Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2016 Bulletins

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 21, December 2016
Rates for Health Care Professionals in 2016

Recently, Normandin Beaudry conducted its 19th annual survey of fees charged by health care professionals in Quebec. Because health care services provided by these specialists are typically covered by group benefits plans, we believe that the results presented below will be of interest to you.

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 20, December 2016
New REALpac/IPD Index for Canadian Real Estate Investments

Real estate investments continue to grow in popularity among institutional investors, especially pension funds. Today, these investments are considered a core part of an asset allocation alongside stocks and bonds. 

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 19, December 2016
The Court of Appeal confirms the constitutional invalidity of certain pay equity provisions

On October 12, 2016, the Quebec Court of Appeal largely confirmed a Superior Court decision declaring sections 76.3 and 76.5 of the Pay Equity Act to be unconstitutional. These sections violate the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms on the grounds of gender discrimination.

The Court of Appeal also declared the second paragraph of Section 103.1 of the Pay Equity Act to be unconstitutional.
 

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 18, November 2016
Changes to employment insurance: impacts on group benefits plans and some programs offered by employers

In our April 2016 bulletin on the last federal budget, we informed you that, following the introduction of the Budget Implementation Act 2016, No. 1 (S.C. 2016, c. 7),the waiting period for Employment Insurance benefits could be reduced from two weeks to one week effective January 1, 2017. This change has since been endorsed.

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 17, November 2016
Bill C-27: An Act to amend the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985

Bill C-27 (An Act to amend the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985) was introduced in the House of Commons on October 19, 2016. This Bill comes in response to public consultations on target benefit pension plans ("TB plans") launched by the Department of Finance Canada on April 24, 2014, and applies to federally regulated private pension plans.

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 16, September 2016
2016-2017 survey on salary increases

The annual Salary Increases Survey, conducted by Normandin Beaudry, reveals that Quebec salaries are expected to increase by 2.8% in 2017. Salary structures are expected to increase by an average of 1.8%.

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 15, August 2016
Review of the solvency funding framework for defined benefit pension plans in Ontario

On July 26, 2016, the Ontario government released a consultation paper entitled "Review of Ontario's Solvency Funding Framework for Defined Benefit Pension Plans," targeted at sponsors of single employer pension plans. This bulletin summarizes the approaches and options proposed during the course of these consultations. Interested parties have until September 30, 2016 to submit their comments. 

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 14, August 2016
Enhancing your bond portfolio with the liquidity premium

In recent years, Canadian investors have seen interest rates fall dramatically.  The rate for 10-year federal bonds fell from 6% at the beginning of the 2000s to under 1% in the 3rd quarter of 2016.  This decrease allowed investors to generate good returns. However, the future prospects for traditional bonds are now poor.

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 13, July 2016
New financial parameters for the Quebec prescription drug insurance plan

On July 1 each year, the Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec adjusts the financial parameters applicable to the public prescription drug insurance plan to take into account the increase or decrease in plan costs.

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 12, June 2016
Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: What assumptions do Canadian companies use?

Several private sector organizations must include the recognition of their obligations toward defined benefit pension plans (DB plans) and group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-retirement benefits) in their financial statements.

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 11, June 2016
Impacts of new tax measures on group benefits plan costs

Some provinces have announced new tax measures that could soon affect group benefit plans.

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 10, April 2016
Dental care: possible refusal to offer assignment of benefits

The Association des chirurgiens dentistes du Québec (ACDQ) recently recommended that its members stop offering assignment of dental care benefits.

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 9, April 2016
Proposed changes to Employment Insurance: potential impacts on group benefits plans

In its budget tabled on March 22, 2016, the Government of Canada proposed several changes to Employment Insurance (EI).

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 8, April 2016
Bill 29: the target level of the stabilization provision is now known

The draft regulation entitled Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting supplemental pension plans (Draft Regulation) was published in the Gazette officielledu Québec on April 6, 2016. This Draft Regulation relates to the Act to Amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Actmainly with respect to the funding of defined benefit pension plans (Bill 29).

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 7, March 2016
Impacts of new tax measures on group benefits plan costs

Some provinces have announced new tax measures that could soon affect group benefit plans.

  

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 6, March 2016
Potential cost transfers to private group insurance plans in Ontario

In the 2016 Ontario Budget, the Ontario government confirms its intention to transform health care in the province.  

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 5, February 2016
2015 tax credit for medical expenses

For the 2015 tax year, a tax credit ranging from 4% to 20% of incurred medical expenses(1) could be granted to Canadian taxpayers. The credit is subject to certain conditions and depends on the province or territory of residence.

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 4, February 2016
New Developments Relating to the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP)

In our August 2015 bulletin, we informed you about the latest developments concerning the design of the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP), i.e. the phased enrolment of employers beginning in 2017 as well as the definition of a comparable workplace pension plan that determines whether or not an employer will be required to participate in the ORPP. 

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 3, February 2016
Responsible investment and carbon footprint: the future is now!

Normandin Beaudry believes in it and is taking action

Over the past few years, responsible investment has become very important to investors.

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 2, January 2016
The ten most important developments in drug insurance in 2015

It can be stated unequivocally that 2015 has been the busiest year in terms of legislative changes since Quebec's basic prescription drug insurance plan was established almost 20 years ago.

NB Bulletin Vol. 19 N. 1, January 2016
2016 Social Security Programs Parameters

As in previous years, we inform you about the parameters that will be used by the major social security programs in 2016.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Communiqués 2016

Communiqué NB Vol. 19 N. 21, décembre 2016
Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé en 2016

Récemment, Normandin Beaudry menait sa 19e enquête annuelle sur les tarifs exigés par les spécialistes de la santé au Québec. Ces coûts étant généralement couverts par les régimes d’assurance collective, les constats qui suivent sauront sûrement vous intéresser.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 20, décembre 2016
Nouvel indice REALpac/IPD pour les placements immobiliers canadiens

Les placements immobiliers continuent de gagner en popularité auprès des investisseurs institutionnels, notamment les caisses de retraite.  À l'instar des actions et des obligations, ces placements représentent aujourd’hui l’un des piliers de la répartition d’actifs. 

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 19, décembre 2016
La Cour d’appel confirme l’invalidité constitutionnelle de certaines dispositions en matière d’équité salariale

Le 12 octobre dernier, la Cour d’appel du Québec confirmait en grande partie une décision de la Cour supérieure déclarant l’inconstitutionnalité des articles 76.3 et 76.5 de la Loi sur l’équité salariale (LÉS). Ces articles sont contraires à la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et à la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne sur la base de la discrimination fondée sur le sexe.

La Cour d’appel a également déclaré que le second alinéa de l’article 103.1 de la LÉS est inconstitutionnel.   

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 18, novembre 2016
Modifications à l’assurance-emploi : Effets sur les régimes d’assurance collective et certains programmes offerts par les employeurs

Dans notre communiqué d'avril 2016 portant sur le dernier budget fédéral, nous vous informions que, suite au dépôt de la Loi no 1 d'exécution du budget de 2016 (LC 2016, c 7), le délai de carence pour recevoir des prestations d’assurance-emploi, incluant les prestations de maladie, passerait potentiellement de deux semaines à une semaine au 1er janvier 2017.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 17, novembre 2016
Projet de loi C-27 : Loi modifiant la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension

Le 19 octobre dernier, le Projet de loi C-27 (Loi modifiant la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension) a été déposé à la Chambre des communes. Ce projet de loi fait suite à une demande de consultation publique au sujet des régimes de retraite à prestations cibles (« régimes à PC ») réalisée par le Ministère des Finances du Canada le 24 avril 2014 et s’adresse aux régimes de retraite privés sous juridiction fédérale.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 16, septembre 2016
Enquête sur les augmentations salariales 2016-2017

Administrée par Normandin Beaudry, l’enquête annuelle sur les prévisions salariales révèle un budget global d’augmentations estimé à 2,8 % pour 2017. L’augmentation des structures salariales est quant à elle estimée en moyenne à 1,8 %.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 15, août 2016
Révision du cadre de financement du déficit de solvabilité des régimes à prestations déterminées en Ontario

Le gouvernement a publié le 26 juillet 2016 un document de consultation intitulé Examen du cadre de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées de l’Ontario visant les régimes de retraite parrainés par des promoteurs de régimes à employeur unique. Le présent communiqué résume les approches et les options proposées dans le cadre de ces consultations. Les parties intéressées ont jusqu’au 30 septembre 2016 pour faire parvenir leurs commentaires.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 14, août 2016
Bonifier son portefeuille obligataire avec la prime de liquidité

Au cours des dernières années, les investisseurs canadiens ont vu les taux d'intérêt chuter de façon drastique. Sur les obligations fédérales de 10 ans, le taux est passé de 6 % au début des années 2000 à moins de 1 % au 3e trimestre de 2016. Cette diminution a certes permis aux investisseurs de générer de bons rendements. En revanche, les perspectives d’avenir en obligations traditionnelles sont maintenant peu reluisantes. 

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 13, juillet 2016
Nouveaux paramètres financiers du régime d’assurance médicaments du Québec

Au 1er juillet de chaque année, la Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec ajuste les paramètres financiers applicables au régime public d’assurance médicaments afin de tenir compte de l’accroissement ou de la diminution des coûts du régime.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 12, juin 2016
Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : quelles hypothèses sont utilisées par les organisations canadiennes?

Plusieurs organisations du secteur privé doivent inclure dans leurs états financiers la reconnaissance des engagements pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« régimes PD ») et pour les régimes d’assurance collective offerts aux retraités (« autres avantages après la retraite »).

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 11, juin 2016
Effets de nouvelles mesures fiscales sur les coûts des régimes d’assurance collective

Certaines provinces ont annoncé de nouvelles mesures fiscales qui pourraient affecter prochainement les régimes d'assurance collective.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 10, avril 2016
Soins dentaires : refus potentiel de la cession de paiement

L’Association des chirurgiens dentistes du Québec (ACDQ) a récemment encouragé ses membres à mettre un terme à la cession des prestations pour les soins dentaires.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 9, avril 2016
Proposition de modifications à l’assurance-emploi : effets possibles sur les coûts des régimes d’assurance collective

Dans son budget déposé le 22 mars dernier, le gouvernement du Canada a proposé plusieurs changements à l’assurance-emploi.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 8, avril 2016
Loi 29 : le niveau de la provision de stabilisation est maintenant connu

Le projet de règlement de la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite principalement quant au financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« Loi 29 ») a été publié le 6 avril 2016, dans la Gazette officielle du Québec.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 7, mars 2016
Effets de nouvelles mesures fiscales sur les coûts des régimes d’assurance collective

Certaines provinces ont annoncé de nouvelles mesures fiscales qui pourraient affecter prochainement les régimes d'assurance collective.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 6, mars 2016
Transfert potentiel de coûts vers les régimes d’assurance collective privés en Ontario

Dans le cadre du budget 2016 de l’Ontario, le gouvernement confirme son intention de transformer les soins de santé dans la province.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 5, février 2016
Crédit d’impôt 2015 pour frais médicaux

Pour l’année d’imposition 2015, un contribuable canadien pourrait se voir accorder un crédit d'impôt variant entre 4 % et 20 % de ses dépenses engagées pour des frais médicaux(1). Le crédit est accordé sous certaines réserves et varie en fonction de la province ou du territoire de résidence.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 4, février 2016
Du nouveau sur le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO)

Dans notre communiqué d'août 2015, nous vous informions des plus récents développements quant à la conception du Régime de retraite de la province de l'Ontario (RRPO), soit le calendrier de la participation graduelle des employeurs à compter de 2017 ainsi que la définition de régime de retraite comparable qui détermine si un employeur devra ou non y participer.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 3, février 2016
Investissement responsable et empreinte carbone : le futur, c'est maintenant !

Normandin Beaudry y croit et agit

Depuis quelques années, l’investissement responsable a nettement pris de l’importance auprès des investisseurs.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 2, janvier 2016
Les 10 événements marquants de 2015 en assurance médicaments

Depuis la mise en place, il y a près de 20 ans, du régime général d’assurance médicaments au Québec, l’année 2015 a sans équivoque été la plus occupée en termes de changements législatifs.

Communiqué NB, Vol. 19 N. 1, janvier 2016
Les programmes de sécurité sociale : nouveaux paramètres pour 2016

Comme chaque année, nous vous informons des paramètres qui seront utilisés par les principaux programmes de sécurité sociale en 2016.