Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Review of the solvency funding framework for defined benefit pension plans in Ontario

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 15, August 2016

On July 26, 2016, the Ontario government released a consultation paper entitled "Review of Ontario's Solvency Funding Framework for Defined Benefit Pension Plans", targeted at sponsors of single employer pension plans. This bulletin summarizes the approaches and options proposed during the course of these consultations. Interested parties have until September 30, 2016 to submit their comments. 

Since the global recession of 2008, relief measures have been introduced to help sponsors fund their defined benefit pension plans. In an environment of prolonged low interest rates, the Ontario government announced in the 2016 Ontario Budget its intention to review the solvency funding framework for defined benefit pension plans. 

The consultation paper sets out two approaches aimed at maintaining plan sustainability, affordability and benefit security and at balancing stakeholder interests: 

  • Approach A: Modified solvency funding rules while maintaining the requirement to fund on both going concern and solvency bases 
  • Approach B: Eliminate current solvency funding requirements while strengthening going concern funding requirements 

To help frame the consultation, the Ontario government offers various options to comment on for each of the approaches. 

 

Approach A: Modified solvency funding rules 

Option 1: Average solvency ratios

The average solvency ratio would be calculated over three years and applied to the solvency liabilities on the valuation date to determine the funding contributions required on this basis over a period of five years. 

Option 2: Lengthened amortization period

Lengthening of the period of time over which solvency deficiencies must be amortized. For example, the period could be lengthened from five years to ten years. 

Option 3: Consolidation of solvency deficiencies 

Solvency deficiencies would be consolidated at each valuation date and amortized over a new five-year period. 

Option 4: Funding a percentage of the solvency liability 

The target for solvency funding would be reduced from 100% to a lower threshold.

Adjustments could be made to the Pension Benefits Guaranteed Fund (PBGF) assessment formula to take into account this possible change. The guarantee provided through the PBGF could also be increased to maintain benefit security for pension plan members. 

Option 5: Solvency funding for certain benefits only 

Benefits would be funded on a going concern basis only. However, plans offering certain additional benefits, such as subsidized early retirement benefits, could be required to fund such benefits on both a going concern basis and a solvency basis. As in Option 4, the guarantee provided through the PBGF could be increased to maintain benefit security. 

Option 6: Solvency reserve account 

Accounting for funding contributions on a solvency basis in a separate account called a "solvency reserve account". The sponsor could afterwards withdraw some of the plan's surplus assets using this account, subject to a minimum level of surplus assets.

Option 7: Letters of credit 

Rules on the use of letters of credit could be changed to increase the current limit of 15% of solvency liabilities. 

 

Approach B: Eliminate current solvency funding rules and strengthen going concern funding requirements

Option 1: Require a funding cushion (provision for adverse deviation) 

Obligation for pension plan sponsors to have financial cushions. These cushions would be expressed as a percentage of the plan's going concern liabilities that must be funded before the plan sponsor can make decisions that could weaken the plan's going concern funded position, such as benefit improvements or a contribution holiday. 

Factors to consider when calculating these cushions could include the investment policy's alignment with the plan's demographic profile, the maturity of the plan, the actuarial assumptions and the financial strength of the sponsor. 

Option 2: Shortened amortization period 

The current going concern unfunded liability amortization period of 15 years could be reduced. 

Option 3: Restrictions on determining the expected return on plan assets assumption 

The expected return on plan assets assumption is a key component of pension plan funding that directly influences the discount rate used. The Superintendent could set a maximum discount rate that would vary based on factors such as the plan's investment policy. 

The consultation paper even proposes using on a going concern basis the same discount rate used for the accounting actuarial valuation. 

Option 4: Solvency trigger for enhanced funding 

Additional going concern funding requirements would be triggered when the plan falls below a certain solvency threshold, for example, 80%. 

Option 5: Enhance the PBGF 

PBGF assessments would need to be increased to reduce the additional risk to the PBGF because of the lack of solvency funding. In the absence of solvency funding, the plan could have lower asset values, thereby resulting in higher PBGF claims in the event of a wind-up involving an insolvent employer. 

 

Additional measures

The two approaches described above aim to reduce the volatility of funding contributions and several of the proposed options are inspired by legislative changes that have already been made to federal legislation and to some provincial legislations, including legislation in Quebec, Alberta and British Columbia. However, since these proposals include different options that can reduce benefit security, the following measures could be considered to maintain benefit security: 

  • Actuarial valuations required annually regardless of the plan's financial position
  • Establishment of a governance policy
  • Establishment of a funding policy
  • Change regarding the determination of the commuted value when a member terminates employment to ensure a better balance between the interests of beneficiaries remaining in the plan and those of the member transferring his or her rights
  • Restrictions on contribution reductions or holidays and benefit improvements
  • Administrator discharge for annuity buyouts

Consultations with various stakeholders and experts will continue over the summer and fall. It remains to be seen what the conclusions of the Ontario government will be following the feedback obtained and the consultation period. 

The Normandin Beaudry consultants will continue to closely monitor the progress of the work on the legislative changes concerning the funding of defined benefit pension plans and will keep you informed of future developments.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Révision du cadre de financement du déficit de solvabilité des régimes à prestations déterminées en Ontario

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 15, août 2016

Le gouvernement a publié le 26 juillet 2016 un document de consultation intitulé Examen du cadre de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées de l’Ontario visant les régimes de retraite parrainés par des promoteurs de régimes à employeur unique. Le présent communiqué résume les approches et les options proposées dans le cadre de ces consultations. Les parties intéressées ont jusqu’au 30 septembre 2016 pour faire parvenir leurs commentaires.

Depuis la récession mondiale de 2008, des mesures d’allégement ont été mises en place pour aider les promoteurs à financer leurs régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées. Dans le contexte persistant de bas taux d’intérêt, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a annoncé dans son Budget 2016 son intention de revoir le cadre législatif quant au financement du déficit de solvabilité des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées. 

Le document de consultation présente deux approches visant à conserver la sécurité, l’accessibilité et la viabilité des prestations et à maintenir l’équilibre des intérêts des intervenants :

  • Approche A : Modification des règles de financement des déficits de solvabilité tout en maintenant les exigences de financement selon la base de continuité et de solvabilité 
  • Approche B : Élimination des exigences actuelles de financement des déficits de solvabilité tout en renforçant les exigences de financement selon la base de continuité

Pour aider à encadrer la consultation, le gouvernement de l’Ontario énumère différentes options à commenter pour chacune des approches.

 

Approche A : Modification des règles de financement des déficits de solvabilité

Option 1 : Ratios de solvabilité moyens

Détermination d’un ratio de solvabilité moyen sur trois ans qui serait appliqué au passif de solvabilité à la date d’évaluation pour établir les cotisations de financement requises selon cette base sur une période de cinq ans.

Option 2 : Période d’amortissement prolongée

Allongement de la période d’amortissement du déficit selon la base de solvabilité. Par exemple, la période pourrait passer de cinq à dix ans.

Option 3 : Consolidation des déficits de solvabilité

Consolidation des déficits de solvabilité à chaque évaluation actuarielle et amortissement sur une nouvelle période de cinq ans.

Option 4 : Financement d’un pourcentage du passif de solvabilité

Objectif de financement selon un ratio de solvabilité moindre que 100 %. 

Des ajustements pourraient être apportés à la cotisation requise au Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite (FGPR) pour tenir compte de cette éventuelle modification. Le FGPR pourrait également devoir ajuster ses protections à la hausse afin de ne pas diminuer la sécurité des prestations pour les participants d’un régime de retraite.

Option 5 : Financement du déficit de solvabilité uniquement pour certaines prestations

Financement des prestations selon la base de continuité uniquement. Toutefois, certaines prestations supplémentaires, dont les prestations de retraite anticipée subventionnées, pourraient également devoir être financées selon la base de solvabilité. Tout comme l’option 4, le FGPR pourrait être rehaussé afin de préserver la sécurité des prestations. 

Option 6 : Compte de réserve de solvabilité

Comptabilisation des cotisations de financement selon la base de solvabilité dans un compte distinct nommé « compte de réserve de solvabilité ». Le promoteur pourrait éventuellement retirer une partie de l’excédent d’actif du régime via ce compte, sujet à un niveau minimal d’excédent d’actif.

Option 7 : Lettres de crédit

Modification des règles actuelles d’utilisation de lettres de crédit afin d’augmenter la limite de 15 % du passif de solvabilité.

 

Approche B : Élimination des règles actuelles de financement du déficit de solvabilité et renforcement des règles de financement selon la base de continuité 

Option 1 : Exiger un coussin de capitalisation (provision pour écarts défavorables)

Obligation pour les promoteurs de régime de retraite à se doter de coussins de sécurité. Ces coussins s’exprimeraient selon un pourcentage du passif de capitalisation du régime devant être financé avant que le promoteur du régime puisse prendre des décisions pouvant affaiblir la situation financière selon la base de continuité, notamment bonifier les prestations ou prendre un congé de cotisation.

Les éléments à considérer dans l’établissement de ces coussins pourraient notamment être l’alignement de la politique de placement avec le profil démographique du régime, la maturité du régime, les hypothèses actuarielles ainsi que la solidité financière du promoteur.

Option 2 : Période d’amortissement plus courte

Réduction de la période actuelle de 15 ans pour amortir les déficits selon la base de continuité.

Option 3 : Restrictions sur l’établissement de l’hypothèse de rendement attendu sur l’actif du régime

L’hypothèse de rendement attendu sur l’actif du régime est un élément clé du financement d’un régime de retraite qui influence directement le taux d’actualisation utilisé. Le surintendant pourrait fixer un taux d’actualisation maximal qui varierait notamment en fonction de la politique de placement du régime.

Le document propose même d’utiliser selon la base de continuité le même taux d’actualisation que celui utilisé pour l’évaluation actuarielle de comptabilisation. 

Option 4 : Seuil de solvabilité nécessitant un financement accru

Exigences supplémentaires de financement requises sur base de continuité lorsque la solvabilité d’un régime est inférieure à un certain seuil, par exemple 80 %.

Option 5 : Bonification du FGPR

Augmentation des cotisations requises aux fins du FGPR pour réduire le risque additionnel supporté par le FGPR en raison du non financement de la solvabilité. Sans le financement de la solvabilité, le régime pourrait présenter une valeur d’actif sous gestion moins élevée, entraînant ainsi des réclamations supérieures au FGPR dans le cas d’une liquidation du régime avec un employeur insolvable. 

 

Mesures supplémentaires

Les deux approches décrites précédemment visent à réduire la volatilité des cotisations de financement et plusieurs des options proposées s’inspirent de modifications législatives déjà mises de l’avant dans la législation fédérale et dans certaines législations provinciales, notamment au Québec, en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique. Toutefois, comme ces propositions comportent différentes options pouvant réduire la sécurité des prestations, les mesures suivantes pourraient aussi être envisagées afin de préserver la sécurité des prestations :

  • Évaluations actuarielles requises annuellement peu importe la situation financière du régime
  • Établissement d’une politique de gouvernance
  • Établissement d’une politique de financement
  • Modification de la détermination de la valeur de rachat lors d’une cessation d’emploi pour assurer un meilleur équilibre entre les intérêts des bénéficiaires demeurant dans le régime et ceux du participant qui transfère ses droits
  • Restrictions sur les réductions ou suspensions des cotisations et sur les majorations de prestations
  • Décharge de responsabilité de l’administrateur pour les rentes avec rachat des engagements

Des consultations auprès de divers intervenants et experts se poursuivront au cours de l’été et de l’automne. Reste maintenant à savoir quelles seront les conclusions du gouvernement de l’Ontario à la suite des commentaires obtenus et de la période de consultation.

Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry continuent de suivre de près l’évolution des travaux entourant les modifications législatives quant au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées et vous tiendront informés des développements futurs.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6