Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Potential cost transfers to private group insurance plans in Ontario

LinkedIn

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 6, March 2016

In the 2016 Ontario Budget, the Ontario government confirms its intention to transform health care in the province. 

Reform of the Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) Program 

As part of the "Patients First: Action Plan for Health Care," the government plans to introduce a fully redesigned public drug program by 2019 to ensure the long-term sustainability of the program and making it easier for people who need prescription drugs to access them. The government also confirms its interest in coordinating the program with private group insurance plans and providing fair and equitable access to drugs.

The government will be publishing a discussion paper shortly, and public consultations intended to shape the program will take place in the spring of 2016.


Impact on private plans

The discussion paper and public consultations on the reform of the public drug program will be crucial in determining the potential impact on private plans. Because the Ontario government is currently the first to pay for seniors aged 65 and over and has announced its intention of coordinating the plan with private plans, it is highly likely that a reform will result in a cost transfer to private group insurance plans. 


In the short-term, the government is also revising certain parameters of the ODB for seniors aged 65 and over. The table below presents the applicable changes: 

For low-income seniors, the annual deductible does not apply and the maximum co-payment per prescription is $2. Starting August 1, 2016, the low-income threshold for single seniors will be increased from $16,018 to $19,300 and from $24,175 to $32,300 for senior couples. Approximately 170 000 seniors will now benefit from the reduced program parameters. 


Impact on private plans

These measures could have a direct impact on private plans, and in particular on plans covering retired employees. As of August 1, 2016, the new public drug program parameters will lead to a cost transfer to private plans for plans that cover the annual deductible and the maximum co-payment per prescription of the ODB. This transfer could also have an immediate impact on the financial statements of plan sponsors providing post-retirement benefits paid by the employer. 


Assistive Devices Program 

Owing to the potential increase in the cost of this program, the government plans to revise the Assistive Devices Program. Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) devices will be the first devices examined. 


Impact on private plans

This program currently covers more than 8000 assistive devices. A revision of the program that would further 
limit access to these devices could result in a cost transfer for private plan sponsors that cover these devices. 


Improvements to the health care system and access to care 

Through the 2016 budget, the government also expressed its intentions to improve the system and access to care. 

  • The government plans to extend the scope of practice of nurse practitioners to allow them to prescribe some medications directly to patients. 
  • The province is also proposing making vaccines directly available through pharmacists and authorizing pharmacists to administer them. In addition to facilitating access to vaccines, this measure should increase immunization efficiency. Travel vaccines are included in the vaccines that could be administered directly in pharmacies. 
  • The government will offer the shingles vaccine free of charge to seniors between the ages of 65 and 70, which will save them about $170. 

Impact on private plans

If nurse practitioners are not compensated through the public plan for care provided to individuals insured under private plans, as is the case with the new pharmaceutical services provided in Quebec, costs could be transferred to private plan sponsors. 

Facilitating access to the shingles vaccine could be a potential gain for sponsors that cover this vaccine through their private plan. However, facilitated access to travel vaccines in the pharmacy could increase their use and thus increase costs for private plans that cover these vaccines.


The Normandin Beaudry consultants will continue to monitor developments relating to the 2016 Ontario Budget. Feel free to send us your questions. 

 

© Normandin Beaudry - Bulletin

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Transfert potentiel de coûts vers les régimes d’assurance collective privés en Ontario

LinkedIn

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 6, mars 2016

Dans le cadre du budget 2016 de l’Ontario, le gouvernement confirme son intention de transformer les soins de santé dans la province.

Réforme du programme de médicaments de l’Ontario (PMO)

Dans la foulée du plan d’action Priorité aux patients, le gouvernement entend réformer complètement le programme public de médicaments d’ici 2019 pour en assurer la viabilité à long terme et faciliter l’accès aux médicaments sur ordonnance aux personnes dans le besoin. Le gouvernement confirme aussi son intérêt à coordonner le programme avec les régimes privés d’assurance collective et donner un accès équitable aux médicaments.

Le gouvernement publiera un document de réflexion sous peu et des consultations publiques, ayant pour but de façonner le programme, auront lieu au printemps 2016.


Effet sur les régimes privés

Le document de réflexion et les consultations publiques en vue de la réforme du programme public de médicaments seront cruciaux pour déterminer l’impact potentiel sur les régimes privés. Comme le gouvernement ontarien est actuellement premier payeur pour les personnes âgées de 65 ans et plus et qu’il annonce son intention de coordonner le programme avec les régimes privés, il est fort possible qu’une réforme entraîne un transfert des coûts vers les régimes privés d’assurance collective.


À court terme, le gouvernement révise aussi certains paramètres du PMO pour les personnes âgées de 65 ans et plus. Le tableau suivant présente les changements applicables :

 

Pour les personnes âgées à faible revenu, la franchise annuelle ne s’applique pas et le débours maximal par ordonnance est établi à 2 $. À compter du 1er août 2016, le seuil de faible revenu pour les personnes seules passe de 16 018 $ à 19 300 $ et de 24 175 $ à 32 300 $ pour les couples. Environ 170 000 aînés profiteront désormais des paramètres réduits du programme.


Effet sur les régimes privés

Ces mesures pourraient avoir un effet direct sur les régimes privés, et en particulier sur les régimes couvrant des employés retraités. Dès le 1er août 2016, les nouveaux paramètres du programme public de médicaments entraineront un transfert de coût vers le privé pour les régimes couvrant la franchise annuelle et le débours maximal par ordonnance du PMO. Ce transfert pourrait aussi avoir un effet immédiat sur les états financiers des promoteurs de régimes offrant des protections à la retraite payées par l’employeur.


Programme d’appareils et accessoires fonctionnels

Dû au potentiel d’augmentation des coûts de ce programme, le gouvernement entend aussi réviser le Programme d’appareils et accessoires fonctionnels. Le premier appareil examiné sera l’appareil de ventilation spontanée en pression positive (CPAP).


Effet sur les régimes privés

Ce programme couvre actuellement plus de 8 000 appareils et accessoires fonctionnels. Une révision du programme qui limiterait davantage l’accès à ces appareils pourrait résulter en un transfert de coûts pour les promoteurs de régimes privés qui couvrent certains de ces appareils et accessoires.


Améliorations au système de santé et à l’accès aux soins

Par l’entremise du budget 2016, le gouvernement a aussi fait part de ses intentions visant l’amélioration du système et de l’accès aux soins.

  • Le gouvernement entend élargir le champ de pratique des infirmières praticiennes afin de leur permettre de prescrire directement certains médicaments.
  • La province propose aussi de rendre des vaccins disponibles directement par l’entremise des pharmaciens et de les autoriser à les administrer. En plus d'en faciliter l'accès, cette mesure devrait permettre d'augmenter l’efficacité de l’immunisation. Les vaccins de voyage font partie des vaccins qui pourraient être prescrits directement en pharmacie.
  • Le gouvernement offrira gratuitement le vaccin contre le zona aux personnes âgées de 65 à 70 ans, ce qui leur fera économiser environ 170 $.

Effet sur les régimes privés

Si on ne rémunère pas les infirmières praticiennes par le biais du régime public pour les soins prodigués aux assurés des régimes privés, comme pour les nouveaux actes pharmaceutiques au Québec, un transfert de coûts vers les promoteurs de régimes privés pourrait survenir.

Faciliter l’accès aux vaccins contre le zona pourra potentiellement être un gain pour les promoteurs qui couvrent ce vaccin par le biais de leur régime privé. Par contre, la facilité d’accès aux vaccins de voyage en pharmacie pourrait hausser l’utilisation et ainsi augmenter les coûts pour les régimes privés qui les couvrent.


Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry continueront de suivre les développements suite au budget 2016 de l’Ontario. N’hésitez pas à nous soumettre vos questions.

 

© Normandin Beaudry - Communiqué