Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: What assumptions do Canadian companies use?

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 12, June 2016

Several private sector organizations must include the recognition of their obligations toward defined benefit pension plans (DB plans) and group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-retirement benefits) in their financial statements.

The assumptions required to determine the defined benefit obligation and the defined benefit cost (the expense) must be established by the organization’s management. Again this year, we have analyzed the annual reports of Canadian organizations listed on the S&P 60 Index (60 largest organizations) and on the S&P MidCap Index (mid-cap organizations) whose fiscal year ended between September 30 of the previous year and February 29 of the current year. Close to 75 organizations sponsoring at least one DB plan are included in our analysis and 70% of them are offering other post-retirement benefits. Finally, 85% of the organizations disclose their results in accordance with IAS 19, and the remaining 15% percent disclose them in accordance with U.S. accounting standards. 

Our analysis is divided into three sections. The first section presents the assumptions used by the organizations included in our analysis in percentile format. The tables present a comparison of the assumptions used for fiscal years ending in 2015 (between September 30, 2015 and February 29, 2016) and in 2014 (between September 30, 2014 and February 28, 2015). The second section summarizes the findings from these tables and from our data analysis. The third and final section presents additional information with respect to measures that could potentially impact future accounting results for some organizations.

1.    Selection of assumptions

  • The tables present, in percentile format, the key economic assumptions used by the organizations analyzed for DB plans and other post-retirement benefits. The assumptions are those that were in effect at the end of the fiscal year considered and used to calculate the obligation at this date.
     

2. Findings

  • For DB plans, the discount rate assumption is the most important assumption. Because it is based on market rates, it can vary from month to month. According to our analysis, the median annual discount rate of 4.00% used at the end of 2015 is the same as the rate used at the end of 2014. Interest rates continued to be low at the end of 2015.
     
  • Several of the organizations analyzed sponsor DB plans and other post-retirement benefits that offer benefits based on salary at retirement. These organizations must therefore establish an assumption related to the compensation growth rate. A downward trend in the median annual growth rate began in 2012. The median annual growth rate was 3.20% at the end of 2014 and this rate fell to 3.00% at the end of 2015. Outlooks for the compensation growth rate for accounting recognition purposes have therefore decreased over the past few years.
     
  • For organizations sponsoring both DB plans and other post-retirement benefits, the median discount rates used for all plans were similar. Hence, 50% of the organizations analyzed were using a discount rate for other post-retirement benefits identical to that used for DB plans at the end of 2015.
     
  • The trend rate for health care costs is an important assumption for other post-retirement benefits. The initial rate, which is higher than the final rate, can vary significantly from organization to organization. The final rate varies less from organization to organization and the median final trend rate has been relatively stable at 4.50% for the past several years.

3.    Additional information

  • Some organizations are starting to use the new approach concerning the discount rate assumption that we mentioned last year and that was being discussed on the market. This approach involves the use of several discount rates to reflect the different benefits payment schedules for active employees and retirees participating in the same plan. Several issues have been raised in relation to this approach; however, market stakeholders (organizations, auditors, actuaries) gradually clarified their level of comfort with the approach. The Security Exchange Commission's confirmed acceptance of the approach and of its implementation as a change in accounting estimate under certain conditions, is one of the factors that helped move the reflection process forward.
     
  • The International Accounting Standards Board continues to analyze the responses to the exposure draft aimed at clarifying that, in cases where the defined benefit obligation is remeasured during the year (amendment, curtailment or settlement), the current service cost and net interest for the remaining period should be calculated using the same assumptions as those used for the remeasurement. The next steps should be determined by early fall at the latest. It should be noted that the Canadian Accounting Standards Board issued a response to the exposure draft that included its views on the retrospective application of the clarification.
 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : quelles hypothèses sont utilisées par les organisations canadiennes?

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 12, juin 2016

Plusieurs organisations du secteur privé doivent inclure dans leurs états financiers la reconnaissance des engagements pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« régimes PD ») et pour les régimes d’assurance collective offerts aux retraités (« autres avantages après la retraite »).

Les hypothèses requises pour déterminer l’obligation au titre des prestations définies et le coût des prestations définies (la charge) doivent être établies par la direction de l’organisation. Cette année encore, nous avons analysé les rapports annuels des organisations canadiennes faisant partie de l’indice S&P60 (60 plus grandes organisations) et S&PMid (organisations à moyenne capitalisation) et dont l’exercice financier se terminait entre le 30 septembre de l’année précédente et le 29 février de l’année courante. Près de 75 organisations parrainant au moins un régime PD sont incluses dans notre analyse et 70 % d’entre elles offrent au moins un régime d’assurance collective à leurs retraités. Enfin, 85 % des organisations divulguent leurs résultats selon la norme IAS 19 et le reste selon les normes américaines.

Notre analyse est divisée en trois parties. La première partie présente, en rang centile, les hypothèses utilisées par les organisations incluses dans notre analyse. Les tableaux permettent de comparer les hypothèses utilisées pour les exercices se terminant à la fin de 2015 (entre le 30 septembre 2015 et le 29 février 2016) et à la fin de 2014 (entre le 30 septembre 2014 et le 28 février 2015). La deuxième partie résume les constats tirés de ces tableaux et de notre analyse des données. Finalement, la troisième partie de notre analyse présente de l’information additionnelle sur certaines mesures qui pourraient affecter les résultats comptables futurs de certaines organisations.

1.    La sélection des hypothèses

  • Les tableaux présentent, en rang centile, les hypothèses économiques les plus importantes utilisées par les organisations analysées pour leurs régimes PD et les autres avantages après la retraite. Les hypothèses sont celles qui étaient en vigueur  à la fin de l’exercice financier considéré afin de déterminer l’obligation à cette date.

2.    Les constats

  • Pour les régimes PD, l’hypothèse de taux d’actualisation est l’hypothèse la plus importante. Elle peut varier d’un mois à l’autre puisqu’elle est basée sur des taux de marché. Selon notre analyse, le taux annuel d’actualisation médian utilisé à la fin de 2015 demeure le même que celui utilisé à la fin de 2014, soit 4,00 %. À la fin de l'année 2015, le contexte de bas taux d'intérêt perdure.
     
  • Plusieurs organisations parmi celles analysées parrainent des régimes PD et d’autres avantages après la retraite dont les prestations sont basées sur le salaire à la retraite. Ces organisations doivent donc établir une hypothèse de taux de croissance de la rémunération. Le taux annuel médian de croissance de la rémunération était de 3,00 % à la fin de 2015 et de 3,20 % à la fin 2014, une tendance à la baisse ayant débuté à la fin 2012. Les perspectives concernant le taux de croissance de la rémunération aux fins de la reconnaissance comptable ont donc diminué depuis plusieurs années.
     
  • Pour les organisations qui parrainent à la fois des régimes PD et d’autres avantages après la retraite, les taux d’actualisation médians utilisés pour l’ensemble des régimes étaient similaires. Ainsi, 50 % des organisations analysées utilisaient, à la fin de 2015, un taux d’actualisation pour les autres avantages après la retraite identique à celui divulgué pour les régimes PD.
     
  • Le taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé est une hypothèse importante pour les autres avantages après la retraite. Le taux initial, plus élevé que le taux ultime, peut varier de façon importante d’une organisation à l’autre. Le taux ultime varie moins d’une organisation à l’autre et la médiane est relativement stable à 4,50 % depuis plusieurs années.

3.    Information additionnelle

  • La nouvelle approche au sujet de l’hypothèse de taux d’actualisation, que nous vous avions mentionnée l’année dernière et qui faisait l'objet de discussions dans le marché, commence à être utilisée par certaines organisations. Cette approche suppose l’utilisation de plusieurs taux d’actualisation afin de refléter le calendrier estimé de versement des prestations différent pour les employés actifs et les retraités participant à un même régime. Plusieurs questionnements ont été soulevés au sujet de cette approche, mais les intervenants du marché (organisations, auditeurs, actuaires) ont graduellement précisé leur degré de confort avec celle-ci. La confirmation de la Security Exchange Commission, quant à son acceptation de l’approche et du traitement de son implantation comme un changement d’estimation comptable sous certaines conditions, est un des éléments ayant contribué à faire avancer les réflexions.
     
  • L’International Accounting Standards Board continue d’analyser les réponses à l’exposé-sondage visant à préciser qu’en cas de réévaluation de l’obligation au titre des prestations définies en cours d’année (modification, réduction ou liquidation), le coût des services courants et l’intérêt net pour la période restante devraient être calculés selon les mêmes hypothèses que celles de la réévaluation. Les prochaines étapes devraient être déterminées au plus tard au début de cet automne. Notons que le Conseil des normes comptables canadien a notamment émis un commentaire sur l’application rétrospective de la précision.  
 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6