Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

New Developments Relating to the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP)

LinkedIn

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 4, February 2016

In our August 2015 bulletin, we informed you about the latest developments concerning the design of the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP), i.e. the phased enrolment of employers beginning in 2017 as well as the definition of a comparable workplace pension plan that determines whether or not an employer will be required to participate in the ORPP. 

On January 26, 2016, the Ontario government took another step toward the implementation of the ORPP by releasing additional details on the design of the plan:

  • The ORPP provides a 15% income replacement rate to plan members after they have contributed to the plan for 40 years, which corresponds to an annual benefit accrual rate of 0.375%.
     
  • The ORPP will begin paying benefits in 2022. 
     
  • ORPP benefits will be calculated on the average of earnings received for the years during which contributions will have been made. Earnings will be indexed according to the average growth of wages and salaries in Canada up to retirement. Earnings received consist of cash income, including other amounts such as premiums and commissions. 
     
  • During retirement, benefits paid will be indexed according to the increase in the Consumer Price Index.
     
  • In the event of the death of an ORPP member, survivor benefits will be payable to the surviving spouse or to the member's beneficiaries or estate:
    • Pre-retirement death: The equivalent actuarial value of the pension accrued under the ORPP will be paid. 
    • Post-retirement death: By default, the benefit will be guaranteed for a period of 10 years after pension payments begin. If the member has a spouse when he or she retires, the benefit will be adjusted to take into account the fact that 60% of the member's adjusted pension will continue to be paid to the spouse after the member's death. 
       
  • Some Ontarians will be exempt from participating in the ORPP, namely for religious reasons and for on-reserve employees of First Nations employers in Ontario. 
     
  • Non-resident workers whose income is taxable for the purposes of Canadian and Ontario income tax must join the ORPP, while those whose income is not taxable pursuant to a treaty will not be required to contribute to the ORPP. 
     

In November 2015, the Ontario government also confirmed that the minimum earnings threshold, above which a contribution to the ORPP will be required, would mirror the Canada Pension Plan's annual basic exemption at $3,500.

Comparable pension plans

Employers that offer their employees a comparable pension plan will not be required to participate in the ORPP. The Ontario government has provided the following details to clarify the definition of comparable workplace pension plan published in August 2015: 

  • Employers providing different retirement benefits depending on job category will need to apply the comparability test to the plan provisions at the level of a subset of employees. This means that an employer's plan could be deemed comparable for some employees and not for others, in which case these employees would be required to join the ORPP unless the plan provisions for their category are amended. 
     
  • The comparability test by job category also applies for multi-employer pension plans, which will have the option of applying the exemption criteria according to a defined benefit or a defined contribution plan. 
     
  • Voluntary contributions to a pension plan must not be considered for comparability test purposes. 
     
  • Employees for which a waiting period applies before they can join their employer's plan will be required to participate in the ORPP for the duration of this period. Amendments must be made to the provisions of the employer's plan should he wants to avoid this type of situation. 

Although they are not required to do so, employers that offer a comparable pension plan will be able to join the ORPP as of the fourth wave of enrolment, i.e. on or after January 1, 2020. 

Funding of the ORPP

Members of the Board of Directors of the ORPP Administration Corporation were appointed in November 2015. These members will be responsible for implementing and overseeing the ORPP. To ensure the plan's sustainability, an Office of the Chief Actuary will be established to prepare triennial actuarial valuations of the ORPP. 

A funding policy has already been established to set out the measures to be taken should the ORPP become underfunded. 


For example, in the case of a future funding deficit, indexation could be partially reduced for members and, if necessary their contributions could be increased by up to a maximum of 0.2%. If significant reductions to benefits were to prove necessary to ensure the sustainability of the plan, the consent of at least 60% of ORPP members would be required for these amendments to be implemented. 


Cost-benefit analysis

As promised by the Ontario government, a cost-benefit analysis of the ORPP was published in late December 2015 by the Conference Board of Canada, an independent, not-for-profit research organization. The report analyzes the impact of the ORPP over an extended horizon, from its implementation in 2017 up to 2093, to assess its impact on the Ontario economy. 

According to the analysis, the long-term impacts of the ORPP will be positive since economic benefits arising from the plan would outweigh losses incurred from the reduction in the disposable income of Ontarians following the mandatory payment of contributions to the ORPP. By 2045, the disposable income of Ontarians will be higher than it would have been without the ORPP. Consequently, expenses for retirees receiving a pension from the ORPP will increase, which will stimulate the economy. 

Finally, it should be noted that, on January 22, 2016, the Association of Canadian Pension Management (ACPM) sent a letter to the Ontario government requesting that the implementation of the ORPP be delayed for one year. According to the ACPM, this would allow the federal government and the provinces to agree on a common solution that could be applied across Canada. On February 3rd, 2016, the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) released a similar opinion, which also requests a one-year deferral of the ORPP implementation in order to continue further discussions on potential Canada Pension Plan expansion.

Normandin Beaudry consultants will continue to closely monitor the progress of the work on the ORPP and will keep you informed of future developments.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Du nouveau sur le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO)

LinkedIn

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 4, février 2016

Dans notre communiqué d'août 2015, nous vous informions des plus récents développements quant à la conception du Régime de retraite de la province de l'Ontario (RRPO), soit le calendrier de la participation graduelle des employeurs à compter de 2017 ainsi que la définition de régime de retraite comparable qui détermine si un employeur devra ou non y participer.

Le 26 janvier dernier, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a franchi une étape supplémentaire dans la mise en œuvre du RRPO en publiant des précisions additionnelles sur la conception du régime :

  • Le RRPO prévoit un taux de remplacement de revenu de 15 % pour les participants qui y auront contribué pendant 40 ans, ce qui correspond à un taux d'accumulation de rente de 0,375 % par année. 
     
  • Les premières prestations seront versées à compter de 2022.
     
  • Les prestations du RRPO seront calculées sur la moyenne des gains reçus pour les années où une cotisation aura été versée. Les gains seront indexés selon la croissance moyenne des salaires au Canada jusqu'au moment de la retraite. Les gains reçus comprennent les revenus en espèces, incluant d'autres montants tels des primes et des commissions. 
     
  • Pendant la retraite, les prestations versées seront indexées selon l'augmentation de l'indice des prix à la consommation. 
     
  • En cas de décès du participant, le RRPO prévoit des prestations payables au conjoint, aux bénéficiaires ou à la succession :
    • En cas de décès avant la retraite : la valeur actuarielle de la rente accumulée au RRPO sera versée. 
    • En cas de décès après la retraite : par défaut, la prestation sera garantie pendant une période de 10 ans suivant le début de son versement; si le participant a un conjoint au moment de la retraite, la prestation sera ajustée afin de tenir compte du fait que 60 % de celle-ci continuera à être versée au conjoint après le décès du participant.
       
  • Certains Ontariens seront dispensés de participer au RRPO, notamment pour des motifs religieux ou s'ils travaillent pour un employeur des Premières Nations situé dans les réserves en Ontario.
     
  • Les travailleurs non résidents dont le revenu est imposable aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu du Canada et de l’Ontario devront adhérer au RRPO, tandis que ceux dont les revenus ne sont pas imposables en vertu d’un traité ne seront pas tenus d’y cotiser. 

En novembre 2015, le gouvernement de l'Ontario avait également confirmé que le seuil de revenu minimum, au-delà duquel une cotisation au RRPO sera requise, serait aligné avec l'exemption de base du Régime de pensions du Canada, soit 3 500 $.

Régimes de retraite comparables

Les employeurs offrant à leurs employés un régime de retraite comparable ne seront pas obligés de participer au RRPO. À cet égard, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a apporté les précisions suivantes afin de clarifier la définition de régime de retraite comparable publiée en août 2015 :

  • Les employeurs offrant des prestations de retraite différentes selon la catégorie d'emploi devront appliquer le test de comparabilité aux dispositions de chacune des catégories d'employés. Cela signifie que le régime d’un employeur pourrait être considéré comparable pour certains employés et non pour d’autres, auquel cas ceux-ci devront adhérer au RRPO à moins que les dispositions du régime de leur catégorie ne soient modifiées. 
     
  • Le test de comparabilité par catégorie d’emploi s’applique également pour les régimes de retraite interentreprises, lesquels auront le choix d’appliquer les critères d'exemption selon un régime à prestations déterminées ou à cotisations déterminées. 
     
  • Les cotisations volontaires à un régime de retraite ne doivent pas être considérées aux fins du test de comparabilité. 
     
  • Les employés pour lesquels une période d'attente est requise avant de pouvoir adhérer au régime de leur employeur devront obligatoirement participer au RRPO jusqu'à ce que cette période d'attente prenne fin; des modifications aux dispositions du régime de l'employeur devront être prévues si une telle situation veut être évitée. 

Bien qu'ils ne soient pas tenus de le faire, les employeurs offrant un régime de retraite comparable pourront adhérer au RRPO à compter de la quatrième vague d'inscription, soit le 1er janvier 2020.

Financement du RRPO

En novembre 2015, les membres du conseil d'administration de la Société d'administration du RRPO ont été nommés, lesquels effectueront la mise en œuvre et superviseront le RRPO. Afin d’assurer la viabilité du régime, un bureau de l’actuaire en chef sera créé afin de préparer notamment des évaluations actuarielles triennales du RRPO.

Une politique de capitalisation a déjà été établie dans l’optique de fixer les mesures à prendre advenant que le RRPO devienne sous-capitalisé.


Par exemple, en cas de déficit de capitalisation futur, les participants pourraient voir leur indexation réduite partiellement et, si nécessaire, leurs cotisations pourraient être augmentées jusqu'à un maximum de 0,2 %. Si des réductions importantes aux prestations s’avéraient nécessaires afin d’assurer la viabilité du régime, le consentement d’au moins 60 % des participants au RRPO serait requis afin que ces modifications puissent être appliquées.


Analyse coûts-avantages

Comme promis par le gouvernement de l'Ontario, une analyse des coûts et des avantages du RRPO a été publiée à la fin de mois de décembre 2015 par le Conference Board du Canada, un organisme de recherche indépendant et sans but lucratif. Le rapport analyse l'impact du RRPO sur un horizon étendu, soit de sa mise en œuvre en 2017 jusqu'en 2093 dans le but d'évaluer son impact sur l’économie ontarienne.

Selon l'analyse, les retombées du RRPO à long terme seront positives, puisque les avantages économiques qui en découleront surpasseront les pertes encourues par la diminution du revenu disponible des Ontariens, et ce, à la suite du versement obligatoire de cotisations au RRPO. En effet, à compter de 2045, le revenu disponible des Ontariens sera plus élevé qu'en l'absence du RRPO. Par conséquent, les dépenses des retraités recevant une rente du RRPO augmenteront, ce qui aura comme impact de stimuler l'économie.

Notons finalement que le 22 janvier dernier, l'Association canadienne des administrateurs de régimes de retraite (ACARR) a publié une lettre destinée au gouvernement ontarien, laquelle demande de repousser d'un an la mise en place du RRPO. Selon l'ACARR, un tel report permettrait au gouvernement fédéral et aux provinces de s'entendre sur une solution commune pouvant être appliquée à l'ensemble du Canada. Le 3 février dernier, l’Institut canadien des actuaires (ICA) a publié une position allant dans le même sens, laquelle demande également le report d’un an de la mise en œuvre du RRPO dans le but de continuer les discussions relatives à l’élargissement possible du Régime de pensions du Canada.

Les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry continuent de suivre de près l’évolution des travaux entourant le RRPO et vous tiendront informés des développements futurs.

 

© Normandin Beaudry - Communiqué