Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Enhancing your bond portfolio with the liquidity premium

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 14, August 2016

In recent years, Canadian investors have seen interest rates fall dramatically. The rate for 10-year federal bonds fell from 6% at the beginning of the 2000s to under 1% in the 3rd quarter of 2016. This decrease allowed investors to generate good returns. However, the future prospects for traditional bonds are now poor. 

One of the common approaches adopted by investors to enhance the return of their bond portfolio is to increase the exposure to the credit premium. The credit premium is the additional return obtained to make a loan to an issuer that is riskier than a government. Although this premium continues to be attractive, it is possible to further improve the return through exposure to another well rewarded risk: liquidity risk.

An investment in a security that cannot be sold before and must be held until maturity provides an additional return to compensate for this lack of liquidity. Private debt is the fixed income category that provides access to this liquidity premium. This type of investment does not necessarily pose a greater financial or credit risk, but the limited or non-existent access to the invested capital allows the investor to obtain a significantly higher return. In contrast, an investor that purchases bond securities traded on public markets that provide some liquidity will obtain lower rates of return in exchange for transactional liquidity.

Liquidity premium: why now?

Interest in this liquidity premium has increased gradually in recent years for various reasons. 

First, this premium now accounts for a very substantial proportion of a bond portfolio's total return, given the very low risk-free rates.

Second, growing knowledge of alternative investments such as real estate, infrastructures and private investments, allows investors today to consider private debt as an extension of the investment categories to be included.

And, finally, in the wake of the financial crisis of 2008, changes to the regulation of the global banking system resulted in an increase in this liquidity premium. Since the Basel III agreement was reached, there have been fewer traditional credit sources. In other words, banks no longer have the flexibility nor the financial capacity required to make loans to certain types of borrowers requesting less standard borrowing conditions. Private funds or managers offering greater flexibility and swift execution can therefore lend at higher interest rates. For an investor with few liquidity constraints and a long-term horizon, it is becoming worthwhile and important to consider exposure to this return premium.

How to gain exposure

The private debt market allows for exposure to the liquidity premium. This market includes private loans to businesses, loans for infrastructure projects and mortgage loans backed by commercial properties.

Private corporate debt funds that are especially attractive to investors are typically composed of loans to small or medium-sized businesses. These loans are tailored to the reality and needs of borrowers and are negotiated directly between the investor and the borrower. These loans are backed by businesses' assets and cash, and strong protection clauses. Because publicly traded corporate debt is not backed by assets, loss rates in the event of default are often higher for public debt than for private debt for businesses of equivalent quality.

Infrastructure debt and commercial mortgage debt are loans made to finance tangible assets, such as infrastructure projects or commercial buildings. These assets are typically used as collateral, which reduces the risk for investors in the event of default by the borrower. Unlike direct investments in these infrastructure projects or commercial buildings, the loans are made on a fraction of the assets, with a first or second rank seniority on all of the assets. They therefore benefit from a cushion in the event of a decline in the value of the underlying assets that is absorbed by equity investors. This is an enviable position in the capital structure in more difficult economic conditions that helps to stabilize returns.

For these three types of investments, there are many risk-return profiles based on the borrower's credit quality, the positioning in the capital structure and the protection clauses negotiated. The higher the level of risk, the higher the credit and liquidity premiums.

It is necessary to have a clear understanding of the risk-return profile of the different products available on the market before making an investment. The private debt expertise required is complex and advanced and it is difficult to compare funds to one another. This is why education efforts and governance mechanisms associated with investing in these private markets are so important.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Bonifier son portefeuille obligataire avec la prime de liquidité

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 14, août 2016

Au cours des dernières années, les investisseurs canadiens ont vu les taux d'intérêt chuter de façon drastique. Sur les obligations fédérales de 10 ans, le taux est passé de 6 % au début des années 2000 à moins de 1 % au 3trimestre de 2016. Cette diminution a certes permis aux investisseurs de générer de bons rendements. En revanche, les perspectives d’avenir en obligations traditionnelles sont maintenant peu reluisantes. 

Une des approches courantes des investisseurs pour bonifier le rendement de leur portefeuille obligataire est d’augmenter l’exposition à la prime de crédit. La prime de crédit correspond au rendement additionnel obtenu pour effectuer un prêt à un émetteur plus risqué qu’un gouvernement. Cette prime demeure attrayante, mais il est possible d’améliorer davantage le rendement en s’exposant à un autre risque bien rémunéré : le risque de liquidité.

Un investissement dans un titre qu’on ne peut pas vendre avant l’échéance et que l’on doit détenir à maturité procure un rendement additionnel pour compenser ce manque de liquidité. La dette privée est la catégorie en revenu fixe qui permet l’accès à cette prime de liquidité. Un tel investissement ne présente pas nécessairement un risque financier supérieur ni un risque de crédit supérieur, mais l’accès limité, voire nul, au capital investi permet d’obtenir une bonification significative sur le rendement. À l’inverse, un investisseur achetant des titres obligataires transigés sur les marchés publics et offrant une certaine liquidité obtiendra des taux de rendement inférieurs en échange d’une liquidité transactionnelle.

La prime de liquidité : pourquoi maintenant ?

L’intérêt pour cette prime de liquidité a augmenté graduellement au cours des dernières années, et ce, pour différentes raisons. 

Premièrement, cette prime représente aujourd’hui une proportion très importante du rendement total d’un portefeuille obligataire, compte tenu des très faibles taux sans risque.

Deuxièmement, l’évolution des connaissances en matière de placements alternatifs, tels l’immobilier, les infrastructures et les placements privés, permet aujourd’hui aux investisseurs de considérer la dette privée comme une extension des catégories de placement à inclure. 

Finalement, à la suite de la crise financière de 2008, les changements à la règlementation du système bancaire mondial ont eu pour effet d’accroitre cette prime de liquidité. Depuis l’Accord de Bâle III, les sources traditionnelles de crédit se font plus rares. En d’autres mots, les banques n’ont plus la flexibilité ou la capacité financière nécessaires pour effectuer des prêts à certains types d’emprunteurs demandant des conditions d’emprunt moins standards. Des fonds ou gestionnaires privés offrant davantage de flexibilité et de rapidité d’exécution peuvent alors prêter à des taux d’intérêt plus élevés. Pour un investisseur ayant peu de contraintes de liquidité et un horizon à long terme, il devient donc intéressant et important de considérer l’exposition à cette prime de rendement.

Comment s'y exposer ?

Le marché de la dette privée permet de s’exposer à la prime de liquidité. Ce marché inclut notamment des prêts privés à des entreprises, des prêts pour des projets d'infrastructure et des prêts hypothécaires adossés à des propriétés commerciales. 

Les fonds de dette privée corporative qui représentent un attrait particulier pour les investisseurs sont généralement composés de prêts à des petites ou moyennes entreprises. Ces prêts sont adaptés à la réalité et aux besoins des emprunteurs et sont négociés directement entre l’investisseur et l’emprunteur. Des garanties sur les actifs et les liquidités des entreprises, ainsi que des clauses de protection généralement musclées sécurisent ces prêts. La dette corporative transigée publiquement n’offrant pas de garanties sur des actifs, les taux de perte en cas de défaut sont souvent plus élevés pour la dette publique que la dette privée, et ce, pour des entreprises de qualité équivalente.

La dette d'infrastructure et la dette hypothécaire commerciale constituent des prêts effectués pour le financement d'actifs tangibles, soit des projets d’infrastructures ou des immeubles commerciaux. Ces actifs servent généralement de garanties, ce qui diminue le risque pour les investisseurs en cas de défaut de paiement par l’emprunteur. Contrairement aux investissements directs dans ces projets d’infrastructures ou d’immeubles commerciaux, les prêts sont contractés sur une fraction des actifs, avec une garantie de premier ou second rang sur la totalité de l’actif. Ils bénéficient ainsi d’un coussin en cas de baisse de la valeur des actifs sous-jacents qui est absorbée par les investisseurs en équité. Ce positionnement dans la structure de capital est enviable en contexte économique plus difficile et contribue à stabiliser les rendements. 

Pour ces trois types de placement, il existe une multitude de profils rendement/risque en fonction, notamment, de la qualité de crédit de l’emprunteur, du positionnement dans la structure de capital et des garanties négociées. Plus le niveau de risque est important, plus les primes de crédit et de liquidité sont élevées.

Il est nécessaire de bien comprendre le profil rendement/risque des différents produits offerts sur le marché avant de procéder à un investissement. L’expertise requise en dette privée est complexe et pointue, et les fonds sont difficilement comparables entre eux. C’est d’ailleurs pourquoi les efforts d’éducation et les mécanismes de gouvernance liés à l’investissement dans ces marchés privés sont si importants. 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6