proposant des budgets d’augmentations salariales supérieurs à la moyenne provinciale, notamment les secteurs de la fabrication de biens durables (3,4 %), les services d’enseignements (3,4 %), le secteur des technologies de l’information et des communications (3,2 %), des services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques (3,2 %) et de la fabrication de biens non durables (3,2 %).

À l’inverse, certains secteurs se trouvent significativement inférieurs à la moyenne provinciale, dont l’industrie de l’information, culture et loisirs (2,3 %), celui des fondations, de l’aide communautaire et des soins de santé (2,3 %) et du secteur municipal (2,2 %). Ce dernier secteur comptait parmi les plus généreuses prévisions pour 2016 avec 2,9 % d’augmentation, mais c’est toutefois 2,5 % qui a été réellement accordé et les perspectives sont dorénavant parmi les plus faibles pour 2017.

À nouveau cette année, les organisations à propriété privée disposent d’un budget d’augmentations salariales supérieur (2,9 %) aux secteurs public et parapublic (2,5 %).

Les provinces canadiennes sous la moyenne québécoise

Les organisations québécoises ayant des activités pancanadiennes (n=41) prévoient accorder en sol québécois des augmentations légèrement supérieures (3,0 %) à la moyenne provinciale de 2,8 %. Toutefois, les prévisions des autres provinces canadiennes (variant entre 2,5 % et 2,6 %) sont inférieures à la moyenne québécoise.

  • 54 % des organisations ont accordé des budgets d’augmentations salariales équivalents à travers les provinces en 2016, soit une baisse de 14 % par rapport aux résultats de l’année précédente.
  • 85 % des organisations ont accordé à travers les provinces canadiennes le même pourcentage d’augmentation de la structure salariale en 2016 et 94 % prévoient faire de même en 2017.

À propos de l’enquête

La 6e édition de l’enquête sur les augmentations salariales a été menée au cours de l’été 2016. Ce sont 175 organisations, dont 41 ayant des activités pancanadiennes, représentant plus de 965 000 employés qui ont participé, permettant d’établir une base de données fiable et riche en information. Les données recueillies ont été analysées par les experts en rémunération de Normandin Beaudry. Ceux-ci en dégagent les tendances du marché du travail et présentent les prévisions salariales pour 2017 selon les réalités économiques particulières du Québec.

Obtenez le rapport complet de cette enquête disponible sur normandin-beaudry.ca

Pour plus de détails à propos de l'enquête, communiquez avec : 

Philip Longpré, B. Sc. Act., CEBS, CRHA
Conseiller principal, rémunération
plongpre@normandin-beaudry.ca
514 285-1122, poste 240 

Anna Potvin, M.Sc., CRHA
Conseillère, rémunération
apotvin@normandin-beaudry.ca
514 285-1122, poste 624
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6